We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing”

Andrews on the Weir
We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Minehead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Andrews on the Weir
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Minehead
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed June 10, 2011

The harbour and surrounding areas were beautiful – especially Valley of the Rocks which we love (although it is a 30 minute drive but well worth a visit – you can literally walk all day and the views are amazing we love this place).

Hotel was disappointing carpet and paint work looked tired.
Bed comfortable
Hotel clean
Poor shower (no power at all) (very few towels provided)
Escorted to the living room to choose our meal from menus – no background music / candles or fresh flowers – I felt like I was waiting to see my doctor!
Food was very good and we enjoyed our choices, it was reasonably priced
We had a nice table overlooking the harbour but the room REALLY lacked ambience it was cold and sterile
I was offered my first drink but the glass was dirty (lip stick stained) which was off-putting.
This hotel could be really lovely but just lacked finishing touches (bit of love and care that people look for when they stay away from home).
I would return to the area but I wouldn’t stay here again.
The reviews read great but we were disappointed
Staff were friendly but to keep returning customers we really feel they need to pay just as much attention to overall ambience as they do the food then we feel they would be on to a real winner!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Colly186338
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

23 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    10
    8
    1
    2
    2
See reviews for
4
16
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
64 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 169 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2011

We booked for one night as we were visiting from London to see friends who were having a party nearby.
When I made the booking I also made a reservation for Sunday lunch but was called nearer the time to say that they were no longer going to serve lunch on either the Saturday or Sunday. Fair enough, albeit a little surprising given that this was the May Bank Holiday weekend. As such, I can only comment upon the accommodation and not the food.
We booked a room with a sea view for £110. In spite of the pleasant view, it was without exception the most drab, uninspiring room that I have ever stayed in. There was very little furniture to speak of and what there was of the cheapest flat pack variety or very dated. The bed was made with the cheapest of linens and limp polyester pillows. There was no decoration at all - just bare walls, which had pretty grubby wallpaper to cover them. Regardless of the lack of things to clean, there appeared to be splattered coffee or tea all up the wall above the bed and as high as the ceiling.
The breakfast was nice but the overall experience was pretty depressing and disappointing. I know £110 isn't a huge sum but the accommodation just felt very unloved and unwelcoming. A shame, as it wouldn't take much effort or expense to make a very different impression.
Perhaps a place to go for dinner, rather than to stay. (That's if they don't cancel your booking before you get there)!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JFF79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portsmouth UK
Level Contributor
28 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2011

We didn't stay at Andrews, having booked a cottage down the road for a week, but we did visit the restaurant twice. Yes it is a little expensive, but if you like really good food then this is certainly worth shelling out for. Service was quiet and efficient, with time for pre-dinner drinks and nibbles in the comfy lounge. All three courses were delicious with real effort put into presentation, and the house wine was excellent-no bin ends, but good vino that complimented the food. House red with the slow cooked beef-top stuff.
Three courses for two, with pre-dinner drink and two bottles of wine, around 130 quid all in. Price definately worth paying we thought. Happy days.
Stop in the pub next door before or after, as it's great inside with decent real ales.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WINGSANDKAREN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed January 1, 2011

Pretty location overlooking the sea. Room large, with comfortable bed but not very warm, however we stayed during some extremely cold days. Hot water system left something to be desired as it had very low pressure and temperature - took ages to fill the bath! Good service and good food, however food prices are very high - £12.50 for scallops starter, very top end price.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lin165
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Horsham, UK
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 10, 2010

It's a really pleasant surprise when you turn up at Porlock Weir - I don't think the photos on the website do it justice. It's a really beautiful little hamlet by the sea at the end of the road from Porlock.

The welcome was friendly and helpful and the room was very nice. Perhaps the wallpaper could do with a bit of remedial work (we were in Watersmeet), but there were lots of nice touches, from the good quality bed and pillows, through to the high quality tea and coffee set, to the high-end toiletries in the bathroom. The bathroom was clean and modern and seemed to have been refitted in the recent past, but shower pressure was rather poor - a shame they didn't put in a pump when they refitted. But all-in-all we were very happy with the room.

Staff were consistently very friendly and helpful, including providing an ice bucket, helping us out with advice and walking routes to Porlock, and changing our dinner time on our request.

We chose this hotel partly on the strength of its reputation for food, and we weren't disappointed. It was excellent and I would particularly recommend the cheese souffle starter. We also had the Lobster and the fish dish (Brill on that evening). Both were delicious and there was plenty of meat on the half-lobster, which you can't always count on. Overall, significantly better than a certain Michelin star restaurant we ate in recently.

Breakfast was also very good - one of the best we've had for some time.

Yes, this is a gem. We like to explore so we don't usually return to any one hotel, but if we're in the Porlock area again then I can definitely see us making a return visit to Andrews on the Weir.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rapier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woking
Level Contributor
80 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed July 11, 2010

It's hard to put into words just how fantastic we found Andrew's on the Weir, the hotel itself is clean, bright, spacious and comfortable, but what really sets it apart from the competition are the staff, I can't think of any other hotel I've been to where I've experienced quite such friendly, welcoming and charming staff, they really did treat us quite wonderfully.

The rooms themselves were clean, spacious, comfortable and well equipped, and the bathroom was in a faultless state of repair, an area where many other hotels sadly let themselves down.

As well as being a hotel AotW is also a restaurant, and a seriously good one at that - it's recommended to book in advance if you want to eat there in the evening, it's very popular and for good reason, the food is quite simply phenomenal - make sure you try the crab risotto for a starter, jaw-droppingly good .

I'd highly recommend walking the coastal route to Porlock, it's around 2 1/2 miles first along the beach and then through various fields and country lanes, a very relaxing and enjoyable walk and Porlock itself is well worth a look, plenty of nice little cafes and restaurants.

All in all one of the best hotel stays I've ever had, and set in one of the most beautiful and relaxing parts of the country, very highly recommended, especially if you fancy combining great food and long walks through countryside.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rob B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
evesham
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed June 27, 2010

we have just returned from a weekend stay at andrews on the weir a surprise birthday treat for my husband. we were greeted by sarah when we arrived and shown to our room which overlooked the weir .fabulous room very clean and spacious. the evening meals we had were delicious and very well presented cooked by andrew the owner.breakfast once again was fabulous great choices from full english breakfast to smoked salmon and scrambled eggs cooked to perfection .the veiws were wonderful around the weir. i cannot recommend this hotel enough .cant wait to go back again .well done andrew and sarah

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennyburke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minehead
6.1 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 14 in Minehead
201 reviews
1.0 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
149 reviews
6.3 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 14 in Minehead
246 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.6 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#1 of 2 in Dunster
645 reviews
4.3 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
326 reviews
6.0 mi away
Marston Lodge Hotel
Marston Lodge Hotel
#2 of 14 in Minehead
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Andrews on the Weir? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Andrews on the Weir

Property: Andrews on the Weir
Address: Porlock Weir, Minehead TA24 8PB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 14 Hotels in Minehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 5
Also Known As:
Andrews On The Weir Hotel Minehead
Andrews On The Weir Minehead, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing