We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The Duke of Wellington
Nearby Hotels
$188
$176
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Candlelight B&B(Minehead)
$94
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$102
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Beach Hotel(Minehead)
$95
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
$114
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Tranmere House(Minehead)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (610)
Filter reviews
610 results
Traveler rating
158
209
129
61
53
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
158
209
129
61
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsstair liftsteak nightfamily roomwetherspoons pubfirst floornice staysingle roomwould stay againhigh streetshort breakcentral locationstayed here for one nightcentre of townbiscuitslovely roombutlinsearplugs
Filter
Updating list...
540 - 545 of 610 reviews
Reviewed June 21, 2013

We stayed in a twin room at the Duke of Wellington during a stop-over in Minehead: Friendly staff and a familiar atmosphere. The rooms were gorgeous, very spacious, stylishly decorated and the beds were extremely comfy! We loved it and would return there any time.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Denn_G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duke Wellington H, Team Leader at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded June 22, 2013

Dear Denise,

We are glad you enjoyed your stay with us at The Duke of Wellington.

We look forward to your return with us in the near future if you have any queries please don't hesitate to contact us directly.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 9, 2013

We have stayed at a Wetherspoons hotel in Great Malvern which was great so chose a Wetherspoons hotel when we needed to stay in Minehead. The temperature outside, according to the internet, was 18 degrees but the room was stifling. The window would only open a tiny ammount and was down a narrow area of the room as the bathroom had been build in. There was a fan which we had to put on a chair near the bed in order to breathe during the night. The room (208) as adequate and clean and the bed very comfortable but the room was too small for two people to be on their feet at the same time. Unless I could be assured of a bigger room and it was winter I would not stay again.

Room Tip: Don't have 208
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank mec924
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duke Wellington H, Team Leader at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded June 14, 2013

Dear mec294,

We are very sorry that you had a disappointing stay with us we do place bookings into bigger rooms as they come in unless people phone us to request a larger room.
If you do stay with us again please contact the hotel directly and we can allocate a larger room for you.
All our rooms do have window restrictors on them this is due to health & safety.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

Used as a 'base' only, second visit, value for money, it,s a Wetherspoon! Food/service good, well motivated staff, 'run a tight ship'.Located in the square.(top of the 'avenue') ideal for the shops,etc, and a short walk to the prom.

Room Tip: All rooms are good spec.
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RODNEY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duke Wellington H, Manager at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded May 22, 2013

Thank you very much for your review. We always appreciate feedback and are very pleased to hear you have had a positive stay with us. As you mentioned it is our aim to give high quality service and products that are also good value for money. Thank you again and we hope to see you again in the near future.

Kind Regards,
Richard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013

It was only after I booked in that I realised I stayed here before and nothing has improved.
The rooms look spacious only because some-one has stolen all the furniture leaving only a bed a doorless wardrobe and a couple of very lonely looking artefacts.
Due to the lack of adequate lighting it is impossible to comment on the rooms cleanliness, quite a clever idea if you think about it, rather than clean the room reduce the lighting too one watt and nobody will know the difference.
Evening meal was an adventure.I should have known it was rather silly to expect them to have rather obscure items on their menu at 7pm ie fish and chips or my second choice of gammon and eggs so I settled for a hot dog and chips.
I am pleased to say one thing the catering staff was not short of was apathy, judging from the sorry state of a long piece of fat masquerading as a sausage encased in piece of cardboard called a bun.
Breakfast was a bigger adventure, after searching for ten minutes I asked where were the cereals. We don't do them was triumphant reply which was furnished by a waiter from the Basil Fawlty school of charm who had very kindly interrupted his early morning chat with his friends.
The final coup de grace was the fact that any sort of breakfast was not included in the room price I declined to pay for what I consider to be half a breakfast and in any case as you are only allowed one hour parking on the road outside[there is no car park] you and your car must leave by 9 or suffer a fine I calculated that going by the performance of the staff I probably would have had most of the grub spread on my dashboard.
Just in case I have the misfortune to end up in Minehead again and find a distinct lack of hotels I eyed up the beach which would offer a better level of accommodation.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank graeme a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duke Wellington H, Hotel Team Leader at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded May 11, 2013

Dear Madam,

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Duke of Wellington, we are dealing with the issues that have been stated with yourselves, we are very sorry that you were awaken by the cleaners in the morning but we are unable to change the time of the cleaners coming in to clean the pub.
We hope to see you in the near future where we can reassure you that we have rectified the issues stated.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 4, 2013 via mobile

Lady of reception was brilliant! Room was clean but slightly old fashioned. Wi-Fi was not accessible from room and windows are hard to open also the curtains were not suitable and had street lighting and morning day light shinning from the gaps. Not a suitable hotel for a business trip. Needed more plug sockets as there are only two. Cleaners and a hover woke me up at 5 in the morning. Food was ok, staff at bar were friendly. Although staff always seamed to crowd around reception and made walking past a little awkward. Good location. Value for money.

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tessa H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Duke Wellington H, hotel team leader at The Duke of Wellington, responded to this reviewResponded May 13, 2013

Dear Madam,

We are glad that you enjoyed your stay with us at the Duke of Wellington, we are dealing with the issues that have been stated with yourselves, we are very sorry that you were awaken by the cleaners in the morning but we are unable to change the time of the cleaners coming in to clean the pub.
We hope to see you in the near future where we can reassure you that we have rectified the issues stated.

Regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews