We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A great evening out!”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of chenz

chenz
Ranked #62 of 187 Restaurants in Newbury
Cuisines: Chinese, Asian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
“A great evening out!”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

Visited with friends recently on a weekend. All had the buffet option which was good value for money and my vegetarian requests were happily accommodated. All the staff were very friendly.

I'd recommend not eating any breakfast or lunch before you visit as you'll be stuffed from all the generous portions served. Almost too much food offered!

Would definitely recommend a visit.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ruffysbro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

102 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    26
    13
    13
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Reading
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Not quite as good as it used to be, but still tasty”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

I've been to Chenz many times over the past few years and have always had great service. On this last visit, the staff were still helpful and pleasant but the food didn't seem quite as nice as usual.

Chenz is about five minutes walk from the station and is in a good location for pubs and bars. The decor is getting on in years now but the place still looks attractive. We went around 6pm on a Saturday evening and didn't book, but since there were only two us we were able to get a table (it was a race day in Newbury so the town was busier than usual). We chose dishes from the all-you-can-eat menu and the food was decent enough, though the portions were small.

I'd stil recommend Chenz for a good meal with friends or family. It's probably not so suited for special occasions.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank fizzygood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hull
Level Contributor
61 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
“All you can eat.”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

Great quality/value. £15 each on a Sat night, they brought a selection of starters (none inc nuts as i'm allergic)then duck and pancakes, then you could pick as many mains as you wanted. Great. Very attentive waiters too.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank D1273
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Very tasty...”
Reviewed September 16, 2012

Great restaurant to visit whoever and however many of you are there dining. The staff are always very friendly, well presented and very attentive. The restaurant is clean, well presented and the food always comes out at a good pace, hot and is always very tasty. Visited on numerous occasions now.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Bettybrowneyes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
151 reviews
106 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Don't waste your time or money”
Reviewed September 15, 2012

Where do you find a decent Chinese - Not here! We have tried eating in and taking out food from Chenz but neither meal was very good, despite quite a hefty price tag. We wanted a good meal with lots of different tastes but honestly it all seemed to taste the same despite the meat all being different?!?!? Newbury is crying out for a decent Chinese restaurant, If Chenz could fix their kitchen they could be the answer.

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank BR0wNTr0UT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed chenz also viewed

Newbury, Berkshire
Newbury, Berkshire
 
Newbury, Berkshire
Newbury, Berkshire
 

Been to chenz? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing