We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had our Wedding there”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Chequers Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Chequers Hotel
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Newbury
Reading, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Had our Wedding there”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 26, 2012

Had our wedding there at the end of September. The facilities provided were really good and the staff were very helpful. The Wedding Breakfast was good; plenty of food provided. Guests who stayed in the hotel were pleased with their rooms. Whilst some rooms are in need of attention this does not detract from the feel of the hotel and the quality of the nights sleep.

We would recommend to anyone to have their wedding reception here.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Lucy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molly H, General Manager at Chequers Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear Lucy F

I want to thank you for taking the time to fill out the guest comment card after your recent stay with us. We value all guest feedback, both positive and negative, as it is only with input from our guests that we are able to improve the service offered and move the business forward.

I am pleased to see that you were happy with your stay and I hope it was very much enjoyed, thank you for your comments which I shall endeavour to pass these along to the staff.

We very much hope to be able to welcome you back again soon however if in the mean time I can be of further assistance please don’t hesitate to contact me directly.

Kind Regards

Molly Hunt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

309 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    36
    96
    89
    48
    40
See reviews for
32
93
26
113
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (82)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bedford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2012

I stayed at the Chequers for a shopping weekend and found it had everything we needed. Our twin room was spacious and well equipped. Breakfast was freshly cooked and the £10 menu on the Friday evening was great value for very nice food. Staff very friendly. Issue with shower very quickly resolved. Ample car parking even though there was a wedding on the Saturday. Excellent location for Newbury town centre. On the second night we ate at a fab Nepalese restaurant a few doors away which I would also highly recommend. The Chequers is being refurbished and they have done a lovely job of the downstairs areas and restaurant. Yes, there is painting to be done still and our room was a little old fashioned but they are getting there and in the meantime offer great value for money. We will be back!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Julesprice73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molly H, General Manager at Chequers Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear Julesprice73

I want to thank you for taking the time to fill out the guest comment card after your recent stay with us. We value all guest feedback, both positive and negative, as it is only with input from our guests that we are able to improve the service offered and move the business forward.

I am pleased to see that you were happy with your stay and I hope it was very much enjoyed, thank you for your comments which I shall endeavour to pass these along to the staff.

We very much hope to be able to welcome you back again soon however if in the mean time I can be of further assistance please don’t hesitate to contact me directly.

Kind Regards

Molly Hunt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
justpassingok
Level Contributor
14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 18, 2012

This is the 2nd year we have visited this hotel. Last year we had to complain that our room was frankly awful. The lock did not work so anybody could walk in our room. The heating would not turn off, the carpet was so stained it looked dreadfull. But last year we was assued they were having a major refurbishment.

So we stayed again last weekend. Okay before I leave review on the room, I have to say the Christmas Party we attended at the hotel both last year and this year was perfect. The food, the entertainment, the waiting staff, the table setting, everything was just brilliant. So I have no doubt that I will attend another party here!

However, The room was AWFUL! I have attached pics as I do not want to be seen as leaving negative reviews without evidence.

The room had a real damp fusty smell, stained ceiling, black nets, paint splashes everywhere, dirty bathroom. We asked to move but was told they were full due to the Christmas Party they were holding that night. I asked to see the duty manager, who eventually (after she complained about the situation back to me!) offered us another room in the carpark.

At first glance we accepted it as it seemed better than the 1st, but once she had left, we found the heating would not turn off (the radiator was on full, in a small room, and the tap had been removed) The wardrobe was so damp the walls had started to crumble. The ceiling was peeling as were the walls (please see photos). My husband kindly fixed their heating issue (why couldnt they have done this?)

I will not stay at this hotel again and neither would I reccomend staying unless the hotel had been refurbished. Sorry, but we did give it a 2nd chance!

Room Tip: Some rooms have been refurbished. ASK FOR ONE!
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank justpassingok
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Newbury hotels

Huddersfield, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

My initial impression of the hotel was disappointing. The Lobby and stairs smelt very strongly of damp, which I guess is due to the age of the hotel. My room was right up on the top floor and at the end of a very long and narrow corridoor, not particularly safe for a single female in my opinion. The car park is also badly lit and I could only get a space quite a way from the back door of the hotel. No offer from reception of help with my bags to the room. On the positive side, the staff were friendly and efficient, the food was excellent and very reasonably priced, as were the drinks. The hotel needs a decent refurb - my room was "tired" to say the least and frankly needed a good clean.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MrsSilverF0x
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Molly H, General Manager at Chequers Hotel, responded to this review, March 9, 2013
Dear Mrssilverfox

I want to thank you for taking the time to fill out the guest comment card after your recent stay with us. We value all guest feedback, both positive and negative, as it is only with input from our guests that we are able to improve the service offered and move the business forward.

I am pleased to see that you were happy with your stay and I hope it was very much enjoyed, thank you for your comments which I shall endeavour to pass these along to the staff.

We very much hope to be able to welcome you back again soon however if in the mean time I can be of further assistance please don’t hesitate to contact me directly.

Kind Regards

Molly Hunt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hertshealth
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 21, 2012

I first stayed here 32 years ago and dined here 45 years ago when it was THE hotel in Newbury. Since then we have both shown signs of the passing years with the difference being that the update for the hotel has started to cover up the ageing process.
The staff here are now really welcoming and very friendly and make up for any creaking shown by the rooms. The chef for the evening meal really delivered with a quality selection which surpassed the three star rating currently awarded.

Our room was adequate and comfortable but would disappoint those wanting a modern five star experience. But this hotel at the moment is not seeking those heady heights, it is what it is, which is a very welcoming middle of the road hotel with a brilliant position in the centre of Newbury.

Visit here and enjoy the ambience of a hotel which is starting to show why it was once the premier place to stay in the area.

Room Tip: Rooms in the main building are recommended
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cricket22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChequersNewbury, Front Office Manager at Chequers Hotel, responded to this review, November 30, 2012
Dear Cricket22,

I want to thank you for taking the time to leave a review after your recent stay with us. We value all guest feedback, both positive and negative, as it is only with input from our guests that we are able to improve the service offered and move the business forward.

Thank you for your lovely comments which I shall endeavour to pass along to the staff. We pride ourselves on customer service and I am glad you found the staff friendly and welcoming, I am sure they will be really pleased to hear this. We are also very proud of our Bistro and I am glad you got a chance to try the fare on offer which really is a treat!

We very much hope to be able to welcome you back again soon however if in the mean time I can be of further assistance please don't hesitate to contact me directly.


Kind Regards



Imogen Frazer
Events, Reservations & Reception Manager
6 - 8 Oxford Street Newbury Berkshire RG14 1JB
Tel (01635) 38000 events@chequershotelnewbury.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed overnight for a family occasion. Lovely dining room and super breakfast. Our room was spacious and had all the usual amenities. Appreciate that this hotel is very old which shows slightly in the rooms and the upstairs vicinity (ie creaky floors) - but our beds were very comfortable. All in all a very enjoyable stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Helpful?
Thank Hilary O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChequersNewbury, Front Office Manager at Chequers Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Hilary O,

I want to thank you for taking the time to leave a review after your recent stay with us. We value all guest feedback, both positive and negative, as it is only with input from our guests that we are able to improve the service offered and move the business forward.

I am pleased to see that you were happy with your stay and I hope it was very much enjoyed, thank you for your comments which I shall endeavour to pass along to the staff.

We very much hope to be able to welcome you back again soon however if in the mean time I can be of further assistance please don't hesitate to contact me directly.


Kind Regards



Imogen Frazer
Events, Reservations & Reception Manager
6 - 8 Oxford Street Newbury Berkshire RG14 1JB
Tel (01635) 38000 events@chequershotelnewbury.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxfordshire UK
Level Contributor
16 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 12, 2012

I had stayed here a couple of years ago and had a noisy room in the court yard and received average service. I returned at the weekend (as it is convienient for Newbury town centre) and was pleasantly surprised. I requested a room in the main building this time. My request was handled well and the room and the bed were comfortable and the service at breakfast so much improved. Although in the room and the corridors there is some damage to wall paper in places other parts of the hotel had been redecorated. Much improved.

Room Tip: Request a room in the main building.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AngelaOxfordshireUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ChequersNewbury, Front Office Manager at Chequers Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear AngelaOxfordshireUK,

I want to thank you for taking the time to leave a review after your recent stay with us. We value all guest feedback, both positive and negative, as it is only with input from our guests that we are able to improve the service offered and move the business forward.

I am pleased to read you have noticed the improvements that we have been making, as you may have seen from the ground floor we are refurbishing the hotel and currently the bedrooms are now being redecorated and kited out with new furnishings but as we are a 24/7 operation this must be done in stages and around the business needs but it is an on going project so all of the hotel will get the same treatment.

We very much hope to be able to welcome you back again soon however if in the mean time I can be of further assistance please don't hesitate to contact me directly.

Kind Regards



Imogen Frazer
Events, Reservations & Reception Manager
6 - 8 Oxford Street Newbury Berkshire RG14 1JB
Tel (01635) 38000 events@chequershotelnewbury.co.uk
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newbury hotels
0.9 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
1.1 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
2.4 mi away
Regency Park Hotel
Regency Park Hotel
#5 of 17 in Newbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Good Night Inns Berkshire Arms Hotel
3.2 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Newbury North
1.2 mi away
Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Chequers Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chequers Hotel

Property: Chequers Hotel
Address: The Chequers 6-8 Oxford Street, Newbury RG14 1JB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #13 of 17 Hotels in Newbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chequers Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 56
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Eighteenth- century Coaching Inn located on London-Bath Road, 1/2 mile from Newbury train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Chequers Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chequers Hotel Newbury, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing