We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Pilgrims Guest House
Nearby Hotels
$78
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$160
$129
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$68
$65
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$86
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Carpenters Arms(Newbury)(Great Value!)
$66
$63
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Bell at Boxford(Newbury)(Great Value!)
$78
$67
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$72
PremierInn.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
The Hatchet Inn(Newbury)(Great Value!)
$54
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
$263
$254
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (75)
Filter reviews
75 results
Traveler rating
52
19
2
0
2
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
52
19
2
0
2
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsoff road parkingfriendly hostsready mealquadruple roomclean towels were provideda short taxi rideovernight visitone nightstayed herenewbury town centrehot breakfastcomfortable bedsbreakfast roomplenty of parkingplace to stayfamily roomlocation is great
Filter
Updating list...
65 - 70 of 75 reviews
Reviewed July 3, 2011

Once again we had a team of 8 cycling this time from south Oxfordshire to Bath along the Thames and Kennet and Avon canal towpaths. Pilgrims is ideally located just to the north of Newbury town centre. Our bikes were locked in a secure area and our rooms were faultless. I had a single under the eves and slept very well. Breakfast was well cooked and served with a smile. Very friendly, very helpful and good value

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MichaelPDrake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2011

My wife and I stayed at the Pilgrims for one night. The Guest house was only a couple of miles from our friends whom we were visiting, so ideal for our purpose. The accommodation wasn’t flashy but everything was clean and to a good standard. Most importantly the bed was very comfortable and we both slept well. The breakfast the next morning was very nice and the service was friendly.
For the money we paid we were very happy and would definitely visit again

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ColinTheHead
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 8, 2011

I had a single room for two trips.

-Courteous staff
-Good breakfast spread, as I would expect for a B&B
-Good breakfast options
-About 30 min walk from Newbury Station
-Shared bathroom always clean and stocked up
-Communal dining room AMAZING microwave, cutlery, plates and spoons with no charge. Really good, meant I could go to the supermarket and knock up my own food.
-Free Wi-Fi
-Walls of rooms a bit thin so could her soft noises

  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Oppenheim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

As a group of three friends looking for a triple room, we've stayed at some dives previously with camp beds squeezed into double rooms. However, this guest house was by far the best with three proper beds (one double, two singles) in a family room. The room (14) was very large and the en-suite bathroom clean and bright.

The service was excellent and staff very friendly and helpful. One of our party was allergic to feather pillows so replacement synthetic ones were quickly found.

We stayed two nights and the room was serviced and towels changed before our second night (not my usual experience of guest houses)

The guest house is located in a quiet suburban area on a moderately busy road but traffic noise wasn't a problem. It has a large car park. It is about a 15 minute flat walk from the very pleasant Newbury Town Centre.

Full English breakfast was good (average size/well cooked). Cereal choice/quality good, but lacking in fresh fruit/croissants (but it is a guest house not a hotel!)

If you are looking for value for money and especially a triple/family room Pilgrims is recommended.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank FarnboroughPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: April 2018, traveled with family
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews