We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super friendly and cosy B&B”
Review of Steps Farmhouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Steps Farmhouse
Ranked #21 of 36 Minehead B&B and Inns
Reviewed July 19, 2013

My husband and I stayed at Steps Farmhouse with our 10 month old son for 2 nights in July and it was such a lovely, friendly and cosy B&B. The owners were really friendly and attentive and the room that we had was a great size, with plenty of wardrobes and drawers that we struggled to fill even half of them. The whole place was relaxed and quiet, with beautiful flowers and plants surrounding the place. A highchair was ready and waiting each morning that we arrived for breakfast and the service and food was superb. We would definitely go back to Steps farmhouse again and would certainly recommend it to anyone looking for a relaxed and friendly B&B at a great location.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank cherryberry80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (51)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

42 - 48 of 51 reviews

Reviewed July 16, 2013 via mobile

Superb, quiet, even though on the main road, place with comfortable rooms and an excellent breakfast. Sufficient parking and Wi-Fi available. Nice gardens on a tranquil setting. Friendly, very helpful owners and a reasonable price.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Stuart B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here for just one night this week on my way from Lands End to John o'Groats. Right by the bus stop, not far from the Blue Anchor and the location is very peaceful.
I was in Room 1- they all have individual entrances which is nice- a double room. It was cosy, and well.decorated in a very traditional style. Plenty of wardrobe space, and lots of tea/ coffee/ hot chocolate provided. Good TV with lots of channels and 2 comfy armchairs to wwatch it in! Only complaint would be that a few places were a bit dusty, but this can be solved easily!! The ensuite was compact but clean and worked fine. Water pressure a little light and hot water appeared to run out after a while buti just about had enough!
Breakfast in the morning was cooked to order but served quickly. Bacon was some of the best I've tasted and the homemade jam was divine. Plenty of cereal available too.
One problem (not their fault) is there is no phone signal and although it was advertised as having WiFi, the lady didnt mention it, and when.I checked on my phone there is a 'Steps Farmhouse' network, but it was protected, and the signal stregnth was poor anyway, so no point asking for the code!
Overall, Steps is a charming farmhouse in a great location.

  • Stayed: July 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlexJ262
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cherryade3, Owner at Steps Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded July 11, 2013

Hi,

Really sorry you found dust & I'd be interested to know where it was found.

We advertise free WiFi because it is fully available to our guests. There is only Room 2 where it's not available & that is due to the room location and thickness of the walls. You only had to ask for the code & I would have given it to you no problem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Booked this as didn't fancy driving Bank Holiday Monday down M6/M5. What an absolutely fabulous quaint place to stay. Very friendly welcoming people. Room was very nice and cottagey with the beams. The garden and surroundings are beautiful. Breakfast and dining area very nice and in a great location to visit Blue Anchor and get on the pebble beach and steam train. Well worth a stay would highly recommend. My 8 year old daughter was in her element also, especially with the dog, rooster and chickens. Thank you Steps Farmhouse xxx

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ShaznOlivia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We stayed for two nights in September. Room was big and confortable and quiet. Tea and Coffee making facilities in room. Breakfast really excellent, with a good choice of fruit juices, cereals and at least 6 home made jams, coffee and several 'speciality teas' in addition to the usual. Cooked breafast was really excellent, with quality ingredients. Gluten free was not a problem (we advised this when booking).

We have stayed here before, and booked on the strength of the previous stay. Good supply of leaflets and suggestions for day trips. On bus route I believe, and near station for steam railway.

Room Tip: We stayed in a large room with a double bed and two singles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DorsetColinUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stepsfarmhouse, Owner at Steps Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Thank you for your review it was nice to meet you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 4, 2012

This place is really good value and has really nice hosts. The family rooms is very big and very comfortable. I It could easily fit in a family of four. The breakfasts are well cooked and you also get to try the excellent homemade jams. There is good parking and a nice garden which is great for a very energetic one and half year old. I would recommend this to anyone but it is especially good for families.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CraigChad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2012

For other people with no car, this is really easy to get to on the bus. The bus takes you straight from Taunton railway station and drops you off at the door. There were walks straight from the farmhouse either up on to the hills of Exmoor or down to the coast at Blue Anchor, and the hosts were happy to advise and lend maps. There are regular buses all day and night to take you to nearby pubs for dinner too! So ditch the car and take the bus is what I say! Really good sleep too - excellent comfy bed.

  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jinglespoons
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stepsfarmhouse, Owner at Steps Farmhouse, responded to this reviewResponded March 13, 2013

Thank you for your comments

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minehead
3.1 mi away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunster
208 reviews
5.2 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#2 of 12 in Minehead
266 reviews
4.9 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Minehead
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4 mi away
Alcombe House Hotel
Alcombe House Hotel
#6 of 36 in Minehead
117 reviews
5.1 mi away
The Duke of Wellington
The Duke of Wellington
#15 of 36 in Minehead
571 reviews
4.9 mi away
Glendower House
Glendower House
#8 of 36 in Minehead
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Steps Farmhouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Steps Farmhouse

Address: Station Road Bilbrook, Minehead TA24 6HE, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Minehead
Price Range: $94 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Steps Farmhouse 4*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Steps Farmhouse is a 16th-century former farmhouse in the hamlet of Bilbrook nestled between Exmoor, The Quantock Hills and the coast, ideal for walkers and cyclists. Our aim at Steps Farmhouse is to provide guests with good quality, comfortable bed and breakfast accommodation with a friendly atmosphere and a warm welcome. All bedrooms are en-suite and situated in barn conversions with individual entrances and off road parking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Book Direct Rooms, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com and Cancelon so you can book your Steps Farmhouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Steps Farmhouse Minehead, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing