We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“first class”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Bacon Arms

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bacon Arms
Ranked #20 of 27 Newbury B&B and Inns
Thatcham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
50 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“first class”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2012

the food here
is fantastic
always a pleasure
to stop here for lunch
the staff
go out of
their way to provide
you with a great meal at a great price
highly reccomended nothing is to much trouble for them

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank scaniamandave
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

155 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    37
    38
    26
    18
    36
See reviews for
20
50
14
46
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Thatcham
Level Contributor
11 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 7, 2012

Friendly pub with accommodation. The Bacon Arms is an old coaching inn, very handy for the town centre. Feels a little run down, particularly the upstairs rooms, but the staff go out of their way to be helpful. Interesting menu.

Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Lillarc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 27, 2012

The Bacon Arms let us check in just after 10.00am in the morning as we were planning a late night back from the Children in Need Carfest. To accomodate us they also changed our room to an external room so we could come and go as we pleased regardless of the time.

The room was probably converted out from the old stable block, it was clean, with a comfortable bed, complimentary water, hot drinks and even biscuits. Room also had a ensuite which had been refurbished.

Breakfast was in the main dinning room just across the yard, with fruit juices, cerals, yoghurts and fresh fruits on a serve yoiurself basis and of a full english breakfast was served to you.

Good valve for money stay with friendly and accomodating staff.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jcprobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Banbury
Level Contributor
40 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2012

Needed a cheap and cheerful bolthole in Newbury on a Saturday night, and this fitted the bill fine. For the price (about £60 including breakfast for a double room), I have no major complaints. The room wasn't quite spotlessly clean and the en-suite was little more than a cupboard, but overall it was a good size if a bit dated. Our room was at the front on the main road, but on a Sunday morning we didn't get woken early by traffic - I'm guessing it may be a bit worse during the week.

Breakfast was really quite good, and the bar was welcoming with a few nicely kept real ales.

I'd give this a 3.5 if I could - it's really good value for money and from that perspective alone is better than many other places I've stayed in for the same price so a 3 is a little harsh - but it is what it is and doesn't really merit a 4.

Don't hesitate to stay here if you're happy to be in a cheap and cheerful place that's very handy for the town.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Obarmoth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

Just spent an unexpected evening @ The Bacon Arms, Newbury. Was a very late arrival - Jenny missed her bus home to make sure I got my room sorted, what a star (we made sure she got a Taxi!) And Manager Neil was an absolute perfect host - thank you both of you

  • Stayed July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Thraxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
allen, tx
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

There are two other hotels I have stayed at, very close by. This hotel provided equivalent quality in terms of room value.
However, they also beat the price by a good 20 quid a night.
They also provided a full (complimentary!) English breakfast, with eggs cooked to order.
And although it would seem that it should be a given, their internet service was complimentary and it worked consistently. I've stayed in other hotels where we paid for service and it was spotty at best.
I ordered a triple room (2 adults and teenage daughter) and we actually got a triple instead of a double with a bed stuck in (which is frequently the case).
Finally, I found the wait staff in the pub/restaurant to be quite friendly and sociable.
We also had a gap in our stay for three days (narrowboat expedition) and they agreed to stash our luggage (three big bags!) without a fuss.
The only down side was that the internet booking site didn't work properly, but that was quickly sorted out - the telephone is actually answered by hotel staff! That actually work there! And they answered my questions! Not all hotels do this.

Room Tip: Plan ahead, especially if you want a special room like a triple.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank grimftl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2012

We stayed in a chalet outside which was lovely, everything spotlessly clean. The pub is undergoing a refurb at the moment so you can understand pub not as great decor as it is going to be but the staff and locals more than made up for that. The manager was amazing and bar staff fantastic and made a lot of our weekend all the more fun with real good company and laughs. Cooked breakfast lovely. Short walk away from town centre.

Room Tip: I would advise one of the chalets at the back of the pub
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SARAH P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newbury hotels
0.9 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
0.0 mi away
Chequers Hotel
Chequers Hotel
#13 of 17 in Newbury
3.0 of 5 bubbles 309 reviews
1.0 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Regency Park Hotel
Regency Park Hotel
#5 of 17 in Newbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
0.9 mi away
Good Night Inns Berkshire Arms Hotel
0.4 mi away
The Hatchet Inn
The Hatchet Inn
#1 of 27 in Newbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bacon Arms? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bacon Arms

Property: Bacon Arms
Address: 10 Oxford Street, Newbury RG14 1JB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Newbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 13
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, LateRooms and Booking.com so you can book your Bacon Arms reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bacon Arms Hotel Newbury
Bacon Arms Newbury, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing