We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent ”
Review of The Globe

The Globe
Ranked #70 of 219 Restaurants in Newbury
Restaurant details
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Our first visit since it opened. The staff/owners were very friendly and accommodating. The food and drink were both delicious and very reasonably priced. The platters were a great choice. We will definitely be back soon.

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank CPS1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (11)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 11 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

We popped in Thursday evening for a few drinks, and as neither my mate or I had eaten, ordered their soy chicken wings with a bowl of fries each. Food was delicious, mouthwatering in fact....and the chips, cooked to perfection, light & fluffy, crispy on the outside....and generous portions!

But what made the pub was the 2 lovely young ladies running the show, Laura & Katie.
Really friendly, loads of banter, nothing too much trouble. They’re a joy, and a real credit to this great little pub that now has a new lease of life. I wish the pub and its staff every success.

I’m looking forward to returning!

Date of visit: September 2019
Thank MARKDL995
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Couldn't ask for more, great place to visit, we are always made to feel welcome. Friendly, engaged staff, fantastic atmosphere and an awesome wee pub dog called Dave. The Sunday pub quiz (with a twist) is worth having a go at too.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank sjarv2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2019

Fantastic Refurbishment Job !

Never thought that this place can actually look sooooo good.

Obviously the current management knows what they're doing.

Can only recommend !

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
1  Thank pb77cz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2019 via mobile

I just love The Globe. Lovely industrial decor, friendly staff and great clientele. Katie and Colin have done a great job here. Not the place for a cheap pint, but that results in a nicer atmosphere. The food is really nice - we had a huge portion of sausage roll and a portion of triple cooked chips for only £7. Highly recommend!

Date of visit: August 2019
Thank 22simonw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Globe also viewed

Newbury, Berkshire
Newbury, Berkshire
 

Been to The Globe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing