We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Perfect stop I hour from Heathrow”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Pilgrims Guest House
Ranked #4 of 26 Newbury B&B and Inns
Boston,Ma.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Perfect stop I hour from Heathrow”
Reviewed November 11, 2011

I found this b&b by looking on a map of England and guessing how far it was from Heathrow. We arrived from Boston late, hired a car and made an easy drive on the M4 motorway out of London.
The guesthouse is lovely, the owner made special arrangements for our late arrival, the room was quiet, comfortable and we had a restful sleep. The breakfast was amazing, a true British experience.....eggs, bacon, tomatoes, toast, coffee, juice. It is an elegant building, set back from a main road. A wonderful
break on our way to Wales, much less expensive and stressful than staying in London.

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Judith E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    33
    15
    1
    0
    2
See reviews for
14
10
3
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2011

I've been in Newbury to visit some friends and I've booked a room at the Pilgrims because it's was near the town centre. It was lovely, the room was clean and spacious and the breakfast was good.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gretelle_00
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sibford Gower, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
79 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
Reviewed July 3, 2011

Once again we had a team of 8 cycling this time from south Oxfordshire to Bath along the Thames and Kennet and Avon canal towpaths. Pilgrims is ideally located just to the north of Newbury town centre. Our bikes were locked in a secure area and our rooms were faultless. I had a single under the eves and slept very well. Breakfast was well cooked and served with a smile. Very friendly, very helpful and good value

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank MichaelPDrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tiverton, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 24, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Pilgrims for one night. The Guest house was only a couple of miles from our friends whom we were visiting, so ideal for our purpose. The accommodation wasn’t flashy but everything was clean and to a good standard. Most importantly the bed was very comfortable and we both slept well. The breakfast the next morning was very nice and the service was friendly.
For the money we paid we were very happy and would definitely visit again

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ColinTheHead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed March 8, 2011

I had a single room for two trips.

-Courteous staff
-Good breakfast spread, as I would expect for a B&B
-Good breakfast options
-About 30 min walk from Newbury Station
-Shared bathroom always clean and stocked up
-Communal dining room AMAZING microwave, cutlery, plates and spoons with no charge. Really good, meant I could go to the supermarket and knock up my own food.
-Free Wi-Fi
-Walls of rooms a bit thin so could her soft noises

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Oppenheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hampshire, England
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed July 25, 2010

As a group of three friends looking for a triple room, we've stayed at some dives previously with camp beds squeezed into double rooms. However, this guest house was by far the best with three proper beds (one double, two singles) in a family room. The room (14) was very large and the en-suite bathroom clean and bright.

The service was excellent and staff very friendly and helpful. One of our party was allergic to feather pillows so replacement synthetic ones were quickly found.

We stayed two nights and the room was serviced and towels changed before our second night (not my usual experience of guest houses)

The guest house is located in a quiet suburban area on a moderately busy road but traffic noise wasn't a problem. It has a large car park. It is about a 15 minute flat walk from the very pleasant Newbury Town Centre.

Full English breakfast was good (average size/well cooked). Cereal choice/quality good, but lacking in fresh fruit/croissants (but it is a guest house not a hotel!)

If you are looking for value for money and especially a triple/family room Pilgrims is recommended.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FarnboroughPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newbury hotels
0.6 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 598 reviews
0.6 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
2.6 mi away
Regency Park Hotel
Regency Park Hotel
#5 of 17 in Newbury
4.0 of 5 bubbles 734 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.3 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
1.5 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,665 reviews
0.4 mi away
Chequers Hotel
Chequers Hotel
#12 of 17 in Newbury
3.0 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Pilgrims Guest House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Pilgrims Guest House

Property: Pilgrims Guest House
Address: 33 Oxford Road, Newbury RG14 1XB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Newbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Pilgrims Guest House 4*
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Pilgrims Guest House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pilgrims Guest House Newbury, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing