We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Little Quarme - well placed, clean and welcoming”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Minehead
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Little Quarme Cottages
Reviewed June 11, 2009

On arrival we were given a welcome basket full of goodies but luckily theres a well stocked convenience store within a quarter-mile - This was our first visit to Exmoor and from our accomodation we were 5 minutes drive from Dunkery Beacon - so could do the local walks down to porlock and Horner Woods.. We don't get out the city much so basically were chuffed to find local walks that include stunning views of the sea, walks through woods by rivers, nice coffee shops, gorse, and fish and chips by the porlock Wier - all within a 4 hour walk starting on our doorstep.

The accomodation was clean - a converted barn - and very quiet, despite the other flats being pretty much full. I was welcomed by the owner - Mai, who was happy to help throughout our stay.

for us there was enough to do over a 3 day break (avoid Minehead :) Dunster was very quiet but provided more cream teas which my girlfriend was very happy about. All in all a good stay & would recommend.

  • Stayed: March 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BristolJimBob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (112)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

109 - 112 of 112 reviews

Reviewed June 11, 2009

Little Quarme has it all - it is bang in the middle of stunning countryside with the most amazing views down the valley and across the moors, Will and Mai are lovely, the welcome trug was a real surprise and nothing was too much trouble. I came with friends and the walking was incredible, but I can imagine this as the perfect romantic getaway too - especially that magical seat in the grounds under the copper beech tree. We will be back!

  • Stayed: May 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank greenleaves_9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2009

Absolutely beautiful cottages and grounds truly amazing, so peaceful and tranquil and very warm welcome with a helpful and friendly service. Highly recommended for your holiday, wonderful walks in the best surrounds, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and will return

  • Stayed: November 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank clarel30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 10, 2009

We had a wonderful Easter holiday at Little Quarme.

At Little Quarme we were greeted with creamed tea - fresh scones with clottered cream and jam, a clean cottage, wonderfull beds, fresh flowers and a lovely basket with local butter etc.

Our son enjoyed playing on the playground, catching tadpoles and looking at the animals - horses, sheeps and cows in the surrounding fields.

We drove a lot, and can mention Portsmouth that offers cheap Outlet shopping but Portsmouth also offers much more, so we had a lovely days where we combined shopping and a visit to the historic port, where there is plenty to see.
Taunton, Somersets regional capital, is also nice, here we found a nice park, where our son played in a few hours and then we shopped again. We also went to Tropiquaria Wildlife Park, with lots of animals and good playgrounds. In Minehead we had a great day at the beach, where our son built sand castles.

It was so nice to return to the nice cottage every night for relaxation and family time and so easy with a small child and self-catering.

Overall, there is plenty to see and do and cabins in Little Quarme is a great starting point for the Exmoor area, which we give our best recommendations.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank CphChr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Minehead hotels
5.6 mi away
Waverley Bed & Breakfast
Waverley Bed & Breakfast
#16 of 36 in Minehead
64 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Minehead
324 reviews
5.7 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#2 of 12 in Minehead
267 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6 mi away
The Old Ship Aground
The Old Ship Aground
#3 of 36 in Minehead
291 reviews
5.5 mi away
Glendower House
Glendower House
#8 of 36 in Minehead
128 reviews
7.7 mi away
The Blue Anchor
The Blue Anchor
#12 of 36 in Minehead
44 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Little Quarme Cottages? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Little Quarme Cottages

Address: Wheddon Cross | Exmoor National Park, Minehead TA24 7EA, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 21 Specialty Lodging in Minehead
Number of rooms: 6
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Six self-catering holiday cottages set in 17 acres of gardens and farmland in the heart of Exmoor National Park. Cottages sleep between 2 and 6 people - total 22 people. Table tennis and small pool table in Copper Beech Room which also doubles as a venue for group meals, parties and other celebrations. Walking distance of Wheddon Cross village with well-stocked shop and welcoming pub. Licenced wedding venue with pergola, marquee lawn, car parking and exclusive use for DIY weddings. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
Little Quarme Cottages Minehead, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing