We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“You simply can't beat this pub for amazing service and quality food”

The Fox at Peasemore
Ranked #2 of 192 Restaurants in Newbury
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $15 - $25
Cuisines: Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Late Night, Delivery, Reservations
Description: A quality and relaxing rural country pub, run by award winning licensees, in the beautiful Berkshire village of Peasemore,just a short drive from the A34 and junctions 13 & 14 of the M4. The building and decor are charming and rustic, with elegant modern touches. A cosy log burner perfect for winter evenings and during the Summer months out door seating over-looking open county fields or in a pretty courtyard filled with flowers. A daily menu, all freshly prepared in the pub kitchen, including, fresh fish, pies, steaks and chef's daily specials with main course prices ranging from £11.50 - £19.50. As all dishes are prepared in the pub kitchen, they are able to cater for most dietary needs, with most sauces, soups and gravy all been gluten free. The Fox also offers gluten free bread & gluten free Yorkshire puddings on a Sunday.
Reviewed September 5, 2013

We have visited the new Fox at Peasemore 3 times now since its opening and it never disappoints. Phil and Lauren and their fantastic team make you feel so welcome to their amazing pub which they gutted and redeveloped in 8 weeks. It's now a proper pub that manages to serve amazing food whilst still being a pub for drinkers.

Portion sizes are large - if you want a pudding (and you do want a pudding here), beware the starters and the complimentary fresh baked bread! You won't have room...

Last time we ate there, my wife had the salmon and I had the steak - both were beautifully cooked. The sharing starters are enormous and very tasty. Puddings are also a real treat.

The best bit about the Fox though is the warm welcome from Geoff and the team and the feeling that nothing is too much trouble. Great old fashioned customer service that makes this place stand out. If you want a place for a midweek meal or a special weekend evening meal with visitors, you won;t go wrong coming here. This is a special place run by some very special people. A rarity these days in the pub industry.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Tim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren456, Owner at The Fox at Peasemore, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. All the staff were thrilled to read them.
We hope to see you again soon, Lauren.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (733)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

691 - 695 of 733 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

We have eaten here many times now and keep going back as we have never been disappointed. The food is really excellent with a great choice to suit everyone. The Specials are a great addition to the regular menu and we often select them. The friendly staff and owners really make this a special place for a night out. Phil & Lauren have created a very friendly atmosphere and all the staff cannot do enough to make your night out special. If you need a bit of help around the wine list then ask them as they are very experienced and will find a good match to your particular tastes. We have been introduced to a number of wines that we would not have selected and they have been great - even bought a case from them to take home!
They also have Real Ales and a guest beer too.

Would highly recommend, have fun, great food & drink.
Chris & Tracey

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren456, Owner at The Fox at Peasemore, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

Thank you so much for your lovely comments. We are thrilled that you enjoy your visits and we aim to keep impressing you in the future. We have a new menu, just out on Wednesday which will hopefully tempt you back again soon. Lauren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2013

After so many recommendations we had to try it. We managed to talk our way into a late table as they were very busy, however service did not suffer.
After a warm welcome, we chose the sharing platter which was a great way to try many of the dishes on offer. It was so tasty, if rather generous in size. Thankfully I chose a lighter main of Lemon sole which was delicious and beautifully presented. My husband had the steak which he said was perfectly cooked.

We really could not manage pudding but they looked good as they passed our table!
Really appreciated the fresh bread that arrives after you order, not many places offer this now, the seeded one was to good.

We will go back again and have signed up to their loyalty club.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Denise E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren456, Owner at The Fox at Peasemore, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

We are really pleased that you enjoyed your visit and intend to come again. Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review. Lauren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 1, 2013

Tucked away in the wilderness, for saturday lunch, it was heaving.

My wifes selection of salads was nice, but rather boring. My escalope was a substantial piece of good veal. Very large, thicker than normal, covered in breadcrumbs and then smothered in capers. To be fair, it tasted nice, but not really what one would find in Italy, Austria or |Hungary. Another "bonus" was the selection of boiled vegetables that was not promised on the menu for this dish.

Somehow I was discouraged to order a dessert.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank bpest080
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren456, Manager at The Fox at Peasemore, responded to this reviewResponded September 20, 2013

I am pleased that you enjoyed your Veal and have passed on your comments about the salad selection (although we are not serving the summer salads any more as we have just introduced our Autumn menu). I personally am never tempted by a salad when dining out unless it is served between two thick slices of fresh bread!
.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

I have eaten many times in the Sun in the Wood and was always left satisfied, so I thought this would be as good. The price for the food did not represent the quality. The starter, pate and brioche !!! There was a sliver of pate and the smallest pieces of brioche ever £5.25; there was more bread given when we sat down and ordered drinks. The gammon egg and chips, small amount of gammon and a few chips in a cup (8 in fact) for £9.95 !!! In total, a lot of money for not a lot. The menus were pieces of paper that had food finger marks on it. The table was being cleaned in close proximity to us eating and there was no other people waiting. This may have been an off day. In summary, the price was expensive for what we all had. The service was good.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Taffrodo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lauren456, Owner at The Fox at Peasemore, responded to this reviewResponded September 2, 2013

This is odd, as we don't have GAMMON on the menu!
Also, the pate is such a large serving that many regulars share it as a starter. We also don't serve bread with drinks but wait until food is ordered.
I am concerned that you may have gone to the wrong Fox but am sorry that you did not enjoy your experience. Lauren

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Fox at Peasemore also viewed

Newbury, Berkshire
 

Been to The Fox at Peasemore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing