We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (436)
Filter reviews
436 results
Traveler rating
293
110
23
4
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveler rating
293
110
23
4
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviews steam railway training hotel beach theme heritage railway lovely hotel sea view limited parking west somerset breakfast was excellent room was large sea front smoked salmon cooked breakfast no lift north hill sunday lunch fantastic stay
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 436 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2019 via mobile

On arrival, Sasha couldn’t have been more helpful. We had only booked for one night but because we arrived late asked if we could stay a second night. Rather than change rooms, we elected to upgrade to their super deluxe room for the 2 nights.
We also asked if we needed to book a table at the restaurant for dinner, only to be told (after we had paid for the 2nd night) that the restaurant wasn’t open on a Sunday or Monday?? Their website doesn’t mention this!!
But we could still have breakfast....... and there was a couple of hotels close by whose restaurants were open.
Well, if we’d known that we might have stayed there instead.
We had to be shown to our room as this place is OLD and a bit of a rabbit warren.
Room was spacious enough, bed was comfortable and en-suite had an “in-bath” shower with plenty of hot water, but the room had 2 drawbacks. The creaky floors, which aren’t a problem during the day, but at night are so noisy that if you have to “sneak” out of bed to the toilet - forget it!! You’ll wake your better half. And I have to say - what sicko decided the smoke detector should be positioned on the ceiling directly over the bed. Even with your eyes closed you can see the flash!!
So, we’ve been let down with no evening meals, but we still have our breakfast. Imagine our surprise when we find that we can have a FULL English breakfast with bacon, sausage, mushrooms, beans and your choice of eggs, but scrambled eggs and 2 tiny slices of smoked salmon will cost you £1.50 more... Go figure!!
If you’re coming to Minehead on the weekend. You may be better in Butlin’s.

Date of stay: May 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank davidhR419AR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2019

I stayed here last week (2-05-2019).

It is an Exceptional place.
I take my hat off to be the people (YMCA) who reclaimed it and the staff working there.
Not only was the place exceptionally clean, organised and welcoming but the attention by the staff and chef was fantastic. But more than that I think it is an amazing advertisement for young people and what they can do with a bit of additional support. All the trainees and apprentices should be proud of themselves and their colleagues and their mentors!

I hope you can carry on growing the business. It is an old building and things still need modernising and improving. I hope that eventually the quality of the infrastructure and rooms will eventually match the enthusiasm and motivation of the staff.

Nick Ray

Room tip: Ask for one of the rennovated rooms.
Date of stay: May 2019
  • Trip type: Traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sunshinelabs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackieRelay, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Dear Nick

Thank you so much for your wonderful review, always a welcome boost to the team.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2019 via mobile

We were renting a cottage in minehead and found this hotel..we loved it had breakfast a few times and stopped for coffee..the staff were so lovely made us and our dogs so very welcome..the food and home made cakes were beautiful...will be returning to stay with you guys next time.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled with family
Thank 104mrsq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackieRelay, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for your wonderful review.

We look forward to having you and your gorgeous dogs to stay.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 27, 2019 via mobile

Went here a few months ago the food was very nice. However! The waitress (manageress) was very disrespectful and had a negative impact on the way I viewed the restaurant. She was very selective with the customers by being nice to some and disrespectful to others. This over shadowed the previous thoughts on the food as it shown that she didn’t care about the customers unlike other places such as the Luttrell arms in Dunster.

Date of stay: March 2019
1  Thank RMiller30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackieRelay, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

It would be very helpful to know when you visited us as we have no recollection of your booking this year.

As a training hotel and restaurant we take customer service very seriously and I can assure you that all the staff have attended the 'Welcome host' course, a recognised training session on customer service. I have great confidence in the current team at the Beach, and hope you will take the chance to book with us again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 26, 2019 via mobile

Stayed midweek for 2 nights. Lovely room with a sea view! Great location. Breakfast was superb,I recommend the full English. Half a mile from lovely The Old Ship Aground pub!! Dunster Castle 2 miles away. Staff very friendly and helpful.

Date of stay: April 2019
Trip type: Traveled as a couple
Thank ScottJC1972
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
JackieRelay, General Manager at The Beach Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you for taking the time to write a positive review and delighted we met your needs.

Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews