We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Review of Mercure,Elcot Park”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
Ranked #6 of 17 Hotels in Newbury
Arundel, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Review of Mercure,Elcot Park”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 5, 2012

Excellently situated hotel,very good value,very good facilities,although we thought the hot-tub was hot enough!
Breakfast on the first morning was a shambles,but all the faults(no fruit,no juice and cold room and food)were rectified by the following morning. Dinner excellent,and very good value.
Would recommend this hotel,and would certainly stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TerryandJane956
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, General Manager at Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 7, 2012
Dear Terry and Jane,
Thank you for your kind comments and we are pleased you found your stay enjoyable and good value. I will pass your comments onto the staff and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Merry Christmas from all at Elcot Park
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

762 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    291
    202
    141
    74
    54
See reviews for
133
314
11
149
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Southend-on-Sea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 30, 2012

Stayed for two nights and thoroughly enjoyed our stay. From a personal point of view the location was perfect away from anywhere with beautifull grounds .the staff were happy and very attentive.
The food was excellent and couldn't fault a thing. thank you to everyone at The Elcot Park.
Greg & Christine callaghan from Southend

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Christine C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, General Manager at Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel, responded to this review, December 2, 2012
Dear Greg and Christine,
Thank you for taking the time to post great positive comments and that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay. I will make sure the staff see your comments and we look forward to welcoming you back in the future. Merry Christmas from all at Elcot Park.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Somerton UK
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 25, 2012

I use this hotel for both business pleasure. It is a little off the beaten track,but all the better for it.
within 1/2 mile of the main A4 between Newbury and Hungerford, The rooms are larger than average and are well equipped, clean and quiet. Breakfast is a very good selection of hot
and cold buffet. Special orders have never been a problem. All staff are very friendly and nothing
is too much trouble. A large log fire is very welcoming in the winter months.
We had our wedding reception here in 1964, so I have known it for longer than most guests.
It would benefit from having wifi in the rooms instead of only in the public areas, but all in all a
very satisfactory place to relax and be looked after.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dennis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, General Manager at Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 27, 2012
Dear Dennis,
Thank you for your positive comments and we are really pleased you enjoy staying here,you must be our longest returning guest. We do have cabled internet in the rooms and will be getting a full WIFI upgrade by the begining of next year. I look forward to catching up when you next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 24, 2012

The was quite a way from anywhere,but once we got there, surprisingly we love it straight away,pure countryside. It was an old mansion converted hotel with some of the features left. first impression was tastfully done and comfortable. considered we only went on a special deal, our room has a good view of the hugh garden n ground with pheasants around. The restaurant was good enough to have a cosy dinner which was nicely served and double up for breakfast the next day. We were served immediately on both occations. We didn't use the health facilites but the building was big with lots to offer.
We had a very relaxing 2 days there, I would certainly go back again, may be when the weather gets warmer.

Room Tip: ask for a downstair room if u have difficulty walking far as ther are steps.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Eva N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, General Manager at Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Eva,
So glad you enjoyed your weekend break and evrthing was enjoyable and relaxing. We look forward to welcoming you back when the weather gets warmer or maybe when it is snowing-looks great in the snow.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kintbury, England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 23, 2012

We had our wedding here on the 10th November. The hotel and grounds are beautiful and really well kept. Peter the wedding planner was very attentive and ensured everything went smoothly.
We had 90 guests but the food was served promptly and was lovely.
It was a lovely day in a lovely location.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Catherine B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, General Manager at Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Catherine,
Thank you for your positive comments about Elcot Park. We are glad your wedding went with out a hitch and that the food was good.I will make sure Peter gets your comments and we look forward to welcomingh you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Romford, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 22, 2012

The rooms was very clean and the service was great. We found the staff very friendly,The older part of the hotel has a lovely feel with plenty of seating areas and an old fashion charm. Well kept grounds. Great breakfast!! would definately stay again

Room Tip: loved room 37 dual aspect windows a little dated but we loved the charm.. the older part of the buil...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dee l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, General Manager at Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Dee 1,
Thank you very much for your posiotive comments. We are glad you found the rooms very clean,the service great and you had a good breakfast to start the day.Hopefully we will see you back here in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
St. Albans, United Kingdom
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 18, 2012

30+ members of our extended family celebrated various milestone birthdays and anniversaries which have fallen in 2012 at the Elcot Park last weekend. We found the Elcot Park to be the perfect venue for us. The staff were at all times very friendly and helpful and the accommodation and food very good. The hotel is set in lovely grounds in a very convenient central location for such a gathering. We would not hestitate to recommend the hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alan L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Angus M, Manager at Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel, responded to this review, November 25, 2012
Dear Alan L,
Thnak you for your positive comments and we are very pleased you found the staff friendly and helpful and the food and accomodation very good. We look forward to welcoming you back .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newbury hotels
3.8 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
3.6 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 589 reviews
2.7 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,618 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.8 mi away
Regency Park Hotel
Regency Park Hotel
#5 of 17 in Newbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 722 reviews
4.3 mi away
Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
5.5 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Newbury North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel

Property: Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
Address: Elcot, Newbury RG20 8NJ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Newbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 73
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Impressive Country Mansion with modern extensions set in 16 landscaped acres. The Brasserie Restaurant has been awarded an AA Rosette for Culinary Excellence. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, ACCOR, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ramada Elcot Park
Ramada Newbury
Newbury Ramada
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing