We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Bookclub visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Watermill Theatre

The Watermill Theatre
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
31 reviews
6 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Bookclub visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

Very good buffet lunch. The chat with the author was a little disappointing but overall an enjoyable outing

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Linda J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

231 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    185
    33
    7
    6
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“nice looking theatre”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2014

nice location, which offers many different choices of acts and theatre groups. Plenty of parking and well sign posted from the main road.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank PJW56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Sense and Sensibility”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

I saw this show the weekend it opened and not only was it funny, moving and very well acted but the theatre itself was lovely. The grounds are beautiful and the waterwheel is pretty cool. It's a lovely place to spend and evening and the small size of the theatre makes it a very intimate space.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank dreximgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newburgh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Wonderful evening of theatre - Sense and Sensibility”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2014

We visited the Watermill on our 30th wedding anniversary, Monday 7th April. Before our visit we made telephone contact to book and were helped by a lovely lady on reception who went out of her way to accommodate us. She found us in the bar at the interval and really made us feel like we were welcome and valued visitors.

The performance.

An absolutely fantastic rendition of this classic by a cast who clearly new their craft. What struck us both was the attention paid most specifically to the non-verbal communication elements of the play. Elinor in particular was masterful in her deft physical touch and retouch when interacting with those already close to her and those who were the desire of her heart. The final scene actually made this 50 year old ex cop cry, such was its delicate and understated demonstration of intimacy.

Thank you all for a truly memorable 30th year anniversary!

Our very best wishes

Mark and Linda Lawes

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Marcose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
117 reviews
59 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 60 helpful votes
“ALWAYS A TREAT”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2014

The Watermill at Newbury is one of those enchanting "finds" which leaves you feeling privileged to have been there. Most productions we have been to have been excellent, as have the "workshops".

The restaurant is in a lovely setting normally serving good food - although we have experienced some disappointments. I have learned that you must say at the time if there is a problem - as only then can they learn by their mistakes, or take on board diners' views. I did contact them after the event a while ago, but as they rightly said, this should have been brought to their attention at the time. The once inedible veggies are now fine and the undercooked rice has not happened since.

I always look forward to visiting The Watermill and can certainly give Sense and Sensibility a huge "thumbs up". If you read this whilst it is still running, get to see it. It was an excellent production, very cleverly and intricately acted out. It was a tad long, so ensure you are not tired on the evening - or try a matinee! Enjoy!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Piglet56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Watermill Theatre also viewed

 

Been to The Watermill Theatre? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing