We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great place food amazing very relaxing stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alcombe House Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Alcombe House Hotel
Ranked #6 of 38 Minehead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great place food amazing very relaxing stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 13, 2013

We went with my elderly father for a 3 night break and it was perfect. Such a great lounge to relax in and have a quiet read and a drink.
The bedrooms are very spacious and comfortable very good bathrooms.
We slept so well we missed the alarm twice.
Breakfast was perfect just what we wanted it was lovely a great choice and excellent quality.
Each day Frank gave us our dinner menu choices for that evening and the choice was varied every day and the quality and taste of the food was amazing. Joe cooked such lovely fresh meals and we all enjoyed every morsel plenty of vegetable's tender meats and very lovely fish.
If you need special food due to health concerns they are happy to cater to your needs.
A relaxing friendly lovely place beautiful gardens. The new owners are busy to make this gem of a guest house even more special we will go back that is for sure.
They will even drive you to the station to catch the lovely Steam Train Bliss

Room Tip: The larger room on the top floor was lovely great views. We went on the first floor room 2 & 3 b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angela D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

100 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    89
    10
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
22
46
5
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Worcester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

We stayed here for just one night but will go again. Lovely room, huge ensuite, tasteful decor and lovely views from both side windows. Bed very comfortable. Breakfast very good with attentive hosts. Would like to try dinner next time as menu looks good with home cooking.
There has been change of ownership but we were very happy with new owners.

Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank susan c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013 via mobile

We needed a stay for a night as we were checking into another hotel the next day, not many options as it was Bank holiday Sunday. We initially drive past this but returned and are glad we did (have to say it's a but pricey at £110 a night) but it was beautiful, bathroom Glorious and All the little touches to make you feel at home. Breakfast choice could've been a bit 'More' special for the price, but brilliant hosts and Divine Gardens.

  • Stayed August 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Angicoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NW
Level Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2013

The first contact was made on the phone, by my wife and she was very impressed with the friendliness of Roger. We booked for 5 nights DBB. On arrival were were given a most friendly greeting and offered fresh tea and biscuits. We were shown to our room by Roger, who helped carry our baggage. We were then shown to the the lounge area and Roger was soon back with refreshments. The whole place was extremely clean and well appointed. Our room was quite spacious and had a very good variety of refreshments on hand. There were those nice little touches such as quality bathroom items and fresh flowers on the dressing table.In the evening we went down to dinner and had a wonderful home cooked meal. I say this as many hotels buy in ready meals from suppliers such as Brakes Foods. All the food was fresh local produce cooked by Val and made to taste absolutely wonderful. Her homemade soups were superb. She has a skill of making the most wonderful tasting food. The wines were of a very good quality and very reasonably priced. Breakfast was just as good with a very good choice of English or continental style food. I am not a great sausage fan but the sausages Val and Roger use are the tastiest I have had in a very long time. They are such pleasant hosts that provide the very best in hotel catering with lots of little things that make the stay there very pleasant indeed. In our opinion this hotel cannot be bettered.

Room Tip: Leave it to the hosts you will not be disappointed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank peppercornNw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2013

We Stayed here for a summer bank holiday in May 2013 weekend and we were so surprised and amazed by this hotel. It is a lovely hotel, with great host! Van and Roger looked after us so well with so many recommendations of counry walks, inspired us to do a coast drive and visit the moors. The hotel in it self is EXCEPTIONAL and BEAUTIFUL settings over looking the somerset hills. There are loads of little villages pollock or Dundee that are easy to drive or walk to. loads of resturants and pubs nearby. The hotel is clean, rooms have great attenstion to details with fresh flowers welcoming us every morning at the breakfast table. I will definately recommend this to family and friends. Good for couples. xx Thanks Van and Roger. Meena & Bikramjit PLEASE VISIT THIS HOTEL, YOU WILL NOT BE DISSAPOINTED.

Room Tip: All 8 rooms are great! Pre book eating our places on a sunday. Dinner esp.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Meen77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
38 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 29, 2013 via mobile

Alcombe House Hotel is one of those gems that constantly exceeds your expectations. With spotless rooms and outstanding meals, it deserves a better location than Minehead, but it is ideally placed to explore the Quantocks and Exmoor.
It is run with impeccable efficiency by hosts, Roger and Val, who go that extra mile for their guests again and again. Val leaps around the hotel like a gazelle with boundless energy, attending to the rooms and cooking stunning meals. One evening, when we couldn't quite decide on our choice of main course, she gave us about half-a-dozen other options that she would conjure up just for us. Roger waits at table and bar, shops, maintains, chats to guests, and bookkeeps always with diligence and without fuss. What a wonderful find this small hotel was, and no wonder so many guests return here year after year after year for their truly special hospitality.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CavalinoRampante
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 10, 2013

We stayed for four nights and had a wonderful time. Hosts were super friendly and helpful, hotel was very clean and room very spacious. Bathroom was biggest we'd ever had in a hotel. The breakfasts and dinners were perfect and I put 5lbs on whilst there! Well worth the money.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nutty16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minehead
1.1 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 14 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 239 reviews
1.2 mi away
Marston Lodge Hotel
Marston Lodge Hotel
#2 of 14 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Parks Guest House
The Parks Guest House
#1 of 38 in Minehead
5.0 of 5 bubbles 366 reviews
1.3 mi away
Old Ship Aground
Old Ship Aground
#3 of 38 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 235 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alcombe House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alcombe House Hotel

Property: Alcombe House Hotel
Address: Bircham Road | Alcombe, Minehead TA24 6BG, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 38 B&Bs / Inns in Minehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Alcombe House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Small hotel of great charm ideally located for exploring Exmoor, Minehead and the medieval village of Dunster with its castle. AA four star highly commended for quality. All rooms en-suite, large car park, guest lounge and bar. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and LateRooms so you can book your Alcombe House Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Alcombe House Hotel Minehead, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing