We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and nice atmosphere”
Review of Greenroom - CLOSED

Greenroom
Cuisines: Bar, Mediterranean, European
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Seating
berkshire
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good food and nice atmosphere”
Reviewed April 6, 2013

Myself and a friend came for dinner on a Friday evening. I had heard about the restaurant and was excited about the menu as it all sounded yummy.
We both had the lamb kebab for starter, which both looked and tasted good. For the main course, I had the Thai green chicken curry and my friend had the Caribbean sausage. Both tasted really good and there was plenty on the plates.
Really nice atmosphere and the staff were friendly and welcoming.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank katzBerkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    12
    6
    3
    0
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“good times”
Reviewed April 3, 2013 via mobile

Came with my family and had a very good time. The butternut squash and parmesan soup was lovely and my mother had the ribs, which was great. I couldn't decide what wine to have but they let us try it before buying! Lovely friendly atmosphere but the music was a bit loud. But they did turn it down when we asked. Will come back for drinks with friends as the bar area was lovely.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank javey4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury
Level Contributor
92 reviews
73 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Average!”
Reviewed March 30, 2013 via mobile

It's a real shame because what Newbury desperately needs is some decent restaurants. I suppose it could best be described as unimaginative. There was nothing wrong with it but it doesn't pass the so what test. I had a rack of ribs to start - no finger bowl and luke warm. My wife had smoked salmon and there was no dressing and it was just bland. Nit even to be offered black pepper or lemon is just poor. For the main course I had tuna steak which was very nice - but again luke warm. My wife had thai curry and I don't ever remember her adding salt to food but she said that was the only way it had any flavour. It cost about £40 for the food and for that price it was disappointing. I had to pour my own wine - including the first glass and I was not invited to try the wine. I hope they sort this out because we badly need something like this in Newbury.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank sjonesgb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
“Very relaxed and welcoming”
Reviewed March 29, 2013

Have been meaning to visit for quite a while, and was pleasantly surprised to find that it was so nice. You can just pop in for just a drink or have one of their top quality snacks or a meal if you fancy. A very relaxing atmosphere and flexible and attentive staff. Will recommend to everybody.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank mark_ilott
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
1 review
“A wonderful evening from beginning to end!”
Reviewed March 27, 2013

A few friends popped in for drinks and were so tempted by the variety on the menu, we decided to stay and eat too! Staff were really welcoming and helpful, friendly and relaxed atmosphere. The food came in good time although I thought they were busy, no complaints at all! The are still lots of other meals I desire to try from their menu. There was even a disco which apparently isn't a weekly thing but we were grateful as it meant we could stay for the whole night without the need to go anywhere else.
A memorable night and would definitely go back again.

  • Visited March 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kerry1234_2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greenroom also viewed

 
Newbury, Berkshire
Newbury, Berkshire
 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing