We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A welcome in the seaside”
Review of Old Ship Aground

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Old Ship Aground
Ranked #3 of 37 Minehead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 31, 2014

Was a little while ago and I understand its changed hands since...but from what I heard its even better.

Great food, great atmosphere..and a little unexpected... its a nice walk from the West Somerset railway preserved line.. So let the train take the strain... - join it at Bishops Lydeard, travel by Steam to Minehead and then have a glorious pub lunch and a beer!

Room Tip: I didnt stay... so this is the Pub only...
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Ordessa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian A, Owner at Old Ship Aground, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thanks for your comments, we opened last September after a full refurbishment but have made sure that pub retains its natural charm and historic tradition as a harbourside pub. If youre in Minehead again pop in and see what we've done.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (278)
There are newer reviews for Old Ship Aground
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

258 - 264 of 278 reviews

Reviewed January 24, 2014

We decided on a last minute break to explore this area and found this pub/hotel. It was bought in 2013 and the team spent 4 months doing it up - not quite finished but our room was spacious and comfortable (beds etc all new). The attention was first class but not intrusive and evening meals were good. We were made very welcome and owners were interested in the things we were doing in the daytime. For me I would have enjoyed fruit or/and maybe yoghurt at breakfast but my husband enjoyed his full English each morning! Thank you Julian, Rachel, James, Janina and team.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Keren B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian A, Owner at Old Ship Aground, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thanks for your great comments. We love to get feedback from our customers which helps us improve, I am delighted to let you know that we have upgraded the breakfast offering so fruit and yogurt are now available daily along with kippers and eggs bendict, we hope to welcome you back in the future to check out the new improved breakfast!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 16, 2014

Had a really good weekend staying at the old ship aground. Staff were really friendly and helpful and nothing too much trouble. Room was clean and comfortable and the shower excellent. Ate in the bar at night and the food was very good, better than "pub grub" that we expected. Overall a very pleasurable stay and would recommend.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Michael V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian A, Owner at Old Ship Aground, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Here at The Old Ship Aground the team is dedicated to offering friendly and great hospitality and the great comments from customers like yourself reflecting this, brighten our day! Thankyou.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2014

Not easy to find a spacious single room at a keen price these days. Great location on the sea front, friendly service, and excellent beer and food in the pub. Being able to park free for the whole weekend was a bonus.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chris C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian A, Manager at Old Ship Aground, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thanks for such positive feedback and hope to welcome you again, we have 2 single rooms that are both reasonably priced for the independent traveller.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2013

We visited today at the conclusion of a walk up North Hill. Great to see the pub reopened and fully refurbished! It is quite amazing what the new landlord has achieved; and, it still retains its old character as an Edwardian Inn. The function room now looks more a part of the pub, rather than an afterthought tacked on, as before. Talking to one of the many friendly staff, the 12 bedrooms have all been refurbished, too.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank johnhenden
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian A, Owner at Old Ship Aground, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

So pleased you enjoyed your trip to Minehead and that you found your visit to The Old Ship Aground so positive. We are progressing nicely with lots of ideas which we will continue to develop and rest assured the pub will maintain its friendly hospitality and traditional pub charm. Hope to see you again!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2013

Stayed here in September in a great room overlooking the harbour. Very friendly welcome, loverly food, with some really interesting dishes on the menu. Could do with a couple of comfy/ arm chairs in the room to make the most if the view instead of the dinning type chairs.

Really enjoyed the stay and will definitely stay here when I am next in minehead.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
Thank Kitran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian A, Owner at Old Ship Aground, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Thanks for your kind comments, we are looking to get even better all the time and welcome your feedback about the chairs. Glad you enjoyed your stay and hope to see you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 25, 2013

Had not been to this pub for some time although we live locally. Pleased to see the vast improvement Jason and Rachel have made to this lovely pub set on the picturesque harbour at Minehead. We ate in the Restaurant and my husband had a very tasty mutton stew with dumplings which took him back to his grandmothers cooking while I had the vegetable stew which was a good choice for a vegetarian. Afterwards the profiteroles were home made and the best my husband had ever tasted. 3 real ales were available on hand pump and the beer was very well kept. Exceptional scenery looking across to Wales or the Quantocks

Room Tip: We did not stay here only visited for a meal as we live locally
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anne H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Julian A, Owner at Old Ship Aground, responded to this reviewResponded March 4, 2014

Great comments, thank you so much. We have shared your review with all the team here who were all delighted and we share your love of the mutton stew!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minehead hotels
0.3 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 12 in Minehead
252 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Minehead
304 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marston Lodge Hotel
Marston Lodge Hotel
#2 of 12 in Minehead
243 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Waverley Bed & Breakfast
Waverley Bed & Breakfast
#17 of 37 in Minehead
61 reviews
0.1 mi away
The Quay Inn
The Quay Inn
#12 of 37 in Minehead
161 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Parks Guest House
The Parks Guest House
#2 of 37 in Minehead
410 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Old Ship Aground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Old Ship Aground

Address: Quay Street | Quay Street, Minehead TA24 5UL, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Minehead
Price Range: $92 - $111 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Old Ship Aground 3.5*
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Historic Harbourside Pub Inn & Hotel. A landmark building with its history of hospitality going back over 100 years. Our atmospheric restaurant and pub food experience will be very much 'River Cottage' style with Seafood, Fresh Fish, Local Farm Produce, Seasonal ingredients, Carvery, Kids Menu Not forgetting Celiac gluten free, dairy free lots of choice. If we cannot grow it or raise it on our farm, you can be sure it is locally sourced and the very best of quality. From home smoked bacon to our own baked breads you won't go hungry. Alfresco eating with beautiful scenic views. Great Beers & Wines. Cosy in winter with a real fire. Completely refurbished during the summer of 2013 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and Book Direct Rooms so you can book your Old Ship Aground reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Old Ship Aground Minehead, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing