We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Awesome experience -Felt at Home” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chequers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Chequers Hotel
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Newbury
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome experience -Felt at Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2014

Best place to stay at newbury. Excellent location and at affordable price for all.shopping centre are nearby and staff are warm and helpful. Isabel And JO will always bring a smile to your face. Loved my stay at the hotel. Felt like i was at home

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank samuelbangera1809
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

299 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    34
    95
    85
    48
    37
See reviews for
29
92
25
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (80)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
133 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 28, 2014

Stayed here for 2 nights whilst on business in the area.
Historical building in the centre of town, great location. Ample parking.
Pleasant double room with bath on the 1st floor, if a little faded around the edges. Facing the rear so no noticeable road noise, slept well.
Good selection at self service breakfast, although did have to ask for butter as only margarine was out.
Didn't eat in the hotel or use the bar so cannot comment of these.
All in all a very comfortable and enjoyable stay, it is what it is, if you want perfect and new try a Travel Lodge or Holiday Inn.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank DerbyshireRedcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Swindon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 21, 2014

Stay here on a last minute booked, not the best looking from the outside but once you get through the doors its just gorgeous. Our room was huge even with a sofa, which was totally unexpected. Nice deco or very friendly staff. Nice clean and tidy and nice warm roos in the winter months. Will be sure to stay here again very soon and regulaly.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 20, 2014

I really can't fault this hotel, and staff were pleasant and helpful, provided a fine level of service for a mid-price hotel, very much 'does what it says on the tin.'
My room was more than adequate and felt more comfortable/cosy than a typical travel lodge style room and I was not disturbed by any noise.
I was there for a function and evening meal during which I found the three course meal to be very well done, more than satisfactory.
Breakfast was not as good as the dinner being a smattering of traditional English breakfast items kept warm until required, continental was also an option.
Overall I enjoyed my stay of one night and would certainly recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rhandolph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S.Wales
Level Contributor
43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Stayed here on business for about 2 months upto Christmas. Very clean, pleasant rooms and a great location in town. The breakfast was very good with a nice full english. I didnt eat in the hotel in the evening but the Bistro was very nice and the menu looked great. Value for money as well. The rooms were typically coach house styled with some very nice suites in the main building. The large rooms in the court yard were also very good but a bit noisey with very creaky floor boards. I would highly recommend this hotel to both business and pleasure travellers as its value for money and centrally located. I will be staying here again.

Room Tip: Ask for one of the suites
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lee B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

I stayed here in August while traveling for work which was a 5 minute walk away. The room was cheap so I expected it to be small, which It was and also clean. I had enough space for myself but would need a different room if staying with more than 1 person.

Breakfast was alright, nothing special.

The ladies at the front desk were not very helpful and slightly rude and the hotel itself is in serious need of an update. That being said, it was an ok experience however my future travels I will be staying elsewhere.

Room Tip: There are no elevators so if you have problems walking up stairs go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MittenStateMan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Weymouth, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
57 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2013

We booked in this hotel on the Hennessey Gold Cup weekend for 3 nights as 3 couples, we were given outside rooms all next door to each other which seemed a rather nice gesture at that point.
On entering our room it seemed nice but as we unpacked and walked round the room we noticed stains on the carpet and the kettle still full of water which really are silly basic housekeeping jobs that have been overlooked .
Never the less we were happy with the room until the morning after our first night where we were woken by constant walking around above us people arguing and swearing in the early hours, we reported this to reception, the morning met with much difficulty for my husband and myself as the shower would not turn on after trying everyway to, we reported this to reception too. The second night played out exactly the same as the first night in every aspect and hubby had to use our friends shower despite ours being so called fixed and it wasn't .
We complained and all of our party was moved into the decent rooms inside which was the least they could do so we could salvage the rest of our weekend.
On check out the hotel tried to charge 2 bar bills to us that were not ours also which was also a minor annoyance.
Hardly any staff are British or speak very good English either.
Next year we are booking elsewhere.
Sadly not a lot at The Chequers to rave about .

Room Tip: Don't accept an outside rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Katrina T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newbury hotels

Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newbury hotels
0.9 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#1 of 16 in Newbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 579 reviews
2.4 mi away
Regency Park Hotel
Regency Park Hotel
#3 of 16 in Newbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 716 reviews
1.1 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Newbury North
0.9 mi away
Good Night Inns Berkshire Arms Hotel
4.5 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chequers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chequers Hotel

Property: Chequers Hotel
Address: The Chequers 6-8 Oxford Street, Newbury RG14 1JB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 16 Hotels in Newbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chequers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eighteenth- century Coaching Inn located on London-Bath Road, 1/2 mile from Newbury train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia and Priceline so you can book your Chequers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chequers Hotel Newbury, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing