We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Donnington Valley - Great!”

Donnington Valley Spa
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Surrounded by glorious hills and stunning parkland, Donnington Valley Hotel and Spa is a natural blend of charm and elegance with uncompromising quality and countryside views. Home to 111 bedrooms, Donnington Valley is a privately owned 4-star country hotel in the heart of Berkshire with a state of the art spa and 18 hole golf course.
Stratford Upon Avon
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“Donnington Valley - Great!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Just returned after overnight stay and would recommend to anyone. We arrived very early and although we couldn't book in till 3.00pm, we managed to pass the time in the lovely Spa. Once we got to our room, it was spotless and extremely comfortable. The bathroom was glorious - a separate bath and shower! In the evening we enjoyed a really first class meal in the dining room and afterwards had a few drinks by the wonderful fire in the bar. Breakfast next morning was a very busy but still very enjoyable. Absolutely well worth the deal we had.
Only negative comment, if you can call it that, is why do people insist on hogging the loungers by the pool? Half were empty most of the time but had towels/books etc strategically placed so nobody else could use - maybe management could work on this.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Catherine M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

303 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    104
    52
    17
    12
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
kent
Level Contributor
90 reviews
16 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“hotel nothing special, spa v enjoyable”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 19, 2012

good parking and clean and tidy. my partner was cold in the night and there was no spare bedding in the cupboards.we were not allowed to check in until 2.30pm and then were told no late check out as another group had already asked for it so they could not do us too. not asked if we had enjoyed our stay when we did check out. was in a wedding group - restaurant did not have time to provide a table for us all despite the groom requesting it. breakfast average. on plus side, lunch was delicious, and the spa facilities excellent

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank trekkerKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Berkshire
Level Contributor
58 reviews
5 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Pleasantly surprised! Great value.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

We were looking for a couple of days away at a Spa hotel and saw an offer at the Donnington for special evening meal deal in their wine press restaurant. Reviews appeared good.
First impression was very good. I arrived on crutches and was spotted immediately and bags taken. Check in, though busy was efficient and quick. We were booked into a 3rd floor room but offered a change to assist me. Good customer service. I declined and was very pleased with our well appointed room.
We went to the Bacchus bar from pre dinner drinks and were pleasantly surprised by the atmosphere and attentiveness of the staff. We then enjoyed a very nice meal in the wine press restaurant. This was part of the deal, including a 3 course meal and personal service from the sommelier who chose a wine for each course. A nice touch and thoroughly impressed by his suggestions particularly the dessert wine - we even bought a bottle to take home!
Food was excellent. My only minor criticism was that the courses arrived and were cleared a bit too enthusiastically.
Breakfast was in the same restaurant. Fairly standard buffet but off a high standard.
We also made use of the spa which was very good, though a little busy first off but it was half term. My wife enjoyed a treatment and was very impressed with the staff and quality of treatment.
Overall I was impressed with the value for money when we arrived. We had looked at similar hotels but costing considerably more for the same product. We were pleased we chose the Donnington and would certainly consider a return visit.

Helpful?
1 Thank Captain587
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“good service, great value”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 25, 2012

Nice bar area, good food, well presented, friendly staff, very clean and tidy, spacious, well decorated. Good parking outside. Good access to road networks, yet quiet inside the building.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Amanda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
51 reviews
27 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Great place to party - great service”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

Fantastic place, really pretty. Had our Christmas Party there - first class. Staff were very friendly

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank Cheree O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Donnington Valley Spa also viewed

 

Been to Donnington Valley Spa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing