We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous location”
Review of YHA Exford

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
YHA Exford
sussex
Level Contributor
44 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“Gorgeous location”
Reviewed June 9, 2014

We have just returned from a three day break at Exford Youth Hostel. This hostel is located in the middle of the most beautiful scenery and well worth using as the base for a walking holiday. Staff were friendly and helpful and the rooms perfectly adequate and comfortable - also - what a beautiful wild garden, enjoyed watching a heron come down to feed from the river which runs through it. The evening food is pretty much frozen pie and chips variety but you cant have everything and there are two good pubs in the village.
We were very sad to find out however, this is yet another hostel that the YHA is thinking of closing. We spoke to businesses in the village who were also worried at its impending demise. How come the YHA cant successfully run a hostel like this, which is tailor made for walkers, pony trekkers, cyclists etc, and is very welcoming to families? All the things the YHA is supposed to be promoting. Go now before it closes!

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SussexBigbear
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exfordmanager, Manager at YHA Exford, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Thank you for your review, it is great to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us.

It is always a very sad and difficult decision to close a hostel but you are dead right come now everyone while we are still here and enjoy this beautiful little village in the centre of Exmoor!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

40 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    18
    6
    4
    0
See reviews for
18
5
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2014

We stayed here as a family of four for one night in May 2014. Our room was titchy, two pairs of bunk beds and a sink, but comfortable. There was enough space for all our luggage. The staff were really welcoming, helpful and friendly. We had an evening meal, which was a bit basic (mini pizzas or fish and chips, followed by chocolate brownie and ice-cream) but went down well. We all had a full cooked breakfast, which was really good. The garden is huge, and we borrowed board games from reception. The YHA is located in a stunning part of the country, with big rolling hills, open moorland and clear rivers. Our kids had a little swim in the river near Withypool and we also did some beautiful walks.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank redsmurf
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exfordmanager, Manager at YHA Exford, responded to this review, May 7, 2014
So glad you had a good stay with us. Unfortunately some of our rooms are a little on the cosy side and we try to allocate them sensitively but as you booked quite late the room you stayed in was all that was left. We also offer ensuite family rooms which would have been better suited to your needs. Maybe next time you visit us you can book one of these.
I understand that your daughter particularly enjoyed Bacon & Nutella for her breakfast which my team thought was really a great idea
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 3, 2013

We have just returned from a 2 night stay at this Hostel. We were welcomed by Jo the manager who checked us in and told us about the Hostel. We went to our room to unload our stuff, the room was basic but clean. Our 6 year old son was very excited about the ladder bed. We got changed and went and sat in the lovely lounge where there was a tv, books and info on the local area. The whole place was clean and tidy.

We had a lovely meal in the Exmoor White Horse Inn just over the bridge in the village. On our return Freddie was able to play with the other children staying at the Hostel and we were able to have wine for me and cider for my husband from reception and watch tv in the lounge. You are not allowed to bring your own alcohol as the hostel is liceinced but it was not a problem as the reception is open from 5pm to 10pm so you can always get a drink up to 10pm.

The beds are very comfy and we all had a good nights sleep. I had come prepared with tea bags and milk so when I woke up early I was able to make a cup of tea and then go to the lounge and read my book. Breakfast was fantastic and the view from the table out to the garden was amazing. You can self cater all meals yourself and they had everything you would need in the kitchen. They had a washing machine in the drying room, the showers and toilets were also good and clean.

If we ever go on holiday to the Exmoor area again we would definetly stay here again.

We have already booked for the YHA on the beach near Padstow for October for 3 nights.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bunnj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
exfordmanager, Manager at YHA Exford, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
I am so pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us. I hope you all have a great time at YHA Treyarnon Bay in October - you just can't beat the views there and being right by the beach will be great fun!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol
Level Contributor
73 reviews
38 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2013

I stayed here many years ago when I was 11 so this was a bit of a nostalgia trip. Like many YHA properties this one could perhaps do with a little modernising but the point with YHA is that you get accommodation in great locations at a modest price.

We found absolutely nothing to complain about here. We were made extremely welcome on arrival and our room was fine. The shared kitchen, dining room and lounge are all up to the job and the hostel has lovely gardens which run down to the river.

Exford is a great base and I would recommend a trip to Tarr Steps where there is an easy circular walk alongside the river Barle.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank historymanBristol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed February 20, 2013

Very warm and friendly staff. Food is excellent. The location of the hostel could not be better. Very close to the moors with loads of walks in the vicinity. Highly recommended base for landscape,Wildlife and Astro Photographers/Painters. Staff are very good guides to local area. Very family friendly. Please see images to see how lovely the area is
Highly recommended

John O'Neill

Room Tip: All rooms are good depending on numbers.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Whippindog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newquay, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
446 reviews
122 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed September 1, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights as a central point for walking and cycling.
No phone signal...great!!! Peace at last :)
This hostel is like many in wet and remote locations, a bit on the tired side mailnly due to the elements...plenty of rain falls on Exmoor!
All that said despite its imperfections it makes it up with being full of atmosphere. The self service kitchen is a tad small when it is busy but it was as clean as any I have used to date. The lounge is especially relaxing with some decent sofas and a working TV. Great to see children from different bookings all playing board games together. The toilets and showers were always clean. The room we had was a 6 bunk for 4 of us so fairly roomy.
Although we self catered the hostel was doing great business for catered breakfasts, really good value I would say.
The staff we spoke to were great and clearly were working hard for guests. Well done guys and gals :)
In the village there is a well stocked shop which will have much of what you need if you need to get any provisions. The fresh bread was particuarly good.
There are two main pubs/hotels which do food. Both are equally good but you may need to book in high season. The real ales were excellent in both. Incidenlty we only ate out once! There is also a cafe that does meals in the evening so if you fancy an easy life you have plenty of choice.
Overall we had a great time in Exmoor and I would definetely come back to this hostel again.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Newquaygreen1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2012

We got thoroughly soaked trying to explore the surrounding moors on the bikes as a family including 2 teenage girls, 12 and 15 years. Was perfect to get back and after quickly rinsing the bikes in the river next to the tent (nice set up) to use the showers and store the bikes in the shed (needs new roof as current one leaks on RHS). We were going to cook outside but the weather was wet and blustery so we used the shared kitchen which was not problematic and worked well. We then either played the YHA board games, read, or watched the Olympics in the evening for which the atmoshphere was lively and good. All in all very pleased with the choice, quieter than a shared campsite and probably better facilities and at a reasonable price. Beware if cyling in the area though as steep up hills to get out of Exford and the bridleways are generally in poor rocky condition, prob due to the sheer volume of rain they've had this year, we saw very few other cyclists. We had a good time though, cyceld 4 of our 5 days, Dunster castle over the moors is doable on good bikes but took us the day.

Room Tip: Camp on site.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank WACAUk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Minehead
8.2 mi away
Northfield Hotel
Northfield Hotel
#3 of 12 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
8.2 mi away
The Beach Hotel
The Beach Hotel
#1 of 12 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 258 reviews
3.7 mi away
Exmoor White Horse Inn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.1 mi away
Waverley Bed & Breakfast
Waverley Bed & Breakfast
#18 of 37 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 55 reviews
7.9 mi away
The Duke of Wellington
The Duke of Wellington
#13 of 37 in Minehead
3.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
8.5 mi away
Old Ship Aground
Old Ship Aground
#3 of 37 in Minehead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 252 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to YHA Exford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about YHA Exford

Property: YHA Exford
Address: Exemead Stables Exe Mead, Minehead TA24 7PU, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Somerset > Minehead
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 20 Specialty Lodging in Minehead
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — YHA Exford 3*
Number of rooms: 13
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This is a great location for mountain biking, horse riding and a host of other outdoor activity breaks - making it perfect for school trips. For a weekend away in lovely Exmoor National Park accommodation, try this large Victorian house by the River Exe. There are open hills and wooded valleys to explore if you're on a walking holiday and the Somerset and North Devon coasts are nearby. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and PitchUp so you can book your YHA Exford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
YHA Exford Minehead, Somerset

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing