We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly staff, attention to detail lacking.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Newbury
Certificate of Excellence
Milton Keynes, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
137 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
“Friendly staff, attention to detail lacking.”
Reviewed July 24, 2013 via mobile

We needed a B&B as we were spending the day at the races and the evening at a party, we found this through hotels.com and it looked perfect for what we needed.

We arrived early on check in day to be told, very politely, that our room wasn't ready but it wouldn't be a problem to get checked in when we returned after the party. We were then ordered a cab which arrived promptly and we then enjoyed the day.

We arrived back at about 10pm and got checked in. First impressions of the room were good; clean and spacious. We then got into bed and it was very firm to say the least. Not a huge problem for us but may be for others.

The following morning we both had a shower. The shower head was broken, falling back on itself and spraying against the wall leaving me to hold the head. My boyfriend then got in and the pressure gradually dropped until no water came out at all - clearly everyone else was showering at the same time.

We then headed down to breakfast, a brief résumé of this is; very firm and rubbery poached eggs that had sat under a light for too long, the sausages were greasy and one had a clump of fat/lard on it. We gave up on the cooked breakfast and had tea and toast instead.

What made all of this slightly more frustrating was that the service from the staff was brilliant. Friendly, chatty, bubbly...just let down by the small things.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Vix8323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hareandhounds, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Vix 8323

Firstly, thank you for highlighting the staff and service being so good.

Whilst operating at the lower price bands for our area, we really do believe in giving good vaklue for money and an enjoyable environment to relax in.

We were hit earlier in the week by a Thames Water cut off without prior notice and this seemed to effect the pressure. That said we have replaced the shower fixings and all is now working fine. I can only apologise profusely that this effected you so much.

The shortcomings on breakfast are way below that which we expect and we have all discussed this and the need to ensure that this great British start to the day is provided to a high standard. We obviously failed in this with yourselves and again, apologies.

If you are returning to the area, please contact me and I shall ensure that we upgrade tou to one of our new cottage rooms at no extra cost.

Sincerely

Jonathan
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

615 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    311
    202
    64
    24
    14
See reviews for
139
234
20
85
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (125)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Middlesbrough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed here 13th July for 1 night whilst visiting family. The check-in was quick and efficient and the staff were all friendly and helpful.

We had 3 rooms (1 in the main building and 2 in the stables block). They were all comfortable and clean, with good size bathrooms. There were a few creaky boards in around my room but it is an old buiding and to me it just added to the character of the place.

We didn't dine at the hotel that night but when we returned we had a couple of drinks and sat in the garden which although near to the main road was relatively peaceful and just what we needed on a warm night.

The breakfast was well cooked and presented with good quality ingredients and the staff were always on hand for extra tea/coffee etc.

Overall we had a very good stay at a very good hotel and when in the area will not hesitate to use the Hare and Hounds again.

Room Tip: music from the bar can be heard in rooms above them (I was in room 8) but it stops at a reasonable t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank col909_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hareandhounds, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Col909

Many thanks for you kind comments!

Our breakfasts are something we are very proud of and we source ingredients fresh and local.

We hope to see you again

Thanks

Jonathan, Jean and all at The Hare
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belfast, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed July 22, 2013

Stayed for one night (20th July) as a base for a friend's birthday bash at Newbury Races. We loved our stay and our time in lovely Newbury (the town centre is about 25 mins walk from the Inn). Worthy of special mention is how helpful and accommodating Claire was.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Missedmyturnoffagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hareandhounds, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Dear Missed my turmoff

Thank you for taking the time to leave such kind comments. Claire was particularly pleased to see her name in lights!

Hope to see you again

Jonathan
Owner
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
83 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
Reviewed July 10, 2013

we stayed a night in an attic room - comfy, clean and spacious enough, with roof beams adding a touch of character. surprising quiet too. dinner was very busy, but the staff coped well enough - good food (very good for 3 of the 4 of us) and reasonably efficient. the place quietened down late evening, and we had the garden to ourselves which was nice. breakfast next morning was ok (though tea could have been hotter and sausage was colourless, like it had never been near a grill / frying pan - it was warm enough, but we didn't dare eat it). overall, a pleasant stay.
the girl who checked us in at reception, was also serving in the dining room and behind the bar and at breakfast - what a trooper, and cheerful throughout!

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank PaulCharles
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hareandhounds, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear Paul Charles
Indeed our coach rooms do have character, so much so that I deliberately feature one of them on our website's main slideshow!
I'm glad you enjoyed your stay and we have already spoken and taken action on the points where we erred.
Claire is indeed a trouper and, with Rob our Chef, has successfully made our restaurant very popular both locally and with our guests.
We hope to see you again
Jonathan, Jean and all at the Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Level Contributor
245 reviews
56 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 153 helpful votes
Reviewed July 9, 2013

We stayed in a 'Bow' room which, in terms of comfort, seemed nestled between the 'stables' (currently being worked on) and the 'Craven' rooms (I poked my nose in and they are a touch more motel like and roomy but less characterful.

We enjoyed three nights at the 'Hare and Hounds' in two rooms in the 'Bow' building, with my wife's elderly mother. Keeping in mind it is an historic pub with separate accommodation in three buildings, and seemingly in order of comfort (not necessarily character) goes up from 'Stables' to 'Bow' and the most roomy 'Craven'. That said, I didn't see inside the 'Stables' which is currently getting some attention.
We ate at the hotel restaurant all breakfasts and nights for convenience. Food was typical English fare. Service from the young staff was excellent.
We drove to various towns and villages around the district. Lots to see and do. Alas 'Downton Abbey' had not quite reopened :(

Room Tip: 'Craven' most roomy, 'Bow' characterful, 'Stables' receiving a makeover I be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WyseOwls
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hareandhounds, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear WyseOwls
I'm particularly pleased that your wife's mother enjoyed her stay!
We have started the initial work on the stable rooms and will finish their revamp this summer. This is in response to past comments and also as part of our ongoing "Forth Bridge" maintenance plan. These old buildings have their quirks but we are all proud to have put our inn back on the map for accommodation and particularly our restaurant & pub.
Have a good trip home and may the best team win!
Jonathan & Jean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
23 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2013

I booked to stay here on a Friday night with my partner as we were out with family for the evening and didn't fancy the trip home after a long night. I must point out that I hunted for a hotel for the night to try and find somewhere within our budget this place was £49 B&B whereas others in the area were at least £65+ I was not expecting much for the low cost but was really pleased with our stay. Our room was on the top floor and the ceiling was sloped but this did not bother us at all. The room was spotlessly clean and nicely decorated. Other reviews mention about creaky floor boards and in our room this was the case but what do people expect in an old building?
Breakfast was good and service was also good. The staff seemed very friendly and welcoming.
I think people need to check that they are booking a budget hotel and for the cost we paid I would say its very good value for money.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank forensic2be
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hareandhounds, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Dear forensic2be

Thank you for your review which I found so refreshing!
We never claim to be anything other than that which we are, a modern coaching inn, loosely translating to a historic pub with rooms.
We all work very hard to then deliver a friendly and welcoming approach which we can but hope make our whole package both enjoyable and good value.
Thank you again
Jonathan and all at The Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charlotte, North Carolina
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 30, 2013

Our trip to London wouldn't be complete without a trip to the country and a stay at a quaint Inn. We had a goal - visit Highclere Castle since we are Downton Abbey fans. That meant we needed to research for an Inn at a nearby town. We settled on the Hare and Hounds after reading reviews/looking at photos, and were glad we did. The staff were so helpful with trip plans and helping us with any questions we had. This place is best described as charmingly odd, in an old-fashioned way. If you think all Inns are updated to absolute perfection to compete with brand new hotels/inns, then you'll be disappointed, but that is what makes staying in England so great. If you get a room on the top floor "attic", then expect a narrow stairway that curves around to the top level, with a few of the steps not of full size because they create the curve. Come on, that was the standard when these Inns were built a long time ago. If you have any disability or issues climbing stairs, then ask for a lower level room and they will meet your needs because they will go out of their way to make your stay pleasant. The room was clean and comfortable and eventhough the roofline was slanted, I was surprised at how much room we had. Floors creaked a little but that added to the charm. With dining, be it breakfast or dinner, you need to allow adequate time and expect to take your time enjoying your dining experience. In America, we are so used to fast, mass-produced food, we forget that part of the beauty of traveling abroad is a laid-back lifestyle while on "holiday." This quaint Inn has a wonderful dinner - we got the special that included a toffee pudding which I am still dreaming about and should have asked for the recipe. The breakfast will stay with you all morning as it is a lot of food, cooked to order, with fresh ingredients. I can only imagine the kitchen must be equally quaint and tiny, and can only hold 1-2 staff while producing such wonderful food. So put aside your needs for that American quick meal and instead slow down and enjoy your stay at the Hare and Hound. By doing so, you'll be able to soak in a great England experience, watching the locals pop in for a pint and some good conversation. We'll be back.

Room Tip: Ask for a lower level room if you are not comfortable climbing narrow stairs or have a disability.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kristen F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hareandhounds, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, July 2, 2013
Dear Kristen

We were all pleased to read your kind comments. Indeed with the phenomenum that i Downton we have welcomed a record number of overseas guests this year.

To know that our Inn reflects a modern approach to Innkeeping but retains the very charm that has seen it successful for over 250 years, means we are achiving our goal of being a modern coaching Inn without forsaking our heritage.

Some may prefer modern chain hotels, but we at The Hare and Hounds are proud to be small part of this historic Inn's history. Long may the art of Innkeeping continue!

Yours
Jonathan, Jean and all at The Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newbury hotels
0.5 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
0.9 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
1,701 reviews
3.6 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Regency Park Hotel
Regency Park Hotel
#5 of 17 in Newbury
742 reviews
3.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Newbury North
1.2 mi away
Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hare and Hounds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hare and Hounds Hotel

Property: Hare and Hounds Hotel
Address: Bath Road | Speen, Newbury RG14 1QY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Newbury
#4 Business Hotel in Newbury
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hare and Hounds Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All you would expect from a modern Coaching Inn; don't take our word for it, read our reviews. We're rightfully proud of our Inn and particularly so of our greatest asset our staff! New for 2015 Our new restaurant THE BARN is now open!See the photos , it's stunning! Well appointed, modern bedrooms with free wireless internet; highly popular restaurant; friendly locals Pub & dining bar; Extensive free parking. Located 3 miles from M4 jct 13, and 1 mile from A34, ideally situated for business or leisure. We are just a mile from the town centre and 3 miles from the famous Newbury racecourse, and are in close proximity to all major businesses. Privately owned by the Nelsey family since 2005 this 17th Century Inn has recently been refurbished to reflect both it's heritage and the needs of both local and travelling guests. The stable and cottage style bedrooms are arranged around parking for 60+ cars, with the coach rooms being in the main inn (the stairs are a wee bit steep). Come inside to experience the warmth and style of our bar and restaurant. Relax, while you enjoy a choice of 3 real ales, beers, quality wines, excellent food, and all in the comfort of our refurbished Bar and Restaurant. The Inn keeps growing from strength to strength, thanks mainly to the friendly staff and management. But don't just take our word for it, come stay with us and find out for yourselves. We look forward to welcoming you Jonathan & Jean Nelsey and all the staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets and HRS so you can book your Hare and Hounds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hare And Hounds Newbury
Hare And Hounds Hotel Newbury, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing