We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great food on a budget”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Duke of Wellington
Ranked #13 of 37 Minehead B&B and Inns
halifax
Level Contributor
80 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“great food on a budget”
Reviewed May 24, 2012

at there a couple of times with the family £30/35 quid for 4 . food hot and good quality . pleasant surroundings. we were staying at butlins but ate out just to get away. good selection of beers .

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grantisimo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

495 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    174
    108
    54
    34
See reviews for
136
221
32
23
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (75)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ewies-mum
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Reception very friendly but very dissapointed with our room. Should have been a single, not big enough for a double bed. Walls were dirty and surfaces were dusty. Was glad we were only staying for one night.
Shame because it seems the other rooms are of a good size. I think they would be better served making 105 and 106 into linen cupboards!
Woken several times during the night by drunk people in the other rooms.
Service in restaurant both for breakfast and dinner was typical Wetherspoons standard, ie. not very good.
You could say you get what you pay for but we paid £48 for this hotel and £29 for the Premier Inn the night before and the premier Inn was far superior!
If you have to go to Minehead then I would only recomend this hotel if you are given one of the larger rooms.

Room Tip: Do not go in 105 or 106. They should be singel rooms not doubles.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ewies-mum
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
262 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2012

stayed here 3 times and can honestly say was not disappointed the food and drink are typically wetherspoons good value for money ! the do a great English breakfast and if your not fancying that theres a good selection of pancakes cereals porridge and jams and marmalade's theres a curry night Thursdays brilliant selection on tuesdays its steak night and on Sunday its carvery ! all come with a drink included ! the rooms are basic but clean very good value for money i have been with disabled clients and can say we were always made welcome by the very friendly staff would recommend it highly

  • Stayed June 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank steve1954Liverpool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwickshire
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 29, 2012

We stayed here on a Saturday night, a good time was had by all, the staff were pleasant and helpful, the rooms were fine and had everything you needed. The bed was verrrry comfy, and the room clean. I must admit I didnt want to leave. We had breakfast on the Sunday morning and to be fair I've had better but overall a pleasant experience at good value. I would stay here again. On the downside the shower room we had was a little shabby. Also a nightclub in Wetherspoons..... bonus!

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Neat B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
157 reviews
53 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2012

It is difficult to review this hotel It is not cheap and is very basic. THIER IS NO WHERE CLOSE BY TO PARK it cost's £4:70 a day to park in the resticted areas and is a long walk to find free parking. The club down stairs is VERY loud on a Saturday's sleep was impossible. The food and staff are witherspoon so no problem thier. Do not stay here if you want a quite weekend The rooms as stated are basic warm;clean but lack of storage, quilt to small for the bed and dimly lit Ideal venue for a loud weekend away!!






food and staff are witherspoon so no problem thier but do not stay here for a quite weekend. As stared the rooms are basic, clean warm., no storage ie drawers quilt to small for the bed

Room Tip: We asked in advance for a quite room had ins opposit a butchers clod room with chillers on all night...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nick G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Minehead hotels

4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed February 18, 2012

It's in good location, top end of town.
Rooms were pleasant, but the bed uncomfortable. And u could hear alot going on down stairs in the bar, and me and my partner stayed on a tues, weds and thurs night!!!
It's cheap, and basic. But u get what u pay for.

  • Stayed October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laweliz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2012

If you value any sleep at all DO NOT stay here on a weekend. The bedrooms are above a courtyard where everyone drinks outside until about 3 o clock in the morning. It is terrible and I got NO sleep all night!! BE AWARE....

  • Stayed February 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peterossi46
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minehead
0.4 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
0.3 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 12 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
23.7 mi away
Cabot Court Hotel
Cabot Court Hotel
#3 of 28 in Weston super Mare
4.5 of 5 bubbles 785 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Old Ship Aground
Old Ship Aground
#3 of 37 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
0.3 mi away
Waverley Bed & Breakfast
Waverley Bed & Breakfast
#18 of 37 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
0.5 mi away
The Quay Inn
The Quay Inn
#14 of 37 in Minehead
4.0 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Duke of Wellington? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Duke of Wellington

Property: The Duke of Wellington
Address: Wellington Square, Minehead TA24 5NH, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 37 B&Bs / Inns in Minehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Duke of Wellington 3*
Number of rooms: 29
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All 29 rooms in our hotel are en-suite and boast free wi-fi as well as tea and coffee making facilities. Towels, hair dryers, ironing board & iron and spare pillows are supplied in all rooms. Flat screen televisions in all rooms. Our 24 hour reception allows check in from 14:00. Meals start from 07:00 and run until 23:00 daily. Breakfast finishes at midday. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Booking.com and LateRooms so you can book your The Duke of Wellington reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Duke Of Wellington Minehead, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing