We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Restaurant”
Review of The Quay Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Quay Inn
Ranked #16 of 37 Minehead B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Sevenoaks
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“The Restaurant”
Reviewed May 17, 2013

We spent four most wonderful evenings in the Restaurant. Such a comfortable and welcoming place for a drink followed by the most exquisite food I think I have ever tasted. Wish we could have spent longer in Minehead so we could have sampled every item on the menu and also been enveloped in such a cosy and rather unique place. Thank you to Rachel and her hard working team. We so hope to be able to visit again.

Room Tip: We did not stay here.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roberta R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerCareFeb13, Owner at The Quay Inn, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Dear Roberta,

Thank you so much for your very kind and generous review. We are SO pleased you enjoyed our food and your time with us. I would like to take this opportunity to also thank our wonderful local suppliers to help us achieve our aim of providing the best locally produced food and ales.

Best wishes,

Rachel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

151 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    79
    38
    12
    9
    13
See reviews for
46
61
5
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed May 13, 2013

The Quay Inn has recently changed owners and Rachel and her team are doing their upmost to make their guests feel at home. The location is ideal , right on the sea front, but only a short walk into the centre of town. The bedrooms are comfortable and ample, huge windows overlooking the sea. The bathrooms have excellent power showers.
The full english breakfast served is daunting not for the faint hearted , far too much for us to eat ! We also had supper there with all our family and at the very last minute more relations appeared who only wanted desserts, the chef had already finished his shift by that time but Lucy, the person in charge, wasn't fazed at all , off to the kitchen she went and the desserts were served !
We shall return to stay at the Quay Inn , the next time we are in Minehead as the attention given to us was outstanding.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jacquelinehp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerCareFeb13, Owner at The Quay Inn, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Jacqueline,

It was a pleasure to meet you and your family and we look forward to seeing you all again.


Best wishes,

Rachel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelmsford, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
1 review
Reviewed May 10, 2013

We arrived on Friday after a long drive to a very friendly reception. Was shown to our rooms which were lovely plenty of tea coffee hot chocolate and milk. Bar staff were friendly service was excellent. We ate at the quays for the three nights we stayed ,all three night the food and service was first class and reasonable priced. This was our forth visit and our best cant wait to visit again. Thank you

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kim0906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerCareFeb13, Owner at The Quay Inn, responded to this review, May 14, 2013
Dear Kim,

We are delighted you enjoyed your stay with us and very much look forward to meeting you and your family again.


Best wishes,

Rachel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Went to Minehead on the West Somerset Railway so needed somewhere to have lunch near the sea front. The Quay Inn is about half way between the Railway and the Harbour so was conveniently positioned. We both ordered a cod & chips and had a pint of Exmoor Ale while we waited for the food. The cod & chips was served promptly but not too quickly as I like to enjoy the beer before the food arrives! The batter was crisp, not soggy, and the fish seemed good quality and it even came with mushy peas included. The service seemed generally friendly. I think it might be under new ownership as they were talking about this to other customers while we had our meal.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank boliston
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
England
Level 4 Contributor
20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2013

Me my hubby and 5 year old son went for a long tiring walk up North hill then on the way down found this place...we were famished so just eagerly rushed in!
What a lovely experience!
I went for the battered fish as....well we were right next to the sea! Should be fresh down this end of the country!
WOW! Good choice! Probably one of the best if not THE best i've ever had?
We all loved our food, service was good.
Overall a great lunch couldn't ask for more and would defo return.
Sorry for lack of details but this was in 2010!

Room Tip: I had to comment on the hotel facilities but i haven't actually slept here just dined!...so i ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BandJforever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2013

I have not been an overnight guest here and therefore cannot comment on the rooms etc so this rating is based only on the bar and our experience.

My wife and I dropped in for a drink on the way to a friend's place. It was a Friday night around 1830 and I was rather surprised that there was no one in there but the staff. I ordered a pint of lager and a wine for my wife and was surprised at the price which I thought was a wee bit expensive for the area. I commented on the price and was told rudely by the barman that "you don't need to be here if you don't like it"

This made me quickly realise why there was no one in there. Following some research it turns out that the prices are only slightly more expensive than the other nearby pubs so my comment was out of line. This does not excuse the pathetic attitude and wholly unprofessional reproach from the over sensitive barman who took it personally.

For a business that is clearly not operating anywhere near it's potential, public facing staff who act like this will surely help complete the demise.

Poor effort.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KevKate111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CustomerCareFeb13, Owner at The Quay Inn, responded to this review, February 19, 2013
The Quay Inn changed hands shortly after this review was written, and as the new owner of the business I am saddened to hear that this customer had such a disappointing visit. A new staff team is now in place, and excellent customer service is at the heart of this business operation as it should be, and I would expect all our valued and respected customers to have an enjoyable time with us be that in our restaurant, bar, cafe or accommodation.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2012

my wife and i stayed the night at the inn,birthday get away...every thing is just as it should be,no problems with any thing...service good ,as is...the food, beer ,room...staff are friendly ,and helpful...i,m sure i could pick fault if i was the hotel inspector, would i go there again....yep...why not.....plenty of choice in the area... this one is just fine........and mr talbot didnt turn up.....thanks..
mr L

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mark L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minehead hotels
0.2 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#4 of 12 in Minehead
225 reviews
0.1 mi away
Old Ship Aground
Old Ship Aground
#3 of 37 in Minehead
267 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Duke of Wellington
The Duke of Wellington
#12 of 37 in Minehead
517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
The Parks Guest House
The Parks Guest House
#2 of 37 in Minehead
393 reviews
0.4 mi away
Waverley Bed & Breakfast
Waverley Bed & Breakfast
#15 of 37 in Minehead
60 reviews
4.4 mi away
The Blue Anchor
The Blue Anchor
#20 of 37 in Minehead
26 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Quay Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Quay Inn

Property: The Quay Inn
Address: Quay Street, Minehead TA24 5UJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #16 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Minehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Quay Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Boasting a management team with over 30 years experience in hospitality management, an award winning Head Chef and attractive location The Quay Inn is the perfect place for friends, couples and families alike. We are a short walk from the West Somerset Railway and North Hill walking route, and only a short drive from a variety of popular activities. Our attractive, comfortable rooms come equipped with tea and coffee making facilities, and all have sea views. We offer breakfast, lunch and evening meals, and our attractive beer gardens and beach front situation make The Quay Inn an ideal place for your visit to Minehed and Exmoor. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Quay Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Quay Inn Minehead, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing