We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
New! Find and book your ideal hotel on TripAdvisor — and get the lowest prices

“Lovely food, excellent value, friendly staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hare and Hounds Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Newbury
Certificate of Excellence
Newbury
Level Contributor
33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lovely food, excellent value, friendly staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2012

This is a restaurant review. We went to The Hare for Sunday lunch on 22nd January and, as usual, the welcome was warm, the staff friendly and the food excellent. My husband and I chose the market roast of the day, which was pork, tender and melting. My stepdaughter and her boyfriend opted for the Good Old Boy steak pie and the famous fish pie respectively. Both were delicious, so much so that they happily swapped meals half way through so that they could sample both! In spite of a party of ten due in at any moment, the staff remained unflappable and attentive without being overly obtrusive, which is just the way it should be. The Hare is consistently good, supplying excellent food at a reasonable price - we really enjoyed our lunch and can unreservedly recommend the restaurant.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kateob1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

513 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    264
    172
    51
    18
    8
See reviews for
113
199
19
72
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (106)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Freemans Bay, Auckland
Level Contributor
30 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2012

We stayed at the Hare & Hounds Hotel over Christmas 2011 whilst visiting my partner's family who live locally.
From start to finish, the staff and management treated us like royalty. Nothing was too much trouble and the atmosphere is warm and fun with the staff full of smiles and banter (exactly what you expect from an old English inn but don't always get!). The pub itself has an excellent range of beverages and a fantastic menu which did not disappoint. Our room was spacious, clean and very relaxing to be in. Comfy bed, great bathroom and excellent tea/coffee/biscuit supplies which were regularly topped up! The room is nicely furnished and there was plenty of space for our copious luggage. Heaps of free parking and the Hare of Hounds is a pleasant 15 minute walk from Newbury township and only a 10 minute walk to the local supermarket.
We will definitely be staying here again and have been passing on our positive feedback to local friends. Thank you so much to Jonathan, Mel and the team!

Room Tip: We stayed in a room in the building at the back of the pub but feel that all rooms would be of equal...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Suzannah72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong, China
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2011

Lovely old pub - great atmosphere and comfortable. Staff were very welcoming and even did us some chips despite the kitchen being closed - we'd got stuck in traffic on the way. Rooms a good size and I slept very well. Bathrooms snug and water pressure isn't good but then the pub is 250 years old!! It's excellent value for money and breakfast was fresh and lots of it. Would definitely stay again - much nicer than the other places we've stayed at in Newbury. Is perfectly placed for the racecourse as well - recommended.

Room Tip: The rooms outside are like having your private place - great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank vickichicki
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
riojaman1, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, February 23, 2012
Hi
Sincere thanks for taking the time to leave your lovely comments. Glad the chips went down well and we look forward to welcoming you back!
Jonathan, Jean and all at The Hare & Hounds
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 27, 2011

I did a review on here based on the first stay myself and my family did in December 2006. I grew in Cardiff but live in Los Angeles now. My brother and mother still live in Cardiff and so I come over every year or so. I stay at the H&H because I can't do the drive from Heathrow to Cardiff after a transatlantic trip without falling asleep.

My last stay at H&H was at the end of September, 2011. Must have been my fifth stay and I am sure the owner has no idea who I am or how much I love his B&B.

In short, this place was great once more. Comfy bed, quiet, an apology for sticking me in a small room (the stable) because they were busy. But how much room does one need ? Dinner was great. I had the curry. Then the owner came and gave me the desert menu. he had a weird look on his face when I said no desert, "..... but I'll have another of what I just ate because it was so good.".

Breakfast was also fantastic. Tasty, not slathered in grease, lots of tea.

I'll make every effort to stay in this place. Next time, I'm bringing my wife and daughter and we'll explore the local area for a night or two.

Room Tip: Book well ahead of time because they fill up fast.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gimills
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
the wirral
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2011

our weekend in newbury got off to a good start first impresion of the inn was a lovely cozy place with freindly staff , unfortunatly old inn old water system , no water to our shower . Problem solved with in half an hour moved to another room , lovely. These things happen. We can only give claire and her staff ten out of ten for the way they looked after us , people should always take into acount the age of some of these hotels , b n bs , inns and just how much they are paying for a nights bed and breakfast, Hare and hound newbury . Good place , good staff , good food , happy days

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank akpaving
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hareandhounds, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
Many thanks, Our dear Olde Inn is over 250 years old, but in the main copes well in competition with the big chains, and particularly so on the service and food side.
Most of her little wobbles are quickly solved and I personally am very proud of how Our Inn and Our hard working Staff keep the heritage of the Hare and Hounds with pride
Thank you once again
Jonathan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swansea, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2011

Please excuse my rather late review as my stay was the weekend of sept 10th 2011.I booked a room for myself and my daughter as we were attending a friends wedding nearby. A lot of the wedding party were also staying here and a table had been booked and meals ordered well in advance to make the hotels life easier on the evening of our stay. When I checked in I was dissapointed by the shabby small room in the main building we had been allocated (room 6 I belive), but after a 9 hour coach journey was pleased to arrive and looking forward to dinner as both myself and my daughter were famished. We were told we would be eating at 8-8.15pm. It was 10pm before any food arrived! My 9 year old daughter was very tired hungry and upset by this point but all the staff could say was it was really busy and they were trying! When the food did arrive it was very average (we both had steak) and it was so late my daughter barely touched it. When we went upstairs to bed it became clear we were in totally the wrong room as it overlooked the garden, which was full of people drinking and enjoying themselves (you have to question why they would put a child in this room) so we got very little sleep and woke up feeling terrible. It was not a good experince and we would not return or recomend it too anyone with children.

Room Tip: Ask not to be put in the main building if you have children
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank jenny j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hareandhounds, Owner at Hare and Hounds Hotel, responded to this review, November 4, 2011
It is a shame when things get distorted, I have twice left messages in order to discuss this complaint but had no reply!
Unfortunately "the devil" here is in the lack of detail;
I have erred in replying out of respect to the Brides mother, and The Bride and Groom, who were fully understanding when the second sitting booked for 8pm went from 12 to 28 people on a night when we were fully booked already.
I would like to again thank the family and particularly the Bridegroom who was incredibly helpful in accepting my suggestion that the best course and fairest to other booked diners, was to delay the group till 9.15. All the party were duly served by 9.30 and I really felt we had done our utmost in dealing with a difficult situation.
The noisy garden was the very wedding guests our reviewer was with, who despite the delay were indeed enjoying themselves and left at 11pm, The room is on the first floor and I do not understand the comment reference children. We have many families to stay who enjoy our service and the care we instil in our staff to take care of them. I also feel that to describe the room as shabby is in the least unfair.
I am sincerely upset and sorry whenever we fail to please any guest, but do feel that we as a hotel and I as a caring owner, we have been denied the understanding here that the family showed on the evening.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dorset, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2011

Stayed for a weekend and would thoroughly recommend it. The room was clean and tidy, it had a great big comfy bed and spare pillows which is unusual in budget hotels... TV was new, and decor was obviously fairly recently updated so all in all a bit of a bargain!

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HappyCamperBucks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newbury hotels
1.0 mi away
The Vineyard At Stockcross
0.5 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
3.7 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
Donnington Valley
Donnington Valley
#4 of 15 in Newbury
4.0 of 5 stars 784 reviews
3.2 mi away
Regency Park Hotel
Regency Park Hotel
#5 of 15 in Newbury
4.0 of 5 stars 626 reviews
3.2 mi away
Hilton Newbury North
Hilton Newbury North
#13 of 15 in Newbury
3.5 of 5 stars 945 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hare and Hounds Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hare and Hounds Hotel

Property: Hare and Hounds Hotel
Address: Bath Road | Speen, Newbury RG14 1QY, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Newbury
#4 Business Hotel in Newbury
#5 Romantic Hotel in Newbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hare and Hounds Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 30
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
All you would expect from a modern Coaching Inn; don't take our word for it, read our reviews. We're rightfully proud of our Inn and particularly so of our greatest asset our staff! New for 2015 Our new restaurant THE BARN is now open!See the photos , it's stunning! Well appointed, modern bedrooms with free wireless internet; highly popular restaurant; friendly locals Pub & dining bar; Extensive free parking. Located 3 miles from M4 jct 13, and 1 mile from A34, ideally situated for business or leisure. We are just a mile from the town centre and 3 miles from the famous Newbury racecourse, and are in close proximity to all major businesses. Privately owned by the Nelsey family since 2005 this 17th Century Inn has recently been refurbished to reflect both it's heritage and the needs of both local and travelling guests. The stable and cottage style bedrooms are arranged around parking for 60+ cars, with the coach rooms being in the main inn (the stairs are a wee bit steep). Come inside to experience the warmth and style of our bar and restaurant. Relax, while you enjoy a choice of 3 real ales, beers, quality wines, excellent food, and all in the comfort of our refurbished Bar and Restaurant. The Inn keeps growing from strength to strength, thanks mainly to the friendly staff and management. But don't just take our word for it, come stay with us and find out for yourselves. We look forward to welcoming you Jonathan & Jean Nelsey and all the staff. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, Travelocity and Priceline so you can book your Hare and Hounds Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hare And Hounds Newbury
Hare And Hounds Hotel Newbury, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing