We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (4,240)
Filter reviews
4,240 results
Traveler rating
1,464
1,291
667
338
480
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,464
1,291
667
338
480
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssilver apartmentpremium diningred coatsyacht clubtotspizza hutskyline gangself cateringfood packagefood courtdining packageskyline pavilionswimming poolwave machinesplash waterworldlazy riverstandard apartment
Filter
Updating list...
3,981 - 3,986 of 4,240 reviews
Reviewed August 4, 2011

This was our first family trip to Butlins, the welcoming staff were lovely BUT our accommodation (Silver rated) was extremely poor and needed a make over -tatty furnishings, water damaged ceiling, lights that didn't work, damaged and badly filled walls.

Being half board we ate within the resort but we were not overly impressed with the 'healthy eating' salad bar which was rather limited, ok if you want grease day in day out and don't mind putting on a stone during your stay; roast or fish and chips seemed to be the daily choice. We struggled for lunch as fast food was really the only option, more carbs!!!!aahhh I asked a Rep whether there was any healthier eating establishments but she said there wasn't any. If we ever go back we would definately go self catering!

The management of the free sporting activities on offer needs a serious overhaul. The amount of queuing we did was completely unacceptable. The sporting activities were a big part of our decision to come to butlins but the brochure did not state clearly enough how long customers would have to wait (and how early we would have awake to join said ques). The queuing system was also extremely disorganised, with no clear start or finish - and when the reps arrived three queuing 'points' for different activities were identified at the last minute leading to further chaos. I was extremely embarrassed to witness tensions almost leading to a fight between two men arguing about where the real queue started!

On a positive note...the evening entertainment was fab and our daughter loved the children's shows and Britain's Got Talent contestants! Centre Stage is really warm so wear light clothes! The Red coats were great too!

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BarbcBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 4, 2011

went on a long weekend with our 7 year old granddaughter. excellent variety of shows (especially the Aladdin show),shopping and general activities.Went self catering but had plenty of choice of eating places.Only down side was you could not enter your chalet until 4pm on the Friday and had to vacate chalet by 10am on the Monday...so actually only had two days for your money!!!! Upgraded chalet to silver bungalow which was well worth it..the basic chalets are basic!!!!Take plenty of money..we spent most of our time on the twopenny arcade games..our grand-daughter spent a fortune in trying to get the free plastic toys from the machines...,.but to see her face of excitement when she won a toy was well worth the money!

Room Tip: upgrade from the basic chalet..
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deejayMountainAsh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Have just got back from a great week at butlins minehead, location is great just a short walk into town, our gold apartment was nice, after reading all the awful reviews regarding cleanliness I expected the worst but we were all pleasantly surprised, beds were comfortable and rooms had lots of storage space, as a group of four aged between 20 and 30 there was so much to do in the resort including go karting , bumper boats which were great fun

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jenpink123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2011

Not a family atmosphere at this Butlins. Staff not very friendly at all, quite disinterested in fact. There is no culture or feeling of fun amongst the Butlins team and this rubs off. With a family of two kids (and one new born), we were hoping for some R+R in a friendly atmosphere - this was not the experience at Minehead. We have been to Bognor (so this is not a dig at Butlins) and we really enjoyed it. Butlins needs to inject some of the Bognor culture of fun and helpfulness into its Minehead resort!!

Room Tip: if you have a newborn, make sure you insist on a ground floor apartment. Getting up metal stairs (with a pushchair) is not easy.
  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Veggie1308
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 2, 2011

Just arrived back from butlins expecting it to be dire but it turned out to be one of our best family holidays ever! The staff were so friendly, kind and helpful and the food in the yacht club was lovely and well worth the upgrade cost. We stayed in gold accommodation and we were very pleased with the facilities in the room. The kids thought it was amazing and they loved the free funfair, swimming and all the other activities. There is no way they could have become bored. Just wish we could have stayed longer!!

  • Stayed: July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Teacher5673
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews