We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Oh dear !”

WinePress at the Donnington Valley Hotel
Ranked #53 of 187 Restaurants in Newbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $92 - $92
Cuisines: British
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Surrounded by glorious hills and stunning parkland, Donnington Valley Hotel and Spa is a natural blend of charm and elegance with uncompromising quality and countryside views. Donnington Valley's award-winning WinePress Restaurant offers an intimate yet informal atmosphere where guests can enjoy superb dishes complemented by wine from an excellent cellar.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Oh dear !”
Reviewed June 9, 2014 via mobile

Owing to our overnight stay at the hotel we decided to utilise the restaurant . Having been seated at our table and having sat patiently for ten minutes we requested some wine , as we had previously studied the highly acclaimed wine list on the internet. So far so good ! The restaurant appeared more than adequately staffed but they mostly seemed more interested in chatting amongst themselves rather than looking after customers. We had to request both the menus and water after 20 minutes as they had not been forthcoming . The food that followed was in our opinion disappointing given the west end prices attached to the dishes. Certainly not west end quality ... The steak was well done despite requesting rare , and the venison was also over cooked which is quite an achievement with such a dense meat . Admittedly the cost of the steak (£39 total salad,chips and sauce charged as accompaniments ) was omitted from the bill. Rather perversely the celebrity team from British Bake Off we're staying and dinning last night ..... I wonder what they thought ?
The staff are friendly and obliging but they lack leadership and direction . We would not return for dining

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank steve b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DVH-HM, General Manager at WinePress at the Donnington Valley Hotel, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Thanks for reviewing your dining experience on Trip Advisor. I’m sorry to hear that you were not impressed with the quality of the food and service you received. I can only apologise for this and if you do ever decide to dine with us again, please contact me directly and I will ensure you are looked after.

Kind regards

Sally Russell
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

84 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    21
    7
    8
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“First class dinning experience.”
Reviewed May 18, 2014 via mobile

We met the head chief personally. His menus cater for every need. He has worked here for many years. His passion for cooking shows through each dish that is delivered. Thank you so much Kelvin!

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Fabiaburlesque
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
41 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Lovely food and service”
Reviewed April 23, 2014

Had two great meals at the WinePress whilst staying at the hotel. Good value and quality. Service was good, if a little slow at times, but very friendly.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Becky H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thatcham
Level Contributor
38 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“good lunch”
Reviewed February 18, 2014

We had lunch . All three courses we're excellent I had the pork and crackling was excellent. It was very quite so the service was excellent. Drinks were a bit expensive the meal cost about £30 per head including drinks but the starter and the sweet were very good value of money.
. . ..

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Barry B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
“Poor service”
Reviewed February 15, 2014 via mobile

We went for the champagne high tea for our Valentine's and did not have a good experience. The staff were not very helpful and service was very slow. At one point we had to ask more than 3 times for what we had ordered, although the table next to us were being served. To add insult to injury, we found one of our jackets that was taken by the waiter on the floor when we were leaving. Certainly would not recommend.

Helpful?
Thank SookyoungPark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed WinePress at the Donnington Valley Hotel also viewed

Castle Donington, Derbyshire
 

Been to WinePress at the Donnington Valley Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing