We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Look no further”
Review of Glendower House

Glendower House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Glendower House
Ranked #8 of 37 Minehead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
170 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Look no further”
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Last minute booking and so glad we did. We stayed on probably one of the hottest days in May and this of course helped. But more than this the cleanliness, location and friendliness of this property was fantastic. Breakfast choice was equally fantastic. If you are planning a stay in Minehead look n further.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Clive1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

116 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    106
    9
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
21
59
7
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Magor, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
39 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

This was a random booking and from the minute we parked we couldn't fault a thing! Peter was a superb host (unfortunately we never go to meet Katryna) and made us extremely welcome. We stayed in room 9 with a four poster bed, which was very very comfy. The room was spotless and very spacious, with satellite TV, choice of drinks, bottled water, loads of toiletries and extremely nice biscuits. The shower was superb... steaming hot water and full force!!
There was a large choice for breakfast; including a bowl of fresh fruit salad, a delightful compote of stewed fruit and the usual 'Full English', continental or eggs done to order.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jef888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
45 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2013

This must be one of the nicest B&Bs we have ever used. A couple of little hiccups with heating and hot water but quickly resolved. The room was lovely with everything you could wish for and the breakfast was truly excellent with all possible refinements. If we were to return to Minehead, we would use this B&B again. Despite this being Easter Weekend, Minehead was disappointingly quiet with many places closing early in the evening but to be fair, it was bitterly cold. It was a pleasure to get back to the warm of Glendower House.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andy D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stoke-on-Trent, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed March 7, 2013

We have just returned from a three night stay (March 2013). Following a friendly welcome we were shown to our room (a twin double) which was large, clean and very well decorated. There was plenty of comfortable furniture and refreshment provisions, and the beds were extremely comfortable. There were night frosts whilst we were there, but the room remained pleasantly warm throughout our stay. The dining room was similarly presented (clean and decorated to a high standard) and the breakfast was superb - plenty of choices and the full English was freshly cooked and satisfying. Some nice touches: the croissants were warm, there were many pots of jams to choose from (not foil sealed supermarket style) and the yoghurts were laid on a dish of ice.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and highly recommend this B and B. We fully intend to return.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lynda E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
61 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 16, 2012

In summary, just what a B&B should be.
The rooms were spotlessly clean, well-decorated and very nicely furnished. The beds were very comfortable and there was plenty of hanging space for clothes.
Breakfast was everything you look for in a good B&B and the Full English was done to perfection. There was a wide range of fruit juices and preserves.
Peter and Katryna looked after us so well.
We thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will definitely be back.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Steve C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Conwy, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed November 25, 2012

This must be the best B&B in Minehead if not in the whole of Somerset. We had a superb stay. The attention of Peter the owner is outstanding.The room was wonderful - recently decorated and every attention to detail. He even brought us 2 wine glasses having seen that we had bought a bottle. Excellent bathroom with shower,; plenty of hot water; large towels; the works. And as for breakjfast..... well again superb....tatsy muesli, the best cooked scrambled egg and lots of fruit. Parking is available at the rear of the house and the garden looked beautiful. Perfect location - just 5 minutes to the Avenue and the sea. We could not fault it - excellent value for money. Its what all B&Bs should aspire to.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mj1303
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole Dorset
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 5, 2012

We visited this Guest House for 3 days in May and we would recommend it as the staff were very friendly and the breakfasts excellent. It is also very handy for Minehead town centre. We would definitely book it again if in that part of Somerset again.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank chadcole
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minehead hotels
0.4 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 12 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.6 mi away
Marston Lodge Hotel
Marston Lodge Hotel
#2 of 12 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 220 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
The Parks Guest House
The Parks Guest House
#1 of 37 in Minehead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 378 reviews
0.7 mi away
Old Ship Aground
Old Ship Aground
#3 of 37 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.1 mi away
Waverley Bed & Breakfast
Waverley Bed & Breakfast
#18 of 37 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Glendower House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Glendower House

Property: Glendower House
Address: 30-32 Tregonwell Road, Minehead TA24 5DU, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Minehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Glendower House 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cancelon, Booking.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Glendower House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Glendower Hotel Minehead
Glendower House Minehead, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing