We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bitter disappointment”
Review of Gascony Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gascony Hotel
Ranked #10 of 37 Minehead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
53 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“A bitter disappointment”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

My wife and I went for an evening meal on the 1st July. What a magnificent meal, excellant service - in fact everything we would wish for. So much so we decided to go there again on the 3rd July (it being my big 7 5 birthday) and we also talked about staying there for a week's holiday. What a total contrast! The place could not have been so diametrically opposite to the place we visited only 2 days earlier. The service was poor, we were treated as if we were unwanted and in the way. The staff had a job to be polite, kept us waiting between courses and generally we felt awkward at being there. The food had slipped from its high standard to just average. Needless to say we left the place disappointed at the shocking service. The place was not even busy - just another couple. There was therefore no service charges left, no more returns to that place and certainly no booking for a holiday. We voted, so to speak, with our feet.

Room Tip: My advice is to avoid this place. A holiday is to be enjoyed not suffered
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank david a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek T, Owner at Gascony Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
We are all very sorry you did not enjoy your second visit to us for dinner in July. We were experiencing staffing problems at this time which have now been resolved. We are now back to the excellent level that you enjoyed on your first visit. Once again our sincere apologies over this lack of courtesy.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    45
    11
    4
    1
See reviews for
29
44
14
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Stoke on trent
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

Five of us stayed in 3 rooms at the end of May 2013.
The hotel is clean, comfortable and well run. The rooms were spacious and well equipped.
The staff were helpful and provided excellent service in the dining room even cooking food not on the menu for my vegetarian son. Excellent location on the main street minutes from the sea and shops.
On the negative side: beds and bathrooms need refurb, mattresses and pillows were uncomfortable, taps and showers were hard to use. Food wise; a proper vegi breakfast would be good although meat breakfast was very ok. Lacks a separate sitting room for residents of the hotel which have use the bar/cafe room. I also had to pay adult rate for my 11 year old son.
But all this said a really enjoyable break lovely country side, explored the moors at dusk and saw deer and rabbits and possibly 2 hares o and a stoat !
Paul Brough and family Stoke on Trent.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek T, Owner at Gascony Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for your compliments and comments. We are pleased you enjoyed your visit and are grateful for your constructive criticisms. We are planning a refurbishment later this year and look to address the things you mentioned in your review. Many thanks again for choosing to stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 30, 2013

I stayed at The Gascony for 3 nights , half board . The hotel was comfortable and clean . Even though it was in the town centre , it was very peaceful . All the staff were extremely friendly and helpful , which greatly added to my enjoyment of the stay. The food was excellent and served in generous portions . For value for money , I can't fault The Gascony and would stay again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eddie W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Derek T, Owner at Gascony Hotel, responded to this review, August 7, 2013
Thank you for your review. It was a pleasure meeting you and the rest of your party earlier this year. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Honiton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We spent a day on the West Somerset Railway, earlier this week and then had lunch here at the Gascony. The food was EXCELLENT and really good value for money and the service was also excellent. Would well recommend.

Room Tip: we did not stay here, just had lunch, so cannot comment on the rooms, but if the bar and dining area...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Richard and Ann D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2013

We stayed at the Gascony as part of a large group and had the hotel to ourselves. Staff were very friendly and helpful, especially Alex who went out of her way to make sure we enjoyed our stay. The rooms were clean and comfortable but the walls were a litttle 'thin' and so there was occasional noise from adjoining rooms. Meals were excellent breakfast, evening meal and Sunday lunch served in the pleasant dining room. Hotel is very conveniently situated for the seafront, railway and shops and having a large secure car park was a bonus.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank flybys10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey
Level Contributor
82 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

Thankfully only a two night stop off for a friends party nearby. You are met with the very worst of clashing desgins from fabrics to stained glass windows, silk flowers everywhere and imitation antique clocks. To be fair the room was clean and the bed comfortable but every toilet in the place had a black rubber car mat by the pedestal. Our room had a beige flowered carpet candy pink striped wall paper on some walls floral on others and the bed had Massive lare red poppies on the duvet cover all finished off with a large vase of , youve guessed it Orange silk flowers, YUK.
Breakfast was a sausage that had never seen a pig and Fried bread that had been deep fried in chipfat and tasted vaugly of anything that may have been cooked in it before. As you put your fork in it it oozed an oil slick of grease. Also the only hotel I know that asked you to settle in full on arrival, makes me wonder how many used to leave with out paying. DONT GO THERE

Room Tip: Just dont stay here - there are much better places in the area
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SurreySunburnt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
26 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed August 20, 2012

During our recent stay at Minehead we noticed that the Gascony Hotel was serving evening meals so decided to “try them out” especially as on offer was a Sunday Roast offering a choice of two meats. I can honestly say we are glad we did. The service and food was excellent, the staff were very attentive and helpful, without being “in your face” and the food was excellent. My Mother and I opted for Roast Beef while my Farther opted for Roast Turkey, and both meats and the accompanying vegetables were excellent. You most certainly could tell the meal was freshly prepared and cooked (no packet items used at all). Even the deserts were all good quality with a very generous amount of apple pie being given. The hotel itself was exceptionally clean, although I must admit we only used the bar area but you could see that cleanliness was high on the managements agenda. The décor was in keeping with the period of the hotel, which is late Victorian and it was a pleasant surprise to see so many original features still in place - which in some old establishments are usually ripped out in favour of making it ultra modern. We certainly will be visiting the hotel again when we visit Minehead.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mandy066
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minehead hotels
0.2 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 12 in Minehead
211 reviews
0.2 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Minehead
269 reviews
0.4 mi away
Marston Lodge Hotel
Marston Lodge Hotel
#2 of 12 in Minehead
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Glendower House
Glendower House
#6 of 37 in Minehead
121 reviews
0.0 mi away
Stones Hotel, Bar and Restaurant
0.5 mi away
Old Ship Aground
Old Ship Aground
#3 of 37 in Minehead
261 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gascony Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gascony Hotel

Property: Gascony Hotel
Address: The Avenue, Minehead TA24 5BB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Minehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Gascony Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
family run 20 bedroom hotel 1 minutes walk from seafront and West Somerset Railway, Large secured private car park Restaurant and Lounge open for breakfast lunch and dinner.disabled access refurbished rooms for 2014 ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Priceline and LateRooms so you can book your Gascony Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Gascony Hotel Minehead, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing