We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“pub break”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Duke of Wellington
Ranked #14 of 36 Minehead B&B and Inns
Reviewed September 3, 2013

was lovley room just done up very nice , no lift 2 lots of stairs but that was ok , there is a chair lift to the first floor staff lovley place very nice, room was small but very nicely done very clean was quite hot but there was a fan in the room to use , breakfast in the pub was good wetherspoons you had to pay but so cheap and on till 12pm so no rush which was nice

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yvonne1966
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duke Wellington H, Hotel Team Leader at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded September 8, 2013

Dear yvonne1966,

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Duke of Wellington.

There has been issues with the heat and we are looking into this we hope this won't stop you rebooking and coming back.

We look forward to your return.

Yours Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (589)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

505 - 511 of 589 reviews

Reviewed September 1, 2013

Stayed for 3 nights with my husband and 2 children aged 12 & 9 . The hotel is well located in the town , and we had made arrangements for parking so that wasn't a problem for us. The staff were very friendly and helpful , particularly the lovely lady on reception ( short blonde hair and glasses) who always asked us about how our day had been ! Our family room was very spacious and spotlessly clean.
The only negative I can say was that we didn't get much sleep in 3 nights, due to the fact that the bar is open till midnight midweek so there was noise from al -fresco drinkers constantly. Also we were in a side room and had the noise from the adjacent building's air conditioning unit running all night. The room was very warm so we had no choice but to leave the window open and the noisy fan on ( no air con) . My children were on a double sofa bed which was very hard and uncomfortable and too small for them. Single beds would have been better as the room was big enough to fit them in. Im sure had we have asked ,we would have been moved without any problem, but it would have meant much upheaval on my part as we'd unpacked all our stuff.

To summarise , a lovely little hotel, but lack of sleep would mean I wouldn't return, which is a shame.

Room Tip: Ask for the quietest room !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baxterbiff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duke Wellington H, Hotel Team Leader at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Baxterbiff,

We are glad that you enjoyed your room we are aware of the heat in the rooms and are looking into this so unfortunatly we only have the use of fans.

I will pass your message your onto our receptionist who made you feel very welcome and we are very sorry that due to the noise you will not be returning.

Yours Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

sorry to say we only stayed for two nights wish it could have been longer, couldn't have wished for more. Room was very clean and spacious and the staff were very helpful, nothing was to much trouble. can't wait to go back again

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Christine H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duke Wellington H, Hotel Team Leader at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

Dear Christine H,

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at The Duke of Wellington and we look forward to your return.

Yours Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2013

Our room was on the second floor, and was quite spacious. It was very warm when we stayed so we were very happy to find a fan in the room. I had a few gripes, there was no drawers in the room, which meant we lived out of our cases, and on a 4 night stay that is not ideal, there was also only 1 chair, again not ideal in a double room. I also felt that 6 hangers between 2 people was not enough. The room was nice and clean and the bed comfy, and coffee etc was restocked daily. As it was so warm we needed the windows to be open, and although there was some noise from the night club we didn't find it too excessive.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Dawn D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duke Wellington H, Hotel Team Leader at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear Dawn D,

We are glad you felt the room was nice and spacious unfortunatly none of our rooms have any drawers we have placed a shelf into the wardrobe.

We hope to see you in the near future and the issues you have will not stop you staying with us again.

Yours Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

As with all Wetherspoon lodges we've stayed in - you can't fault the staff on the desk. Very polite and informative. Our room, 207, was overlooking the back of the hotel. The room was small but adequate - the ensuite shower room was again adequate - but tiny. The lodge is situated at the top of the main street - parking is a nightmare. Luckily for us my Grandmother lives in Minehead, so I knew where I would find parking - but if you don't know Minehead, you'll need to have a drive around. You could try the roads behind the lodge, or (not so close but less narrow) I'd recommend driving past the CofE Church, and try the roads opposite the Esso garage / Catholic Church - we found parking on Warden Road. The corridors where the rooms situated all have locked doors going off the staircase - which is a bit more added security. The room though was insanely hot - and it was in the cooler mid part of August. There was a fan in our room, but it wasn't enough unfortunately.

Room Tip: 207 overlooks the back, but our room was a bit dark. The higher up you go - the quieter it is, but...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bilboroly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duke Wellington H, Hotel Team Leader at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded August 31, 2013

Dear Bilboroly,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us.

As you stated lucky enough you know the roads in Minehead and we do direct people when staying here pass the esso garage otherwise the long stay car park which is suituated at the bottom of the road.

We look forward to your return.

Yours Sincerely

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 22, 2013

Stayed here back in march for two nights. Check in staff were polite, pleasant and informative. Our room was very clean, tea/coffee facilities were provided and the beds were very comfortable indeed. Bathroom was impeccable also. Parking however was limited though we were lucky to get a space right outside. Overall, £55 for a double room per night in a great, central location was value for money for sure :-)

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rhys M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duke Wellington H, Hotel Team Leader at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear Rhys M,

We are ver glad you enjoyed your stay with us at the Duke of Wellington.

We look forward to your return very soon.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2013

We stayed here for 4 nights and can honestly say we were very impressed with the service and accommodation.Our first night was not great as we were in a room overlooking the air con units so it was very noisy. However the next day Lindsey moved us to another room on the upper floor which was very nice, and both the rooms were spotlessly clean. The only downside is the there is no on site parking and no lift. There is a 'stair chair' to the first floor but no provision for access to the second floor. As this is a Wetherspoon pub food is cheap and of a reasonable quality. The highlight for us was the advice and customer care provided by Lindsey which made the break a pleasant one for us.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the higher floor if you are fit!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank joca_63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duke Wellington H, Hotel Team Leader at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded August 23, 2013

Dear joca_63,

We are very sorry in regards to your first night stay but we are glad that we could change your opinion of us when Lindsey moved rooms for you.

We hope to see you in the near future.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minehead
2.1 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunster
152 reviews
0.3 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 12 in Minehead
285 reviews
5 mi away
Lorna Doone Hotel
Lorna Doone Hotel
#1 of 2 in Porlock
188 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Minehead
328 reviews
2.1 mi away
The Luttrell Arms
The Luttrell Arms
#2 of 3 in Dunster
782 reviews
0.6 mi away
The Old Ship Aground
The Old Ship Aground
#3 of 36 in Minehead
299 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duke of Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke of Wellington

Address: Wellington Square, Minehead TA24 5NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 36 B&Bs / Inns in Minehead
Price Range: $53 - $105 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — The Duke of Wellington 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All 29 rooms in our hotel are en-suite and boast free wi-fi as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Towels, hair dryers, ironing board & iron and spare pillows are supplied in all rooms. Flat screen televisions in all rooms. Our 24 hour reception allows check in from 14:00. Meals start from 07:00 and run until 23:00 daily. Breakfast finishes at midday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your The Duke of Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Duke Of Wellington Minehead, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing