We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A spectacularly wonderful stay!”

Channel House Hotel
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Minehead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Channel House Hotel
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Minehead
Trinidad
Level Contributor
690 reviews
81 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 480 helpful votes
“A spectacularly wonderful stay!”
Reviewed August 9, 2009

On this trip back to Somerset, my parents were also travelling with us. We all enjoyed ourselves so much! The superbly comfy, turned-down beds at Channel House were always there to welcome us at the end of every long sightseeing day! We still talk about the wonderful breakfasts with the freshest ingredients served up every morning by Debra! The mushrooms, salmon & sausages are to die for! (My husband says if we won the lotto, we'd go back there every month just to have their breakfasts!)
Andy welcomed my husband and dad back every evening (regardless of how late it was), with a welcoming drink from the bar. (He was such a great sport with our 9 suitcases up the stairs, though it must have caused a back strain!) He was so nice on our last day dropping us down to the train station and taking my dad to the cobblers and back to catch the train and also with organsing our rental car return. No other place would have done all this for us. We will always go back to Channel House when we're in Somerset.....It really is a home away from home.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank The_Concierge_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

35 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    0
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
3
26
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed July 16, 2009

The hotel owners and their staff provide a very high level of service. The decor and furnishings are faultless. The range and quality of the food is excellent. The hotel is located in a quiet and very pleasant part of Minehead.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank peterhighfield
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
england
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2008

Lincolnshire
My wife and I have just returned from Channel House where we were given exellent attention, food was always very good and my wifes diet was dealt with perfectly.This is a well run hotel in a peaceful area.
Thanks to owners Andy & Debra

  • Liked — Good bed
  • Disliked — No swimming pool
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skyviewengland
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Leeds
2 reviews
Reviewed January 26, 2008

We have stayed at Channel House on several occasions, last visit April 2007, and have always found the facilities and service impossible to beat.

The rooms are decorated to a very high standard as are the public areas.

We have always been treated as friends rather than guests,
there was even one occasion when we were the only guests staying there and standards were still of the highest.

We are looking forward to renewing our aquaintance with Channel House again in April this year.

  • Liked — Freindliness of owners
  • Disliked — Steep hill to climb if walking
  • Stayed April 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ChapelA354
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, UK
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2007

We visited this hotel for a two night mid week break - the Channel House is immaculate and attention to detail cannot be faulted, The proprieters could not have made us feel more welcome and criticism could not be found with any aspect of the service we received. This is a place for those seeking a respite from the hustle and bustle of everyday life - located on a hillside (although the car park is level) - it is set in beautiful stepped gardens with views towards the sea. We shall definitely be rebooking again for our next visit and having stayed in various establishments in and around this area the Channel House will be top of the list.

Stayed August 2007
Helpful?
2 Thank Keenies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Reviewed December 14, 2004

We stayed at Channel House Hotel, Minehead for one week, end of June 2004 and will be returning there during 2005. We, there were three of us, so we had a double room plus the adjoining single room, and thoroughly enjoyed our stay, nothing was too much trouble, even the fact that because we'd had to attend a family wedding at home and could'nt leave until well after 3:30 p:m after making mobile phone contact ref our E.T.A. and then having to revise that due to traffic conditions, our late arrival was warmly greeted and our meal (chosen from the menu by phone) was ready for us after we had freshened up. A most pleasant and peaceful week where despite this being our first stay we were treated as friends not paying guests.

Helpful?
8 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minehead
0.1 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 12 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.3 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.1 mi away
Marston Lodge Hotel
Marston Lodge Hotel
#2 of 12 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
16.4 mi away
Apple Tree Hotel
Apple Tree Hotel
#1 of 1 in Keenthorne
4.5 of 5 bubbles 111 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Parks Guest House
The Parks Guest House
#1 of 37 in Minehead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Channel House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Channel House Hotel

Property: Channel House Hotel
Address: Church Path, Minehead TA24 5QG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 12 Hotels in Minehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Channel House Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Also Known As:
Channel Hotel Minehead
Channel House Hotel Minehead, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing