We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An excellent family get together”

The Winterbourne Arms
Ranked #43 of 187 Restaurants in Newbury
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Romantic, Special occasions
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Reservations
Milton Keynes
Level Contributor
154 reviews
79 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“An excellent family get together”
Reviewed January 5, 2014

We met here for our annual family get together, 8 of us. The table was set for us with crackers, nothing was too much trouble. The pub was lovely and warm and the staff welcoming and friendly and the food was excellent we would defiantly recommend.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank julespmk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    140
    65
    24
    15
    18
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Fantastic!”
Reviewed December 22, 2013

We booked a table here for a Saturday at the beginning of December. We booked for 8 but there ended up only being 7 of us (4 adults, 2 children and a baby).

From start to finish the service was faultless. Our waitress was brilliant, great at explaining all the specials, and suggesting meals for the children. Very quick service with the drinks etc. Also they brought the children's food out first, which was great as we had forgotten to ask!

My husband and I had the gammon, egg and chips. It was gorgeous, big portion sizes, very, very tasty and a great price too. The waitress suggested that our daughters could share an adult portion of a meal, which was a fantastic idea. They shared a bacon and cheese burger with chips and salad (obviously served on one plate each!). They loved it, and it looked very tasty!

The owners, Frank and Sandra, also made us feel very welcome. There is a great atmosphere in the Winterbourne Arms, very friendly but not intrusive.

It is a truly lovely, typically British local pub, surrounded by beautiful countryside. The food was so tasty, and there is so much on the menu that we still want to enjoy, we will definitely return. Our daughters really enjoyed themselves, and considering they are only 5 and 3, that is no mean feat!!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Chrissie585
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marlborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“December”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Lovely old pub off the beaten track - good car park. Mainly set up for Diners but space for drinkers at the bar.
Beers was Ramsbury only. Some good wine
Food was good - slightly over promised and under delivered, more specials than menu items, prices were reasonable though. Portions and quality were OK. Service was fine.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Wiltsman100
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
77 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Perfect lunch stop”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

We stopped in for lunch on a Saturday in December. The service was perfect and the selection of soup and baguettes we ordered were very good, with generous portion sizes. I'd give 5 out of 5 but I'd like an excuse to come back to try some of their more ambitious cuisine!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Contraryish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“Hennesey Gold Cup Day”
Reviewed November 30, 2013

Thank you for a lovely day, it was a day to remember.with lots of fond happy memories from the moment we arrived, Our Christmas meal was absolutely delicious,with fresh vegetables, cooked to perfection, and tasty gravy, which complemented the succulent turkey, also cooked to perfection,and was full with all the festive trimming..It had a lovely welcoming atmosphere with a burning log fire,which gave a rest bite from the cold outdoors.The staff and owners were very friendly and welcoming, which made all the difference to our wonderful day. Would certainly go there again and would recommend it to anyone of all ages.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank joanne m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Winterbourne Arms also viewed

 
Newbury, Berkshire
 
Newbury, Berkshire
Chieveley, Berkshire
 

Been to The Winterbourne Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing