We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good Thai food”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Studio Thai

Studio Thai
Ranked #105 of 187 Restaurants in Newbury
Cuisines: Asian, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Description: newbury berkshire
Rayleigh, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
62 reviews
24 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Good Thai food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2013

We visited this restaurant whilst passing through Newbury, it has more of a bistro look to it than a Thai restaurant but the food was excellent, we had the deep fried vegetable to start and red curry as a main course. The only thing I could fault it for was the length of time it took to get our meals, we arrived just after they opened at 6pm and it took nearly an hour to get our meals could understand this if they were packed but there were only four people in there including us.

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jilloutlaw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

87 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    25
    34
    11
    7
    10
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Newbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Enjoyable Thai food”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 12, 2013 via mobile

Our first time here. The menu was pretty good a range of set meals as well as the al a carte. We went for the latter as we didnt want a massive amount. Food arrived pretty swiftly, mixed starter was fine, the usual array of prawns and crab cakes. Main course was very authentic tasting Pad Thai and a really stonking green curry. We cleared the lot! Decor is not very Thai at all which lets it down, it could be so much more. Worth a visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank Elinrose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
46 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Good tasty thai”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013 via mobile

Good thai food, nice and spicy but not quite the heat of thai food in Thailand. Nice location and building. Curries have the fresh thai taste that makes them seem authentic. I would say it is more expensive than it should be, but that doesn't stop us going back every now and again. They do nice cocktails!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Alex_HMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newbury
Level Contributor
73 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Best Thai in Newbury!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

The food in here is always really good. I've had a few different dishes and never had a bad one. The staff will always let me customise, they will make anything veggie or swap meat for fish. Their lunchtime menu is a bargain too. My colleagues and I often treat ourselves to Thai Friday here. They know us now and are always super friendly. I've eaten at another Thai in Newbury which is very fancy inside with great staff but the food is not as good. Love this place! Only tiny tiny negative is it can be too cold inside. But that's they way this building is and was when it was the Gin palace.

Visited February 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lellewel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hungerford, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“In edible”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2013

Just ordered a take away from here. The starter was extremely average. The main course was a greyish green colour for Thai green curry and so hot it was in edible, my boyfriend likes hot food and even he didn't like it. This was the second time we have ordered a take away from here and the first time we entered the food was ok and the restaurant was full of people - good sign! This time on a Saturdag night the restaurant was empty and food horrendous. What a waste of money. We have just chucked away two full plates of food. We won't be ordering from here again!!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Superfoodcat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Studio Thai also viewed

 
Newbury, Berkshire
Newbury, Berkshire
 
Newbury, Berkshire
Newbury, Berkshire
 

Been to Studio Thai? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing