We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Lovely food, great service”

Yo Wan Oriental Restaurant and Bar
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian, Japanese
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol
London
Level Contributor
22 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Lovely food, great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 1, 2013

We went for a meal on Saturday night. Considering the restaurant's uninspiring location, it was very busy with every table occupied. We arrived quite early but were welcomed and our table was ready within 5 minutes. The staff were very attentive and helpful, the meal was delicious, and the atmosphere relaxed. The portions were very generous so don't over-order. The best Chinese restaurant in Newbury - we will be back.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank London452
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

65 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    16
    4
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Standard Chinese Fare”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2013 via mobile

I went to the Yo Wan based on the excellent reviews it has received on this website and I must say, I was a little underwhelmed.
Essentially it's a Chinese takeaway in a restaurant setting - nothing wrong with that, I like a Chinese takeaway as much as the next man. I just didn't feel like I experienced anything unique.
The front of house team were absolutely superb. We were served by 3 or 4 different people, all of whom were charming, funny and very accommodating. We were also offered a "doggy bag", a nice touch I thought, as I can't stand to see food wasted.
We opted for one of the set menus at £20 per head. Very food value for money. Just don't make the mistake I did and order an extra portion of something - the portions are very large.
Will definitely visit again, but without such high expectations.

Helpful?
Thank TheBerkshireBelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
182 reviews
129 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 69 helpful votes
“Gets better and better”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 28, 2013

A party of 20 of us had an excellent dinner here on a Tuesday night. My wife and I had visited once before and were so impressed that we recommended it to our supper club. Result? 20 very happy bunnies. Lots of very tasty, freshly cooked food served piping hot. A good selection of oriental beers, reasonably priced wines and friendly service.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Peter D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kintbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Chinese Restaurant in Newbury”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2013

A group of 12 of us visited this restaurant for a late Sunday lunch. The buffet was absolutely delicious with more choices than you could ever want. The atmosphere was first rate with very friendly attentive staff. Will definitely go back, in fact booked a table for my Mum and I one lunchtime before Christmas.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Debbie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South of England
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Great Food and Service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2013

We have eaten here many times now and on every occasion the food and service have been excellent. Newbury has needed a really good Chinese restaurant for a long time and now we have one. The set menu is exceptionally good value and the drinks reasonably priced.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank fredgrice
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Yo Wan Oriental Restaurant and Bar also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing