We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Quaint and cosy” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Dragon House Hotel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Minehead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dragon House Hotel
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Minehead
Flagstaff, AZ
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Quaint and cosy”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2012

My husband and I are temporarily living in central London and feel the need to escape the city on a regular basis. I bought a groupon for this property based on it's close proximity to the Exmoor National Park. Upon arrival, we were greeted very kindly and checked in quickly. The hotel is closed during the day and opens at check-in time - no problem - there is much to see and enjoy in nearby Dunster and the park. As we climbed the creeky stairs to the second floor and proceeded on the crooked/unlevel floors to our room and stood at our door which was barely taller than me (5ft.2), I was a little worried about what we would find when we opened the door. The hotel is very old (1700's??) and well preserved. We were pleasantly surprised when we opened the door and found a tastefully decorated, clean and comfortable room - with a big bed! The bathroom was very small, but had updated, modern fixtures and was spotless! There was a hot water pot with complimentary coffee, tea and hot chocolate, which is our preference but one never gets! Nice touch! There was even a small flat screen TV which we don't require, but some people have to have it. The carpet was clean and plush and the bed was very comfortable. The room was quite chilly though and I tried to turn on the radiant heat knowing that it takes a while to warm up. However after two hours, it was still very cold in the room and so I finally went down to the desk to ask if there was anything else I could do. I am glad I did as the heat was NOT on to the room! The gentleman apologized and was very nice about it - I should have asked sooner. We also enjoyed a lovely, delicious and well presented dinner in their restaurant which is handsomely decorated and very comfortable with huge, original fireplace. The hotel is located at the edge of the village in a quiet area and has a beautiful back garden area that is most pleasant and quiet. I would definitely go back - the nearby Exmoor park is truly amazing and beautiful. We enjoyed a 3 hour run on beautiful single track and footpaths, before returning to the traffic, crowds and noise of the city!

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank whoznchargehere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

104 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    51
    34
    8
    7
    4
See reviews for
10
65
2
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Watford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 22, 2012

We stayed at the Dragon hotel for a couple of nights, although we found it very quaint! It needed a big dose of refurbishment. The carpet in the hallway leading to the bedrooms was very dirty and scruffy.
The bar and the restaurant made up for it, by being cosy and welcoming I ordered the Thai chicken curry which tasted as though it came out of a jar, but my partners meal was enjoyable.
Although it sounds as though I am being negative, for the price I would recommend!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank skivvy55
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frome, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2012

We stayed in Wisteria Cottage - the self catering option adjoining the hotel. It was very comfortable, with a nice bath! It had the advantage of taking dogs. The breakfast, which we added on, was excellent and we had dinner on one night too. The eggs for the breakfast were from the hotel's own chickens. The moule frites was excellent - good size portion and well priced. The bar area was very pleasant with log fire and good selection of wines. The cottage was at the back and very quiet, offering a garden for the dog.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank LairdRobert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 13, 2012

The picture lie, the hotel is right on the road giving a lovely drone of traffic all night long. The food was over priced and very over rated. The portion size was small and nothing special with to many flavours trying to compeat for your attension.
The rooms were comfortable but dated and in need of some need furnishings to bright the rooms. The only postive thing I can say there was a lovely lady who checked us in and told us all about the area and showed us the lovely log fired lounge.
The bar man who I can only guest was the the owner was rude and grumpy towards all guest, he reminded me of Basil Faulty, with his attude I don't know how he keeps customers coming in the door.
Parking was tight as there was few spaces at the front of the hotel most of which was taken up with staff cars.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SamB2008
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
TheDragonHouse, Owner at Dragon House Hotel, responded to this review, February 13, 2012
I'm afraid we don't recognise this review (from SamB, Exeter) as a guest who has genuinely stayed at the Hotel.
We cannot find record of a Sam B or any guest from Exeter staying in January or February.

Please see the other reviews on the TripAdvisor website or the reviews from genuine guests on Booking.com and Laterooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 5, 2012

We arrived to a crackling log fire, charming building with plenty of character and menu's so mouth-watering it was difficult to choose what to have. We were seated in another room, cosy and red, also with a lovely glowing fire. Our food itself could not be criticised. Succulent, extremely flavoursome, interesting, fresh and perfect portion sizes. The meats were melt-in-the-mouth and we were not kept waiting a long time for our meals to be served. We could tell a lot of care had gone into our food and were impressed at the use of local produce.

Just a few very minor points where improvement could be made - the selection of beers/ales was quite limited, however the beers on offer were very good so we did not feel we missed out on much. The bar menu was very reasonably priced, but I do think the restaurant menu was slightly over-priced (my main meal was around £17, some others more) considering it is not a michelin star dining experience. Again though, as stated, the food itself was stunning. The server, while polite, could have been a little bit more attentive and chatty/warm. The only other thing we noticed was that the whole time we were there they had the exact same song on permanent repeat. This, although it was playing fairly quietly, became very annoying after a while.

We were only visiting The Dragon House to use the restaurant, not the hotel, so we can not comment on that experience. We'd happily go back there very soon to eat their delicious food!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PrudenceTheBell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 8, 2012

We have just enjoyed a wonderful post Christmas stay in this warm and cosy hotel. The welcoming log fire, the candlelit dining room and delicious meals were a real treat. It was a little bit of magic in early January and great value too. Thank you to all at The Dragon House !

Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisBS8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2011

Absolutely fantastic from the warm welcome, comfy cosy sofas whilst we drank our bubbly. Beautiful food and attentively cared for throughout the evening. The surroundings were imeccable to the table decorations, the roaring woodburner & stunning tableware.
A perfect evening and we will most definitely be back soon.
Note: As stated on the website under 14's are not allowed. As a mum of 2 and all the girls last night are mummie's too... we like the fact that we can get away from the norm once in a while and not have tinkers around us!
Well Done Dragon house and a big thank you from the OC mummies. We had a supberb evening.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank loulbelle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minehead
0.8 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 240 reviews
1.1 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 14 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 198 reviews
1.2 mi away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#2 of 2 in Dunster
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Marston Lodge Hotel
Marston Lodge Hotel
#2 of 14 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
5.7 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dragon House Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dragon House Hotel

Property: Dragon House Hotel
Address: Bilbrook, Minehead TA24 6HQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Amenities:
Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 14 Hotels in Minehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Dragon House Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Dragon House Hotel is a beautiful Country House Hotel located on the edge of Exmoor, an area of designated natural beauty. Here you will find a unique combination of exceptional fine dining and superb customer service. The Dragon House is situated on the outskirts of the quaint market town of Dunster and is a short drive to the coastal resorts of Porlock, Lynton and Lynmouth. Whether you wish to explore Exmoor or simply relax in peaceful surroundings, The Dragon House Hotel is the perfect choice. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Dragon Hotel Minehead
Dragon House Hotel Minehead, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing