We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One night stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Ranked #2 of 17 Hotels in Newbury
Certificate of Excellence
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“One night stay”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 15, 2012

We were recommended this hotel as it was close to our wedding reception - we booked in advance as was told very popular when races are on at Newbury.
I advised them where we were going in advance and if they could provide taxi numbers which they did which was great.
Got to our cottage - room was very nice and good size bathroom, water pressure in shower wasnt great but at least it was warm water. Bed was very comfortable however when we arrived the room was extremely hot, since we were heading out for the night we turned the radiator down hoping that would reduce the heat, unfortunately it didnt - we ended up not sleeping in the bed covers as the room was like an oven.
during the night, middle of morning the doors were rattling, the bedroom door and the external door which then woke me up, and where we were located, we had the car park outside - though it was morning, it was early for us (we had an alarm booked for 8am) and all we could hear was people talking out by their cars so for me a restless night sleep.
The breakfast was very good and the staff were excellent, unfortunately we were placed at a table for breakfast where it was so tight, i couldnt place my legs under the table cause of the table legs, so it was very uncomfortable - being tall i expect to have some difficulties, but can normally sit with my legs under the table rather than sitting out to the side.
It was a good location and if we ever needed to come again we would use this hotel, and we would recommend to friends.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hareandhounds, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear JoB

Firstly, I am pleased that you would return to the hotel and that you enjoyed our food.

I hope that the reason for your wish to return is partly that you rightly trust that when problems are highlighted to us as private owners, we will rectify them immediately. Following your comments all the rooms are having the door draught seals replaced and we have replaced the thermostatic valve in your room. hopefully this will ensure future guests have a peaceful nights sleep!

Many thanks

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

590 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    297
    197
    61
    23
    12
See reviews for
134
225
19
82
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (119)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Verwood, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 12, 2012

I stayed for two Monday evenings. Meals are great. Breakfast - great. Service is great. Beds are great. Sleep was great both nights. Showers: yes, pretty good. Comfortable? Definitely. There's a big mixed clientele. It works (and the staff work - they're...well, you've got the adjective by now). Downsides? The first room had a slightly fusty smell in the bathroom.
So I'd go back. Like a shot. Recommend it. It's a comfortable, pleasant place to be, and they've clearly given a lot of thought to what they do and how they do it. I was in two very different states of health when I arrived - and I was equally pleased with both experiences, though what I ate, and what I wanted, were very different.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank stevshep
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hareandhounds, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, November 2, 2012
Dear StevShep

Thank you so much for your review.

We do look to take every care with our guests and service and it is great that our food exceeded your expectations Our style of service is indeed quite deliberatley relaxed in keeping with our aim to be a modern Coaching Inn. We private owners must keep the true traditions alive whilst adapting them to the modern day!!

I have, as you would expect, taken on board your comment re the bathroom and replaced the fan.
We look forward to welcoming you back in the future and sincere thanks again from

All at The Hare

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbia, Missouri
Level Contributor
357 reviews
124 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 240 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 26, 2012

This is a property with an old brick houses surrounded by simple brick cottages. It is situated on a fairly busy road, so there is street noise. The walls and doors are fairly thin and you can hear neighbors a little too well. However, the place has lots of charm and is clearly owned and patronized by the locals. Lots of character.

The prices are average for the type of the property and the area. Certainly no London-like price shock. The rooms are very simple, but functional. Bedding is good. My room had space to work and spread out a little. I love the English tradition of always having a tea pot with tea and biscuits on hand. Very civilized. The bathrooms are English - which means separate hot and cold faucets and quirky toilet flushing scheme. My room had no bath, but had shower. Alas, it was the flexihand shower with water saving head. You can JUST get clean, but not much more than that. If I owned a hotel: item 1 - good bedding, item 2 - good shower. But I digress....

Wifi Internet is free and very strong. And there is no login - plug and play. I loved it. (3 - Free Internet).... The breakfast was full english. I like it. Restaurant was a wonderful example of a classic English pub with all of the dishes you would expect. It is very popular in the area and gets filled up fast. Great place. The service is efficient, friendly, and full of English charm. If you have business in Newbury or traveling nearby this is a very good choice.

Room Tip: Request a cottage furthest from the street to reduce the noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank onepoet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hareandhounds, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Dear One Poet

Many thanks for taking the time to write such a full review. We are pleased you enjoyed your stay and the character of our Inn.

I believe you would have been in one of our standard rooms and take on board all you say. We are about to install power showers in these rooms by the end of November latest. Whilst the rooms are smaller than the cottage ones, we hope that as you rightfully say, this will tick the missing box. Comfy bed, good shower, Free WiFi, quality fresh food and professional friendly service.

As ever we work to constantly improve The Hare and continue to invest in her, and are thankful for your balance and fairness

We hope to welcome you back

Kindest

Jonathan & Jean
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
High Wycombe
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2012

Just spent two nights at the Hare and Hounds. It was my daughter's 5th birthday (anonymity waived) and I ordered a cake from the hotel in advance. One of the staff baked it themselves and it was spectacular. From the moment we arrived we were made welcome. Previous reviews mention the staff here and rightly so. A throwback to personal service with a smile, missing from so many hotels these days, was exemplified by every member of staff we met. The food was consistently good in terms of quality and value. This type of well run independent inn is exactly the sort that we need to continue to support in this country as part of our heritage. Well done to all at the Hare and Hounds. Keep up the good work.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrick R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hareandhounds, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, October 9, 2012
Hi Patrick

You have a very lovely daughter and it truly was our pleasure to look after you all.

We independents do have work hard in the present climate and it is good for all of us here to know when we get it right.

We hope to see you all, particularly "L" again!!

Sincere thanks again

Jonathan
Proprietor and provider of gold mint coins!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
25 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2012

Small bedroom, tiny bathroom, feeble shower. Do not take your cat!
Breakfast was very disappointing with deep fried sausages and cubed scrambled egg, you know the type, from the microwave.
Staff helpful but overall over priced and average.

Room Tip: Choose another hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Pgb16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riojaman1, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, September 19, 2012
Dear PG Brook 16

Your review was difficult to receive for all of us here, Jean and myslef as owners and the fine folk that work for us, as we care deeply about our customer being happy. Our previous reviews may reassure us that the hard work everyone here puts in is appreciated: However we understand your disappointment and know it is important, where possible, that we listen, learn and take action to correct things when we fall below our normal standard.

We may not have the style of more modern buildings and this can sometimes be frustrating, but we always hope that the standard of service we achieve through our staff, and the charm of our Inn, balances this.

Sincerely

Jonathan Nelsey
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level Contributor
64 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 11, 2012

My wife and I decided to spend a long weekend in the Newbury area prior to visiting Highclere Castle and opted for The Hare and Hounds due to previous reviews, cost and location. I arrived late Friday afternoon and had lunch in the pub - served by a guy called Glen (more later). Our room was clean and tidy but should have been aired a little more as (see other reviews) as smelled a little musty. Bit annoying was the constant sound of the water tank in the loft filling up everytime anyone used any water in the rooms in the block. Perhaps more insuilation needed? We had evening drinks in the bar (served by Glen), evening meal (served by Glen). Very nice `grill night` meal, tasty and served quickly. On Saturday morning there was a huge `blip` with breakfast (served by G ... guess you'll have picked up on this trend) very late as we were told suppliers had not delivered - waited nearly an hour, other diners longer. When the food arrived (by stressed out staff) it looked like it had been dropped on the plate! After a day/eve out on Saturday returned to The Hare for nightcap (Glen). Breakfast on Sunday was faultless and everything seemed to be back in order. Would definately recommend trying this pub / hotel, ideally situated, easy to find and full of traditional charm. The lady we met a few times (didn't catch name), presumably the manager, was very friendly and chatty but the Hare's real find is Glen - who seemed to work from before 7:00 a.m. to passed midnight, always with a smile and always willing to stop and chat. Hope he's getting well rewarded for the excellent customer service he provides and great PR job he does for this establishment.

Room Tip: Ask for one adjacent to the car park - must be quieter!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rovingbrits
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hareandhounds, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, September 18, 2012
Dear Roving Brits

Thank you for taking the time to post your review, we have taken action to solve the musty problem.

Glen..... It will come as no surprise he was our employee of the month in August for which he was indeed duly rewarded. In fairness he was not working all day, but he is the sort who would if we let him! He was covering extra shifts owing to holidays, but as you so rightfully point out he did so with his usual calmness and immovable smile.

Whilst we may not always get things right, we will never stop trying!

Many thanks again

Jonathan, Jean and Glen
PS there is a copy of your review in the stillroom which Glen has proudly moved to pride of place!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
71 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2012

If motel style accommodation could be classified as quaint then this is it. Very handily placed near the busy A34 and easy to find.
The reception satff were fine if not over welcoming and the pub, a typical pub.
Rooms were adequate, not bad value for the area but a little on the musty side.
Breakfast was also ok although the waiting staff were a little stretched and one poor lad, obviously new, led us to a table that was already taken [ a little embarrasing] but these things happen.
If you are visiting Newbury then this is fine for a odd nights stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank margatekid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riojaman1, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, September 13, 2012
Dear MargateKid

Thank you for your review

Its a shame you did not perhaps have chance to experience us fully, the young man has just started and we will ensure he gets up to our normal standards soonest. Rest assured that we take your comments seriously.

Sincerely

Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newbury hotels
0.9 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,628 reviews
0.5 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
3.6 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Regency Park Hotel
Regency Park Hotel
#5 of 17 in Newbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 724 reviews
1.2 mi away
Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
3.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Newbury North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hare and Hounds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hare and Hounds Hotel

Property: Hare and Hounds Hotel
Address: Bath Road | Speen, Newbury RG14 1QY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Newbury
#4 Family Hotel in Newbury
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hare and Hounds Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All you would expect from a modern Coaching Inn; don't take our word for it, read our reviews. We're rightfully proud of our Inn and particularly so of our greatest asset our staff! New for 2015 Our new restaurant THE BARN is now open!See the photos , it's stunning! Well appointed, modern bedrooms with free wireless internet; highly popular restaurant; friendly locals Pub & dining bar; Extensive free parking. Located 3 miles from M4 jct 13, and 1 mile from A34, ideally situated for business or leisure. We are just a mile from the town centre and 3 miles from the famous Newbury racecourse, and are in close proximity to all major businesses. Privately owned by the Nelsey family since 2005 this 17th Century Inn has recently been refurbished to reflect both it's heritage and the needs of both local and travelling guests. The stable and cottage style bedrooms are arranged around parking for 60+ cars, with the coach rooms being in the main inn (the stairs are a wee bit steep). Come inside to experience the warmth and style of our bar and restaurant. Relax, while you enjoy a choice of 3 real ales, beers, quality wines, excellent food, and all in the comfort of our refurbished Bar and Restaurant. The Inn keeps growing from strength to strength, thanks mainly to the friendly staff and management. But don't just take our word for it, come stay with us and find out for yourselves. We look forward to welcoming you Jonathan & Jean Nelsey and all the staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Travelocity, Priceline and Orbitz so you can book your Hare and Hounds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hare And Hounds Newbury
Hare And Hounds Hotel Newbury, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing