We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A wonderful relaxing stay!”
Review of Bow River House

Bow River House
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Bow River House
Ranked #11 of 26 Newbury B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“A wonderful relaxing stay!”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

My fiancé and I stayed at Bow river as a stop over before visiting nearby Highclere castle the following day. We had a wonderful relaxing stay for the night. The house is in a beautiful setting with lots of lovely surrounding countryside including trails and foot paths that you can walk and the area is very peaceful. The room was perfect and the bed was extremely comfortable- (being 8 months pregnant it can be hard to get comfy but I slept like a baby!) Roma was a wonderful hostess and breakfast in the morning was delicious! Lots of choice of cereals, teas and a lovely cooked breakfast to set us on our way. Overall we highly recommend this little place,kinda wished we could have stayed longer!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alexandragayle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    28
    1
    0
    1
    0
See reviews for
3
14
3
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bournemouth
Level Contributor
152 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

I stayed only 1 night at Bow River House but was made to feel right at home by Roma on arrival. My bedroom, the Green Oak Room, was a reasonable sized double room with modern decor and en-suite shower facilities. The bed was very comfortable and there was a good sized flat screen TV which I used to catch up with the latest Olympics 2012 News.
A nice touch was the provision of a flask of fresh milk to use for making tea or coffee in the room which was most welcome as I absolutely hate UHT "milk" with a passion !
A full English Breakfast was provided at 7.30am along with a good range of fruit juices, yoghurts, home made jams and honey etc - the perfect start to the day.
If you enjoy the peace and quiet of the countryside and are looking for a place to stay close to the M4 Chieveley Services area near Newbury, then Bow River House is a MUST stay.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank David L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cincinnati
Level Contributor
20 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 5, 2012

A good GPS is helpful in finding Bow River House, but the effort is well worth it. From the moment we arrived, we felt much more like Roma's weekend house guests than paying customers. She could not be more eager to help in every way, and the quality and freshness of the breakfast offerings were truly appreciated. It was a perfect spot to wind down for the last few days of our trip. We had a nice walk along the canal in Newbury, and enjoyed an afternoon of touring through many of the small towns between Newbury and the outskirts of London.

Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Jansmom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Barrington, New Jersey
Level Contributor
106 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2012

We stayed over 2 nights for a visit to Highcler Castle over the bank holiday in June and Roma was a wonderful host. The B&B is clean, quiet, and has a lovely view of her daughters horses. Since it was a holiday week end she told us that we could probably get food at the Crab which was very good and the next night we were going to go to the village pub but as we were walking Roma called and found out they were closed (she jumped in her car and picked us up as it was raining) so she called over to the next village and we went there for a lovely pub dinner. You have the whole down stairs to enjoy and there is always milk in the frige for tea/coffee. We loved the rooms as we had a large room with tub and my son had a smaller room with shower. All in all a wonderful stay made better by the inn keeper Roma.
It is easy to get to Newbury and the Castle, also it only took about an hour during the week to get to Heathrow in the morning so it made for an enjoyable last few nights in England.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank respbill1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed December 31, 2011

I was getting married in Brightwalton close by and chose here to stay the night before with my mum and bridesmaids. Roma the owner and her daughter were incredibly helpful from the moment I first contacted them and they simply could not do enough for us. They made the stay perfect and it became a really key part of a wonderful wedding. I could not recommend enough- incredible welcome, beautiful rooms, stunning location - just wonderful.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank w3dnesday_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wton uk
Level Contributor
22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed November 29, 2011

possibly the best i have ever stayed in, a nice welcome from Roma the room was excellent and the little touches make it so, the views are outstanding to a city dweller like myself so quiet at night the local pub was a ten minute walk away(3 to walk down the long drive) food was all to the best standards i have ever encountered including some of the nice hotels we have stayed in, stay here and complain, there is nothing to complain about, thank you Roma for a lovely stay, will definately be going back

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank koppykat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2011

I stayed here for my sister's wedding with my mum, sister and her oldest friend. We had the place to ourselves and Roma the owner was just fantastic, never mind B&B Roma was a discreet and intuitive presence the whole time, there when and if you needed her but leaving us to enjoy our family occasion. The bedrooms and sitting room was spotlessly clean and wonderfully supplied with fresh water, milk, tea and coffee, proper stuff as well as instant. Every possible need was catered for. We felt so at home. Roma was fantastic, I could not recommend this B&B highly enough.

  • Stayed June 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nomoreideas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newbury hotels
4.8 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
4.8 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 602 reviews
4.4 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.2 mi away
Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
10.0 mi away
The Carnarvon Arms Hotel
3.9 mi away
The Bunk Inn
The Bunk Inn
#3 of 26 in Newbury
4.5 of 5 bubbles 171 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bow River House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bow River House

Property: Bow River House
Address: Leckhampstead, Newbury RG20 8QY, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #11 of 26 B&Bs / Inns in Newbury
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Bow River House 4*
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Bow River House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bow River House Newbury, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing