We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“"Excellent Meal"”
Review of The Quay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Quay Inn
Ranked #15 of 37 Minehead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“"Excellent Meal"”
Reviewed November 6, 2013

We stumbled across this restaurant whilst on holiday with our dog and kids. I have never bothered to write a review on trip advisor but felt that this place really deserved a good one. I would definately recommend it for dog walkers with well behaved dogs as the tables aren't too close together so there is plenty of room for the dog and kids. The staff were lovely and the food was really nice and very good value for money, particularly the childrens meals.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Katharine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerCareFeb13, Owner at The Quay Inn, responded to this review, November 21, 2013
21/11/13

Dear Katherine and all our other guests at the Quay Inn,

Thank you very much for and your custom and taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. All your comments have been most appreciated.

I would like to take this opportunity to notify any future visitor to the Quay Inn that this business changed hands on 13/11/113, and Rachel Stevens and her team have moved on to other business ventures.

We wish the new owners of the business the best of luck, and hope all future visitors enjoy their time at the Quay Inn and in Minehead and the surrounding area.


Kind regards,

Rachel Stevens.
Former Proprietor of the Quay Inn until mid Nov. '13.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

147 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    36
    11
    9
    13
See reviews for
46
57
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 27, 2013

A few weeks ago in summer we stumbled upon The Quay and found it to be a great place. We returned to Minehead this week in October and tried The Quay out again. Great stuff! The staff were wonderful, the food was good and the atmosphere was good. Gluten free, yes! Family friendly, good background music and the landlady Rachael is lovely. There is also a fine display of photo studies taken by a local artist which are available for sale.

Personally, I don't like tripadvisor because too many people use it as a stick to beat hard working places with.

The Quay is a good place. Music, food and good atmosphere. Give it a try and don't take your prejudice with you.

Dr Wayne Osborne

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank salientbooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minehead
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 30, 2013

I would like to start with how friendly and welcoming the staff are, Especially the landlady and the blonde haired woman, i was absolutely amazed at how they seated me without a fuss, and no complaints about booking in advance:) The staff were lovely, we had a lovely young girl take our order and bring us out our food, she was polite and very helpful, she knew how to have a good laugh aswell! (Me and my husband were debating about whether the taute was homemade) when she said she wasnt sure she chacked and came back and sided with my husband, it was homemade! Following that a polite young gentleman then took our drink orders and bought them over without a fuss. All i can say is i will be back soon! the food was amazing, the cleanliness was great and the prices were reasonible, Thankyou to all staff at quay inn!

Room Tip: Get a room looking out over the sea, absolutely beautiful view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gail W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerCareFeb13, Owner at The Quay Inn, responded to this review, October 4, 2013
We are delighted you enjoyed your time with us and hope to see you all again soon. It was great fun hosting you!


Best wishes,

From all the Team at the Quay Inn.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 15, 2013

Can't speak highly enough. Warm welcome by Rachael the owner/landlady.We had three perfect rooms two with stunning sea views. When we enquired about breakfast we were asked what time would we like it. Food excellent at great value for money. Great live music which was a bonus.
Highly recommended. Can't wait for return.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sean M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerCareFeb13, Owner at The Quay Inn, responded to this review, September 19, 2013
Dear Sean, delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and we look forward to seeing you again. Best wishes, Rachel and the Quay Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerset, UK
Level Contributor
58 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

The pub itself looks quite nice and the atmosphere is not too bad. There were no starters available which probably paints a picture of the type of place this is already. Not a major issue but a bit disappointing. I ordered the rabbit for my lunch which was fairly dry - although tasted better than it looked on the plate! The mash potato was definitely 'Smash' out of a packet and was just solid on the plate! Again, it tasted nicer than it actually looked. Everything was 'passable' and the staff were really helpful and friendly but such a shame that the food is so mediocre. Before leaving I went to the loo and there was not one single loo roll to be found in either loo or in the main bathroom - and not even anywhere to put a loo roll! We were the first table to be seated and eat so if this was empty at midday / 1pm, goodness knows what it is like later on in the day! A shame as has good potential with its location right on the seafront but certainly not 'up market' enough for me! Very basic.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HedgehogJim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenilworth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed August 11, 2013

We ate at the Quay Inn last night and, contrary to some other comments, found the staff very welcoming. The pub is also dog friendly which was great for us to be able to eat inside, as it was a little cool outside. We can't comment on the accommodation as we only ate here. My husband had the ham, egg and chips. The ham was very good, but the presentation and value could have been improved with the addition of a something like a grilled tomato, a few mushrooms or peas. The chips were served separately in a basket which left the main plate looking a little sparse. I had the sausage and mash, which was nice but the portion was very small and I felt it poor value at £9.95.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sally01926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fuerteventura, Canarias, Spain
Level Contributor
124 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2013

We visited The Quay Inn whilst staying at a lovely thatched cottage in Minehead.
I took my grandchildren (aged 6 and 8) and my stepdaughter (24).
The location is superb and the restaurant/ bar is tastefully decorated.
The staff were all extremely friendly, the menu varied, good value and the food arrived promptly!
The quality of food was good and just the right sized portions for all of us.
The red wine was good and they had an excellent choice to choose from.
All in all......a great place to eat with the family at reasonable prices!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Gordon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minehead hotels
0.4 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Minehead
269 reviews
0.2 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 12 in Minehead
211 reviews
0.2 mi away
Marston Lodge Hotel
Marston Lodge Hotel
#2 of 12 in Minehead
225 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Old Ship Aground
Old Ship Aground
#3 of 37 in Minehead
261 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Duke of Wellington
The Duke of Wellington
#13 of 37 in Minehead
507 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Parks Guest House
The Parks Guest House
#2 of 37 in Minehead
386 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Quay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quay Inn

Property: The Quay Inn
Address: Quay Street, Minehead TA24 5UJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #15 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Minehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Quay Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a management team with over 30 years experience in hospitality management, an award winning Head Chef and attractive location The Quay Inn is the perfect place for friends, couples and families alike. We are a short walk from the West Somerset Railway and North Hill walking route, and only a short drive from a variety of popular activities. Our attractive, comfortable rooms come equipped with tea and coffee making facilities, and all have sea views. We offer breakfast, lunch and evening meals, and our attractive beer gardens and beach front situation make The Quay Inn an ideal place for your visit to Minehed and Exmoor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your The Quay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quay Inn Minehead, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing