We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Wonderful day”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
The Bell at Boxford
Ranked #11 of 27 Newbury B&B and Inns
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A Wonderful day”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

What a fantastic experience we had last week at this pub. They were hosting my firneds wedding reception and what a great place it was to have it. Despite the cold weather we all spent most of our time in their well designed, contemporary and spacious outside seating area. As well as the buffet they did forus in the afternoon, in the evening we also enjoyed beautifully prepared and well presented meals. Helen and Paul clearly managed their staff well and so we all got a welcoming, warm and happy reception from them. They put up with some of us having a few too many with patience and good grace. Rooms were basic but with everything that you need and expect for the price. If the occasion arose, I would definitely stay there again and will most certainly be popping over there for some dinner sometime very soon.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jesschick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bobbymWeston, Owner at The Bell at Boxford, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
It was delightful to host the wedding and to meet some charming people. Thank you for taking the time to review us and we really hope to welcome you back to the Bell soon!!
PS Keep up the good work with your fantastic cakes!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

214 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    70
    29
    17
    20
See reviews for
28
84
18
43
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Swindon, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

This was our first visit to The Bell and I knew right from our arrival that we'd made a good choice. The extremly helpful reception staff immediately offered to carry my partner's luggage (a simple touch that so many hotels overlook, or can't be bothered with) and showed us to a reasonable size, clean and pleasant room.

We then made our way to the bar and were pleasantly surprised to find a good range of wine on offer along with some decent beer options. Had a couple of drinks and were then advised by some locals to check out the outside seating area when my partner decided to go outside for a cigarette. Far from the average 'smokers corner', we found a large space with comfortable furniture, a lit ceiling and great fire-column heaters. Despite the time of year we actually ended up spending a lot of time outside.

Our evening meal was very well cooked and the service was friendly and efficient. I would say that the restaurant prices are very *slightly* on the high side but only by £1 or so per dish. It sounds a bit nitpicky but if the prices were just slightly lower this restaurant would represent exceptional value rather than good value. I also asked for a non-menu item and we were impressed when the waiter enquired with the kitchen, said it would be 'no problem' and found that the Cheese Board we were presented with was over and above what we'd expected.

A nice hot shower in the morning was followed by a well cooked Full English breakfast.

We were both very happy with our stay and will look forward to returning in the summer to take even better advantage of the outside area.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrBlackwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bobbymWeston, Owner at The Bell at Boxford, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
Thanks for taking the time and trouble to write a review of the Bell. Im delighted you enjoyed the heated Terrace but I look forward to welcoming you both back in the Summer months and even having another game of Pool with you!
I'm sure Sarah s birthday was a great success!
kind regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aveiro, Portugal
Level Contributor
146 reviews
105 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

Room 4. The room was a perfect size for a couple staying a night or longer – spacious, clean and comfortable. There was enough surface area to use the laptop and the free wifi worked well. The bathroom facilities were good but let down by looking extremely “tired” and in need of painting, regrouting and upgrading, and the shower was one of the best power showers we have had on our trip although the maximum temperature was just off warm. We didn’t complain about it because once again it wasn’t a major issue for us. What was an issue though was the view from our window overlooking a cleared “work in progress” yard and dog poo immediately under our window on the pathway. We stayed here for two nights and ate in the restaurant both nights. We have to say the quality of food was excellent, although service was a tad on the slow side. Breakfast on both days was more than adequate with once again, quality ingredients and cooked to perfection. Would we stay here again – yes, if visiting the area. However, and this is nothing to do with the quality of the accommodation, just its location, the road from Newbury to the Bell at Boxford is a few miles along a very narrow and winding dark country road (at night). Which, may be a problem for people who do not know the road

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CasaSulo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bobbymWeston, Owner at The Bell at Boxford, responded to this review, November 20, 2012
I really appreciate reviews such as this as it enables us to improve on the high standard we try to offer. I must apologize about the 'work in progress' though. This will be rectified shortly!!
Room 4 was repainted on receipt of your review and again Id like to thank you for this comment. Redec. of the rooms is something of a 'Forth bridge' for us and each room is done on a rotating basis. However R4 jumped the que! Thank you!!
I glad you enjoyed the Bell and do hope that we might have the pleasure of welcoming you back the next time you are passing through Newbury
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

Had a wonderful stay here over the weekend. Lovely welcome from the staff who were very friendly and gave us plenty of tips for lovely country walks. Nothing was too much trouble for them.
The Bell looks lovely from the outside and the inside is just so warm and cosy. The food was tremendous too. Will definitely be returning.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tillyellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bobbymWeston, Owner at The Bell at Boxford, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Thank you for your kind comments! It was a real pleasure to meet you and I hope that you can find an excuse to visit the Bell in the not too distant future! In the meantime you nust send me a postcard of so sunshine!!
Kind regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

We chose the Bell at Boxford for our wedding reception (for 30 close family and friends) over countless hotels and pubs in the Newbury area primarily because of the cosy feel of the place, the great reputation for food, and the fabulous outside space which provided the perfect area for both BBQ and outside disco. This was partly covered which provided extra contigency in case of bad weather.

Helen and Paul catered for our every request and end result was a fantastic afternoon and evening of eating, drinking and dancing. The BBQ spread was excellent with a wide variety of freshly prepared dishes and homemade dips etc. The staff were very efficient and kept the champagne and tasty mojitos flowing all night.

Despite the weather being rainy and quite chilly we were still able to eat and have the disco outside because of the roof and the gas burners. In fact, we were oblivious to the rain and our guests said it felt like being on holiday because of the outside dancefloor and the atmosphere of the lights and burners!

They even have their own pizza oven and fresh pizzas came later in the evening which went down a treat.

Us and our guests occupied 10 of the 11 rooms which was extremely convenient - they were clean, well maintained and well supplied.

All in all, an excellent choice of venue and definitely an option for any future anniversary/birthday celebrations! High recommended.

Thanks to the Bell at Boxford for a great party!

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Adam C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bobbymWeston, Owner at The Bell at Boxford, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
Its always lovely to know that we have succeeded in our main objectinve ie offering great value and service. The staff were really excited to read your comments and I hope that you will be able to return to the Bell and show us the photos!
Lind regards
Paul
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2012

We went to Newbury races for the day & wanted a nice pub B&B to stay in for the night.

Can honestly say that the pub had a significant number of things going for it. Great front outside, cosy bar area, friendly pub dog, real ales, good selection of wines, clean but basic room but certainly suited our needs & expectations.

However the service we had during dinner was appalling - goodness knows where the landlord found the staff. Ordering took 30mins & was only taken after we prompted the staff. A corked bottle of wine came to the table unopened & we had to request the barman come back to open it! He proclaimed he thought it was a screwtop!!! The starters took over an hour to arrive, only 3 out of 4 mains arrived & parts of which were cold. Complaints of the service were quickly dismissed by the landlady with no offering of a drink, free starter & we were told to pay or the police would be called. Whatever happened to good customer service!!!

I can only hope breakfast doesn't take so long or it might be brunch or god forbid lunch....

  • Stayed September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Michelle Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bobbymWeston, Owner at The Bell at Boxford, responded to this review, September 26, 2012
I welcome constructive reviews as they enable us to improved the services we offer. On this occasion, however, it amazed me that your party thought they had the right to eat straight away and did not make a reservation to dine at the Bell. Booked tables will always take preference over chance bookings whether staying at the Bell or not. Consequently. Id suggest you have the forethought to reserve a table should you stay at an Inn again.
As we strive to please we nevertheless acquiested to your somewhat inebriated demands to have a table 'as you were resident ' on the basis that we would serve you as soon as possible but as the Bar, restaurant and terrace were fully booked this would take a considerable time. Clearly time you utilised at the bar.
I think the fact that the landlady felt the nececity to call the police perhaps sums up your rude and abusive behaviour and this is confirmed by other diners and residents who complained to us wanting to know why we had served you in the first place as your behaviour had spoilt their evening.
I trust that we will not be graced with your presence in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2012

We had a lovely stay here, made pleasurable by the friendly staff and Michelin style food. Would stay again. In a picturesque area near Newbury. Even dogs were allowed in the bar :)
We booked at the last minute and did not regret £68 for b&b very reasonable with the Aussie $

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newbury hotels
1.5 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
1.3 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
0.8 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Good Night Inns Berkshire Arms Hotel
2.6 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
2.6 mi away
The Hatchet Inn
The Hatchet Inn
#1 of 27 in Newbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 268 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Bell at Boxford? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Bell at Boxford

Property: The Bell at Boxford
Address: Lambourn RD | Near Newbury, Newbury RG20 8DD, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 27 B&Bs / Inns in Newbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Bell at Boxford 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
11 Bedroom Inn with Restaurant and real ales. 4 miles from Newbury and Lambourn. Previous AA Wine Pub of the year with 60 wines by the glass and Champagnes too! Free Wi FI throughout. Special food requirements? Just ask and we'll do our best to oblige! Rooms have power showers en suite with HD TVs. Complimentary Breakfast is included ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your The Bell at Boxford reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Bell At Boxford Hotel Newbury
The Bell At Boxford Newbury, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing