We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent weekend of camping”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Burrowhayes Farm

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Minehead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Burrowhayes Farm
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Excellent weekend of camping”
Reviewed July 23, 2013

A fabulous camping and caravan retreat in the Somerset countryside. Beautiful managed and laid out site with impeccably clean facilities. Would highly recommend. Stayed in the caravans that are hired out and they were well kitted out and in their own private area of the site. Good shop for provisions, a stream for the kids, horse ridding, 1//4 mile away from the road, so no noise and wonderful exploring outside of the campsite. If you love camping, you have to go to this site. Thanks Julian and Marion - we had a ball.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank hotoddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

77 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    70
    6
    1
    0
    0
See reviews for
29
26
2
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed July 21, 2013

Just returned from a week at Burrowhayes Farm, this is our first time here and it will not be our last, lovely site Julian the owner showed us our pitch and we had a choice of shade or sunshine. It is a spacious site with fantastic facilities the best showers we have ever used - we chose to go just before the school holidays as we no longer have school age children and it was great, it is a good site for very young children but not for older ones as there is no play area or clubhouse, Very helpful staff would definitely recommend this site.

Thank you for a lovely time Kevin and Angela Hutton

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank KevandAngie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviewed July 18, 2013

I used to go to Burrow Hayes when I was a child and hadn't visited for around 20 years. I decided to go back with my children last year and we booked to stay in one of their caravans. I cannot praise this campsite enough it is really fantastic and hadn't changed at all since I was a child which was really nice and it's also not over priced either. The caravan was spotless and my children had such a wonderful time playing in the river and walking in the woods and it's so safe that we felt completely comfortable letting her run around outside of the caravan as there is a large green area outside. We also booked to stay in a caravan again this year and had an equally fantastic time and have just booked to go camping too. The staff are very friendly and always helpful and the toilets always seemed very clean. They also offer half hour lead rein pony rides (parent lead) which my daughter loved. There is a really nice tea shop down the road as well which do really nice and reasonably priced food. Definitely worth a visit to this campsite!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 387Faye23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
24 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 15, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Burrowhayes farm for one night as part of our tenting road-trip around Devon and Cornwall. The staff were very friendly and helpful. We were able to re-freeze our ice packs and they told us the easiest directions for the next part of our journey which was very helpful! The facilities were some of the best we have seen over our trip. The showers were hot and strong. It was a 20 minute walk into Porlock which is a quaint village with some nice pubs. Definitely worth a visit if you're in the area!

  • Stayed July 2013
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsKStock
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

Spent two nights here in our caravan and found the site delightful. We were given a choice of pitches and Nigel helped us choose the best. Morning & late afternoon sun with the closest neighbours being the ponies in the field behind.
Excellent facilities and well placed for exploring both the coast and moors.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank EDB27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lutterworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed April 21, 2013

I have been camping at Burrowhayes for many years but my recent visit proved that it has hardly changed over the last 40 years. It is a fabulous place to base yourself for walks and visits to Exmoor. The facilities are spotless and pitches well maintained. I am almost reluctant to spread the word as wouldn't want too many people to know what a wonderful place it is.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank debonhols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 13, 2013

This was my first time visiting Burrowhayes but my boyfriend has been here on many occasions and has always had a fantastic holiday experience. The location is gorgeous, lots of places to explore and very peaceful (and we had fantastic weather as an added bonus!). All facilities very clean and well maintained, with a great shower/toilet block. The staff are very helpful and friendly, letting us choose where we wanted to pitch our tent because it was quiet as well as giving us insiders information into the local area. They offer brilliant horse riding experiences which I enjoyed as a keen rider, taking you up into the beautiful countryside, and offering riding for all abilities. Overall, a wonderful, relaxing holiday.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank FunkyCamper_x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minehead hotels
0.0 mi away
Waverley Bed & Breakfast
Waverley Bed & Breakfast
#16 of 38 in Minehead
52 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Minehead
246 reviews
0.0 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 14 in Minehead
201 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
YHA Exford
YHA Exford
#8 of 20 in Minehead
40 reviews
0.0 mi away
Candlelight B&B
Candlelight B&B
#5 of 38 in Minehead
46 reviews
0.0 mi away
Old Ship Aground
Old Ship Aground
#3 of 38 in Minehead
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Burrowhayes Farm? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Burrowhayes Farm

Property: Burrowhayes Farm
Address: Burrowhayes Farm, Minehead TA24 8HT, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Minehead
Hotel Class:4 star — Burrowhayes Farm 4*
Number of rooms: 19
Also Known As:
Burrowhayes Farm Minehead, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing