We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice pub; hotel rooms too noisy”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
The Bell at Boxford
Ranked #11 of 27 Newbury B&B and Inns
manchester
Level Contributor
16 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Nice pub; hotel rooms too noisy”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 12, 2014

The Bell is located in a very picturesque village near Newbury, and the pub itself is very nice with decent beer, food and breakfast options.

The rooms are ok for the price. However, the sound insulation is poor; you can clearly hear any noise from adjacent rooms - TVs, toilets flushing, snoring, farting etc.. For this reason, I wouldn't recommend this place to anyone who is a light sleeper.

Room Tip: Ask for a quiet room!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ben76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bobbymWeston, Owner at The Bell at Boxford, responded to this review, February 15, 2014
Im sorry you didnt sleep well on your visit. Our 'sleep quality' is actually our highest rated ranking with Trip Advisor and I will ensure you are allocated a quieter room on you next visit. Please contact me directly at Paul@bellatboxford.com to make your reservation and request a quiet room.
Thanks for taking the time and trouble to review us and we were please to note that you enjoyed the food and beer offerings.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    70
    29
    17
    20
See reviews for
28
84
18
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2014

I live close to the Bell and so have not needed an opportunity to stay there. On Burns Night, I was invited to stay over and what a wonderful night it was. The area lost electricity early afternoon and the kitchen at The Bell pulled out all stops to ensure that we were fed and had a fun evening.Paul, Helen and their staff are very welcoming, friendly and fun. Ladies note, hairdryer plugs in in front of a mirror with a stool to sit on!! Well worth mentioning, if like me you have stayed in pubs/hotels where the mirror is one side of the room and the plug on the other! The room was very comfortable with a super power shower (we did regain electricity) and lots of beverages to help yourself to. Despite a very late night, Paul and Felipe were up providing us with a great British fry up on Sunday morning. A very good time was had by all.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Crumber
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bobbymWeston, Owner at The Bell at Boxford, responded to this review, February 7, 2014
Thanks for the review of Burns night. It was certainly a great success...lots of Haggis Neeps and Tatties........Whisky, of course, and some fantastic speeches and replies! Hope to see you at next years bash as well.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawley, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2014

I recently stayed here for 1 night and all i can say for me was a very good experience.The barman was very professional and look smart.I had a very tasty Sunday roast which tells me that the chef knew what was doing.The room was warm and comfortable but what impressed me the most is that the owners are very friendly and funny specially Mr.Paul Lavis which gives a special atmosphere to the pub and to the locals.

Room Tip: room number 7
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DvddGhosT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bobbymWeston, Owner at The Bell at Boxford, responded to this review, January 27, 2014
We're so pleased you enjoyed your stay with us at the Bell. Hope to see you again very soon
Kind regards
Paul Lavis
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maidstone, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2014

This is a lovely oldie world type inn with a great atmosphere in a lovely village with thatched houses. As soon as we walked in we were greeted by a very friendly, polite and helpful member of staff who showed us to our room we felt nothing was too much trouble, the food is excellent and highly recommend. Our room was warm and very pleasant and we had a good couple of nights sleep. Even the locals were friendly with a lot of laughter in the evening and we felt very welcome by all. There are lovely walks and as an added bonus not too far from Newbury if you want to go into town.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Fraz2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bobbymWeston, Owner at The Bell at Boxford, responded to this review, January 22, 2014
Thank you for taking the time and trouble to write such a lovely review. Hopefully we will be able to welcome you back in the not too disant future
Kind regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 12, 2014

we stayed on new year's eve and the room was very comfortable, heating just right, bed gave us a good night's sleep, and the breakfast was delicious. Altogether a great experience, thank you the Bell!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank annec33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bobbymWeston, Owner at The Bell at Boxford, responded to this review, January 13, 2014
Thank you for the smashing review Hopefully we'll see you next year
Kind regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
s glos
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

we stayed overnight with my sister and her husband the rooms were very nice and the pub /restaurant was nicely decorated for christmas and had a lovely cosy feel. All the staff and Paul were very friendly and to complete the experience the evening meal was excellent

Room Tip: room 7 was quiet
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 257sandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bobbymWeston, Owner at The Bell at Boxford, responded to this review, January 10, 2014
We please you enjoyed youe stay at the BEll..esp the food!
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Bell in the not too distant future
Kind regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

I visited on a reasonable day in early January, and on entering the pub for the first time was greeted in a warm and friendly manner, which is great for these days! The chap behind the bar was helpful in letting me know what food and beer was available, and the Burger I chose, 'The Bell Burger' was super tasty, good beef, juicy and fresh salad, nice cheese and chips, reasonable price and a lovely pub interior, (not tarted up or trendy, but just quirky and nicely decorated with a Hop Vine around the bar and plenty of pictures and oddments). Not cluttered but very homely as a Public 'House' should be in my opinion. A happy lunch.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sculpturedad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bobbymWeston, Owner at The Bell at Boxford, responded to this review, January 3, 2014
Hope to see you again soon
Regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newbury hotels
1.5 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 590 reviews
1.3 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
0.8 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,630 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Good Night Inns Berkshire Arms Hotel
2.6 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Hatchet Inn
The Hatchet Inn
#1 of 27 in Newbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell at Boxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell at Boxford

Property: The Bell at Boxford
Address: Lambourn RD | Near Newbury, Newbury RG20 8DD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Newbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bell at Boxford 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
11 Bedroom Inn with Restaurant and real ales. 4 miles from Newbury and Lambourn. Previous AA Wine Pub of the year with 60 wines by the glass and Champagnes too! Free Wi FI throughout. Special food requirements? Just ask and we'll do our best to oblige! Rooms have power showers en suite with HD TVs. Complimentary Breakfast is included ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity and TripOnline SA so you can book your The Bell at Boxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bell At Boxford Hotel Newbury
The Bell At Boxford Newbury, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing