We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Ranked #3 of 17 Hotels in Newbury
Reviewed February 4, 2013

Very clean hotel. Extremely pleasant staff on reception, in the bar and in the restaurant. Did not use the spa. The bedroom was very spacious, lots of hanging space and shelves and drawers, and the bathroom had a bath with shower as well as a separate shower cubicle. The bed was extremely comfortable.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank EleanorJane50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DVH-HM, Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear Deborah057, thank you so much for a glowing review. The staff at Donnington Valley really appriciate knowing they have made somebody's stay as comfortable as yours. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Best wishes
Lizzie Ward
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,324)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

999 - 1,005 of 1,324 reviews

Reviewed February 2, 2013

Room spacious and clean with a big bathroom complete with bath and separate shower. A fantastically comfortable bed. Difficult to get TV to work and it has been placed so you cannot watch it from the bed. (Possibly not a problem for others) I could not get any radio channels. Surely this is not too much to ask?Room service was just fine , served by charming staff, and on one of mornings of my stay, a young waiter gracefully sorted out my own mistake with the breakfast order. Wonderful. I do though like to have a magnifying mirror in the bathroom. Easy enough for an hotel to put in. Also, I had two lights, one a standard and the desk light that did not work! Housekeeping should check this. Would have been nice if when I called to reception from my room, someone answered. I had to use my mobile to call the hotel!!

Room Tip: Ask for first floor or above facing the golf course. Some bedrooms are ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Josh049
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DVH-HM, Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear Josh049, thank you for taking the time to review our lovely hotel. You have highlighted some really good points that we shall address. Thank you for your positive review of our rooms and helpful staff members. We look forward to welcoming you back soon to Donnington Valley
Best wishes,
Lizzie Ward
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

The hotel and surroundings look lovely - we only went for a light lunch - but service in the bar was poor and the food terrible. The food was nicely presented, but was luke warm and over-cooked and expensive. Hard to recommend it.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Service
Thank CCt22_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DVH-HM, Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2013

Dear CCt22_13, thank you for your feedback on our bar. We take feedback such as this seriously so we can learn and improve from it. I would also like to thank you for noticing the presentation of our lovely hotel and grounds. I hope you will try us again in the future.
Many thanks,
Lizzie Ward
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 7, 2013

I booked this Hotel to Celebrate my daughters 30th Birthday and had some surprises to unfold. We were met by Sally and nothing was too much trouble . Over the weekend .my party received the best service anyone could ask for all food taken was very good and the bar service was also good, this hotel is a little gem . The company I was with all travel a lot and the feedback I get is excellent we shall certainly return .

Thank you all x janet cole

Stayed: January 2013
1  Thank EWM123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DVH-HM, Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear EWM123,
Thank you for this lovely review and it really was a pleasure to be able to welcome you personally and just as lovely to be able to say goodbye, especially with the weekend being as full of suprises as it was! Please do contact me directly if you are looking at returning or even if you are looking for a venue for the upcoming celebrations!
Best wishes,
Sally Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 15, 2012

We came for a work party, which was excellent. Great food and service all evening.
However the room, breakfast and service for the rest of our stay was remarkably average (we have stayed numerous times before).

Tv didn't work at all to start with, after some fiddling it did turn on, only to be black and white picture.
The fire door outside was akin to a screaming child each time it was opened.
Cold water for a shower, it was hot 1.5hrs later, but that didn't help!
Breakfast service started at 7, but no one was serving hot breakfast until 30mins after we sat down.

We spoke to reception a couple of times by phone, and once again on check out. The response was an ambivalent apology, nothing more or less.

A real shame, as all of these problems are so easily solved!

  • Stayed: December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AntBS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DVH-HM, Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded January 17, 2013

Dear AntBS
Thank you for taking the time to write some lovely comments relating to your recent Christmas Party here at Donnington, I am pleased it was a successful night. Your feedback over breakfast and your room issues have all been duly noted and passed to the relevant members of the team to be addressed. Thank you for highlighting them to us.
We look forward to welcoming you back to Donnington Valley in the future.
Best Wishes
Sally Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 7, 2012

well where do i start arrived sat morning about 10.00 your room is ready for you sir what a great start rooms were big good view out on the golf course
spar nice pool good sauna and steam room and a good gym
1 little thing kid playing ball in the pool

food we had afternoon tea evening meal and breakfast all for 150 quid

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank jimbo o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DVH-HM, Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Dear jimbo o,
Thank you you for your review following your recent stay. It is always a pleasure to learn that guests have enjoyed their stay and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Best wishes,
Sally Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2012

good parking and clean and tidy. my partner was cold in the night and there was no spare bedding in the cupboards.we were not allowed to check in until 2.30pm and then were told no late check out as another group had already asked for it so they could not do us too. not asked if we had enjoyed our stay when we did check out. was in a wedding group - restaurant did not have time to provide a table for us all despite the groom requesting it. breakfast average. on plus side, lunch was delicious, and the spa facilities excellent

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank trekkerKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DVH-HM, Manager at Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa, responded to this reviewResponded December 10, 2012

Dear trekkerKent,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay and glad you enjoyed our wonderful spa. Slightly dissappointed to hear about the niggles you encountered, just to clarify that our hotel check in time is from 3pm and check out is at 11am, we do try when ever possible to accomodate requests for early check ins or late check outs but it is sometimes not possible to accommodate everybody.

Again, thank you for your review and I hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back again.

Kind regards,
Sally Russell

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newbury hotels
1.8 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
1,851 reviews
0.7 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
4.3 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
652 reviews
2.6 mi away
Regency Park Hotel
Regency Park Hotel
#6 of 17 in Newbury
808 reviews
2.0 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Newbury North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa

Address: Oxford Road - Donnington | Berkshire, Newbury RG14 3AG, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Family Hotel in Newbury
#2 Luxury Hotel in Newbury
#2 Romantic Hotel in Newbury
#3 Business Hotel in Newbury
Price Range: $128 - $289 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa 4*
Number of rooms: 110
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Surrounded by glorious hills and stunning parkland, Donnington Valley Hotel and Spa is a natural blend of charm and elegance with uncompromising quality and countryside views. Home to 111 bedrooms, Donnington Valley is a privately owned 4-star country hotel in the heart of Berkshire with a state of the art spa and 18 hole golf course. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Otel, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Agoda, Travelocity, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and Hotwire so you can book your Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donnington Valley Newbury
Donnington Valley Hotel Newbury
Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa Newbury, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing