We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“JacNav review” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Old Stables Bed and Breakfast

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Minehead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Old Stables Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #9 of 38 Minehead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“JacNav review”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

Stunning relaxing stay with a lovely big spacious double room - we didn't go out as we felt so relaxed !!. Lovely bedding and bed. Great breakfast and very friendly hosts. We paid £80 for one night and felt it was good value. Just seen the "old stables" on 3 in a bed and they scored well! Don't be put off if asked to take your shoes off - it makes sense!

Room Tip: we were in the old stable block on the ground floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank raspberry40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

129 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    127
    2
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
14
73
10
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • German first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Wales
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

I can honestly say we could not find one single fault with this beautiful accommodation. The hosts were welcoming,friendly and helpful and they have done a fantastic job renovating this whole building. We stayed one night in a ground floor double room which was very large and beautifully furnished.
Attention had been paid to all the small details which make such a big difference-plug sockets by dressing table etc. a hair dryer, dressing gowns, slippers and toiletries were all provided( the shower gel smelt delicious). There was also a fully stocked hospitality tray(complimentary) and a stocked mini fridge with very reasonable prices. Wi fi also free.

Location was perfect, 1 minute walk from seafront,1 minute to Blenheim gardens and 2 mins to the main high street. Free parking also available.

Breakfast in the morning provided everything you could possibly want, fresh fruits, cereals, yoghurts, home made jams and a menu of hot breakfasts. It was all prepared to a high standard and served in a breakfast room decorated to the same high standard as the rest of the building.
Cream carpets throughout we're kept immaculate by a polite request to remove outdoor footwear in the foyer and place in shoe trays, walking around in socked or slippered feet only added to the homely feel of the place.
We have paid far more to stay in far inferior properties in the past and found the price of £80 for the room BB to be excellent value. We would not hesitate to recommend to others and will most definitely be returning.

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank WalesMrsDavies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loughborough, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 28, 2013

My husband and I had a very pleasant five night stay at The Old Stables. The standard of furnishings and fittings was excellent and it was obvious that considerable thought had been given to everything. Having a fridge in the bedroom with fresh milk was very welcome and such a simple thing makes a big difference. The bedroom and bathroom were also of a very generous size. We thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast fare too, including the home made preserves and flap jack/brownies! Great location too, only few minutes from the town and good base for exploring the area. Thanks very much.

Room Tip: Although the bathroom for our twin room was just across the landing, this really wasn't a proble...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Louise H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 27, 2013

We stayed at this B & B for 4 nights in September and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. Our room was a double on the first floor, extremely spacious and decorated to a high standard and the walk in shower was perfect for our needs.

Andrew and Nina were the perfect hosts and made us very welcome.

We would highly recommend this B & B.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Doreen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
derbyshire
Level Contributor
44 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 15, 2013

Stayed here for five nights in August and like all reviews this establishment is amazing,great rooms wanting for nothing,spotlessly clean,great location.

Special mention for our hosts Mum and Dad who were looking after us whilst owners were away,lovely people made us most welcome,great breakfast chef and hosts.

Highly Recommended

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Denbywilltraval
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
75 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Good location: quiet and yet only 5 minutes from town, beach, south coast path and west Somerset railway. We stayed in two rooms (twin and smaller double), with our belongings being seamlessly moved .
Rooms are very well decorate and the beds are comfortable, with a range of pillows available. Both bathrooms were very well set out with a good range of toiletries available in case you have forgotten anything, including bathrobes.
Good range of information available about local attractions as well as up to date copies of local magazines.
Tea/coffee available and fresh milk is provided.
Good local knowledge, and we were allowed to borrow a fossil hammer :)
Good selection of locally produced food at breakfast, including eggs from their own chickens. I tried the scrambled eggs made with cheese, which sounds wrong but was wonderfully creamy.
Only negatives were the limited views from both rooms, and underdone toast.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Tea_lover2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
100 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 8, 2013

We stayed for a week in August and enjoyed it very much. I think this was the best B&B I've ever stayed! Room was huge, nicely furnished and cleanest room I've ever stayed in the UK. Bathroom was also very large and in perfect condition with walk in shower. I completely agree with previous reviews and will definitely stay again if in the area.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank H P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minehead hotels
0.0 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 14 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marston Lodge Hotel
Marston Lodge Hotel
#2 of 14 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Parks Guest House
The Parks Guest House
#1 of 38 in Minehead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
0.3 mi away
Old Ship Aground
Old Ship Aground
#3 of 38 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 237 reviews
0.3 mi away
Candlelight B&B
Candlelight B&B
#8 of 38 in Minehead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 42 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Old Stables Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Old Stables Bed and Breakfast

Property: The Old Stables Bed and Breakfast
Address: Northfield Road, Minehead TA24 5QH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Minehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Large rooms - all decorated to high standards, flat screen TV/DVDs, minibars, goose down bedding, WIFI, modern shower amenities, quality breakfast. 1 minute walk to the sea, Exmoor National Park and Blenheim Gardens, 5 minute level walk to town centre. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Old Stables Bed And Breakfast Minehead, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing