We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“mmmmmmm.......upgrade”
Review of Butlins Minehead

Butlins Minehead
Ranked #2 of 18 things to do in Minehead
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Please only add your review here if you visited Butlins Minehead as a day visitor and didn't stay overnight. If your review is about a short break please add it to the listing entitled 'Butlins Minehead Resort'.
Useful Information: Activities for older children, Activities for young children
Basingstoke
Level Contributor
73 reviews
23 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“mmmmmmm.......upgrade”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Make sure you upgrade your accommodation.The standard is very very basic and laughable. The park its self is great for kids. However a little stressful in evenings when all queuing and no seat to see shows. Then you have dilemma of letting kids (4yrs) going to dance floor on their own, saw plenty of lost children of very young ages, we did go in holiday though so maybe out of season would be better. Park it self is clean and no issues. Minehead is lovely.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank jem1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,690 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    618
    504
    244
    150
    174
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
479 reviews
195 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 148 helpful votes
“Better than expected”
Reviewed April 5, 2013

Visited Butlins for only the second time for 'Spring Harvest'. I shared a chalet with my daughter, husband and grand daughter (21 months). the self catering chalet was comfortable and more than adequate. Thankfully the heating in the chalet was very good and was on all the time! You can eat in Butlins restaurant or the on site Pizza Hut - very good or a number of other well known names and pubs. Particularly recommend the Soho Coffee company - excellent coffee and a full range of sandwiches at reasonable prices from the usual to the more exotic. they also do lovely cheese scones.The public areas were kept clean although the toilets in the Skyline Pavilion were sometimes strewn with paper towels. I'm not sure what it ,might be like during the main holiday season. As you would expect there is of course much to do on site both for adults and children of all ages.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KenMaideheadUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
115 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Easter Break ruined by too many people!”
Reviewed March 31, 2013

Butlins Minehead was opened this year (unusually) and was very much well used. I had arrived at 1030am and it was already heaving with people in the reception area and the skyline. The rest of the family arrived about 130pm and were in a half an hour queue from Tesco's roundabout to the main entrance. The booking in process was busy as expected, luckily our surname was one of those less busy letters!

Our family are regulars at the Butlins complexes, but mostly frequent Minehead because of its proximity to our home. Skeggy is a long way up and Bognor is too far east (although in my opinion as a driver, is actually easier and quicker to drive to).

The main comment i will make here is the dining hall. In the "cattle market" (a description that is the only polite way to describe the complete madness of people scambling for food as if it was running out) there were over 1,000 diners at each sitting made worse because Butlins had effectively halved the overall restaurant area! We had 5 in our party and it became obvious that we'd never get a seat unless we waited for a considerable time, only to discover the food trays had not been replenished.

We complained and were sent to the Quayside, an all together better experience!

The entertainment was "the same" and everywhere so busy it was impossible to get a seat. with about 7,000 on site Butlins was pushed to cope. In all the years of going, this was the first time we really did not enjoy the place.

Of course we'll be back - christmas break is already booked. let's hope there's not the same crush.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Andy W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shipston on Stour, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“a dreadfull sun holiday”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

got to butlins just before booking in on the 25th of march 2013,never seen so many cars trying to get in a car park at the same time total chaos,then when we finally got a space we got to check in and was told by a rep not to bother going in the surname queue and then while we were stood waiting they then said this line is for private caravans,so we then had to go and find our surname they dont even know what they are doing,they then pointed out where we needed to park which was miles away and then we had to walk for about half an hr till we found our appartment which was a nightmare as my mother in law cant walk that well,we got to appartment which was supposed to be silver the windows had card holding the windows in, the toilet didnt flush and that took ages to get someone out to fix it nightmare when you are nearly 8 months pregnant,the spring loaded door cut my sons fingers open as he is only 3 and we told him about door but when you are not in the room there isnt anything you can do,the paths were lethal my mother in law fell over as did my son and i noticed others did too,there were chalets that were run down and not used and made the site look awful it needs a complete refit,the staff are unhappy and unfriendly i asked a girl in bake and bite what her working hrs were as in what time the shop opened and closed and she said oh you scared me then why would you be worried or shouldnt she be working there,as she wasnt english as not many of your staff are and most of them are just rude,the places to eat are crap and mostly junk food,you cant cook in your accomodation as we didnt even have enough cutlery for 4 people there was 3 forks 4 knives 2 big spoons not even a tin opener or basic things to cook with the place is a joke and needs a major refurb or shutting down,we were supposed to leave today as in the 29th of march but as the bed made our backs so bad and everyone who was in appartment above us was so noisy we left last night as we couldnt stand another night,also your center stage stinks of sick stale beer and urine and the floors are filthy and sticky in toilets,we came to see stavros flately on the mon who were fab and was highlight of the week the only downside was standing around trying to find a chair as it was packed but someone did get me one which was good of them,we have never been to butlins and we will NEVER COME BACK EVER

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
7 Thank tracey33963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barry, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“70 s weekend”
Reviewed March 24, 2013

The accommodation was good but the entertainment was what we went for and it was fantastic. from Brotherhood of Man to Alvin Stardust the performers and the staff made the weekend so good we are booking again for next year plus we also booked a week in July for us and the kids. well done to all involved

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Debbieandrew
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Butlins Minehead also viewed

 

Been to Butlins Minehead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing