We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Superb Small Hotel with Stunning Views”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Marston Lodge Hotel
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Minehead
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 1, 2014

I can't recommend Marston Lodge highly enough. It's a beautiful period house, elegantly and comfortably furnished with some great artwork in every room. It's lovely and clean with attractive gardens. Our room was large, spotlessly clean and beautifully furnished, with a comfortable bed, stylish en suite. huge windows affording stunning views of the sea, the town below and the rolling Somerset countryside.

The owners and their family made us feel entirely welcome and nothing was too much trouble. Service was efficient, friendly and warm, if a little frenetic at busy times. Every morning, Alex the owner supplies maps with routes drawn on showing local "gems" a visitor might never find. Priceless. They also loaned me a usb plug so I could charge my phone when I realised I'd forgotten my own.

Breakfast was delicious and fresh items locally sourced - eggs were from the hotel's own chickens. Apparently they were in the garden, but I didn't see or hear them. Evening meals are not standard, but we could arrange them in the morning for a time to suit. I wish we'd done this earlier in our stay as the one we had on the last day was delicious with veg picked from the hotel garden moments before cooking and it showed. It was also very good value for money. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Rooms on the front are sunny and have stunning views. All rooms are quiet. There is no lift, so if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Sue P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarstonLodge, Owner at Marston Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely, detailed review!! It was an absolute pleasure having you here, made even more delightful by your interest and enthusiasm to explore our beautiful countryside. It's so pleasing when our guests appreciate who we are and what we do!!! I have plenty more homemade recipes up my sleeve for your next visit! We do hope it will be soon. Our best wishes, Alex and Naomi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (249)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

151 - 157 of 249 reviews

Reviewed July 31, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the Marston Lodge for one night and our stay was very enjoyable. The bedroom was overlooking Minehead and was very clean and comfortable. The hotel is set up on the hill overlooking Minehead. There was also plenty of choice at breakfast.

Stayed: July 2014
Thank BandleaderLeics
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarstonLodge, Owner at Marston Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such lovely comments; we are both very pleased that you had an enjoyable stay and hope that you can stay for longer next time! Best wishes, Alex and Naomi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 31, 2014

I stayed at Marston Lodge last year (2013) and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. Stayed again this year, and if I visit MInehead in the future, I will be sure to stay there again. The hotel has a lot of charm and is full of character. My room was very comfortable, the view from my bedroom windows was amazing, and the Owner and his wife were both extremely friendly and helpful. Great location for those wanting to walk the North Devon Coast Path and visit Exmoor. All this made for a highly enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Robin T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarstonLodge, Owner at Marston Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments; it was an absolute pleasure having you to stay with us again. We sincerely hope that you will be back to explore more of our beautiful countryside again next year. Take care and best wishes, Alex and Naomi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014 via mobile

Myself and partner arrived at Marston Lodge in a bit of a pickle for accommodation, the Owner and his Beautiful wife were Fantastic!! They went out of there way to make us feel welcomed.
I would definitely stay again, just because of there warm relaxed attitude it made you feel right at home.
The best views over Minehead by far!! The Breakfast was lovely and the room was immaculate, I loved the eccentric taste of the decor so interesting and very quirky!!! I would just like to say thank you to you both for your hospitality!!! See you next year!!!! ;-)
Regards
Fred

Stayed: July 2014
Thank Fred W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarstonLodge, Owner at Marston Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 1, 2014

Oh what lovely, kind words?! Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review. It was an absolute pleasure to meet you both and have you stay with us - a laugh a minute - made even more fantastic by your obvious appreciation of who we are and what we do. So glad you stumbled across us and enjoyed your stay... And delighted that you will be returning next year. We shall look forward to it. Our very best wishes to you both, Alex and Naomi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2014 via mobile

Had a really lovely stay. This is the best area to be to see Minehead. Views are great. Alex and Naomi welcoming and helpful and willing to give suggestions about walks, eating places etc. Thoroughly recommend .

  • Stayed: July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ClareC407
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MarstonLodge, Owner at Marston Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded August 21, 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments: we are so glad that you had an enjoyable stay and 'took in' the stunning views and countryside. It was our pleasure to 'guide you'. We shall look forward to seeing you again and sending you on some more adventures! Our very best wishes, Alex and Naomi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

Great location on the hill with lovely views. Very friendly owners who were extremely helpful. The home cooked breakfast was fab and the whole stay was warm and welcoming. Rooms were spacious and comfortable..... En suite slightly small and a glass door to shower would have been better than the curtain ( that was the only thing ) A great place to stay and I would highly recommend it....

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Amanda L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NaomideMendoza, Owner at Marston Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Thank you for your lovely comments; it was a pleasure having all the family here on such a speciail occasion. The atmosphere was wonderful and we are delighted you all had an enjoyable stay. We have taken on board your comment about the shower curtain - no one has mentioned that before - but it is a very good point. Will look into replacing it with a door. Thank you! We will look forward to seeing you all again soon. Our best wishes to you all.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2014

Have just spent a couple of relaxing days in Minehead and North Exmoor. Hotel very comfortable and individual. Very warm welcome and very helpful in making sure we made the most of our short visit - provided great advice on where to go and routes to take. Hotel beautifully clean and very quiet location yet a short walk to the beach and town centre.

Room Tip: ask for one with double aspect and then you get a full panoramic view
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Brian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NaomideMendoza, Owner at Marston Lodge Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded July 12, 2014

Thank you very much for your lovely comments. We are delighted that you had such an enjoyable stay and appreciated the 'Magical Mystery Tour!'. We look forward to seeing you again soon. Best Wishes, Alex and Naomi.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minehead
0.5 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Minehead
319 reviews
0.2 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 12 in Minehead
265 reviews
2.4 mi away
Dunster Castle Hotel
Dunster Castle Hotel
#1 of 3 in Dunster
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.9 mi away
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
Dunkery Beacon Hotel
#1 of 1 in Wootton Courtenay
340 reviews
2.3 mi away
Yarn Market Hotel
Yarn Market Hotel
#3 of 3 in Dunster
205 reviews
1.4 mi away
Alcombe House Hotel
Alcombe House Hotel
#5 of 37 in Minehead
117 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Marston Lodge Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marston Lodge Hotel

Address: Marston Lodge Marston LODGE St. Michaels Road | Exmoor National Park, Minehead TA24 5JP, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 12 Hotels in Minehead
Price Range: $105 - $112 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Marston Lodge Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 9
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Marston Lodge is an impressive Edwardian coast & country house, retaining much of its original charm & style. Built on Exmoor's North Hill, it enjoys unrivaled views from most of its en-suite rooms. Take a 10 min. walk via the lanes into town for the wide selection of quirky shops, pubs & restaurants or head along the coast to the medieval village of Dunster. Follow the South West Coast Path & venture up on to Exmoor National Park (a few steps from our front door!). Let us create a memorable itinerary & guide you to Exmoor's hot spots. Return from a day of excitement & adventure to a log fire & a hearty, Home Made supper (Min. 48 hours notice). For those wishing to make vital life-style changes, arrange a personally tailored Hypnotherapy session or enjoy a Relaxation Treatment in the comfort of the hotel (Min. 48 hours notice required). With welcoming, informal hosts, Marston Lodge offers a home-from-home style atmosphere that you will want to re-live over & over again. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Marston Lodge Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marston Hotel Minehead
Marston Lodge Hotel Minehead, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing