We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Decent price and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of The Diamond Tap

The Diamond Tap
Ranked #106 of 187 Restaurants in Newbury
Cuisines: Bar, British, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Bar scene, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Late Night, Brunch, Breakfast, Lunch, Drinks, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Also available on Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/pages/The-Diamond-Tap-Newbury/115036458547369
London
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Decent price and food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2012

Decent pricing as its a Weatherspoons. Food was served on time and well cooked. Dcent range of beers and nice "horsey" atmosphere if you are into that sort of thing.

Visited July 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Russell F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

115 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    19
    43
    24
    13
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“customer servive”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 7, 2012

Myself and my husband had chosen a table at the rear of the pub because it was quiet and away from the bar. Unknown to us, because we are not from the area and it was our first time in there, it was opposite a large storage cupboard where they keep tables, boards and point of sale posters. No sooner had our meal arrived they had this cupboard propped open with several members of staff dragging stuff out getting the pub ready for the night time activities. baring in mind, this was still only 6pm. Also they kept opening the fire exit behind us that led out to the bin area. No one made us aware what they were about to do so we had chance to move or apologised to us and offered to help us move. We,d just spent £30 on a meal and wine between us but we were treated like we weren,t there. In the end we had to move ourselves on to another table half way through the meal. Still no apology. It,s a shame their customer service let them down because the meal itself was good.

  • Visited July 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank pauli0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
372 reviews
255 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 201 helpful votes
“Anyone seen Jeremy Kyle?”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

Having accidentally set foot in this place you quickly realise you do not belong here unless you have just recently either recieved benefit payment or cash payment for work whilst on benefits. This place is cheap, nasty with typical brake bros food from Wetherspoons which suits some but not me!

  • Visited June 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Biriyaniboy B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thatcham
Level Contributor
41 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Not a pleasant experience”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 15, 2012

Visited a few times for lunch as well as drinks in the evening. Walk in and the staff stare at you as if you're disturbing them, they are about as attentive as all their policies and systems force them to be but don't expect a smile. Food wasn't good, it was a warmed up mexican burger and didn't taste great. At night the service is even worse, bar staff are verging on rude. The place does have some redeeming features; prices are good, during the day the place is clean and the choice of drinks is pretty extensive which is good.

  • Visited May 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Diamos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
59 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“lTerrible”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2012

Went out with work for a drink, what a terrible place, staff look like they coundn,t care and as for the beer ,it was either going off or they need to clean their lines out. Won,t be going back in a huury

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Wingnut19192005
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Diamond Tap also viewed

Newbury, Berkshire
Newbury, Berkshire
 
Newbury, Berkshire
Newbury, Berkshire
 

Been to The Diamond Tap? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing