We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful Place”
Review of Shaw House

Shaw House
Ranked #10 of 34 things to do in Newbury
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Built in 1581 by Newbury clothier Thomas Dolman this fine Elizabethan building was recently restored through a £6million project. The stories and characters from Shaw House’s varied past are bought to life in the new exhibition. An ideal day out for families; Wheelie Do activities are located throughout the house, with activities from designing the gardens to playing our Civil War board game. Exciting and varied events program. Open most weekends.
Reading, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Beautiful Place”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

We went there for a citizenship ceremony but were taken aback by the stunning place and grounds. Well worth a visit if you are nearby.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Mathew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    44
    27
    8
    0
    1
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Wirral
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Beautiful building....”
Reviewed September 28, 2012

what an interesting building!! I can't understand how these buildings have to struggle to survive - the funds should be there to keep them! Such a grand old lady of a building and so interesting. A gem. I was on a long weekend break in the are and I must say I also had the best cup of tea of the weekend in the cafe which was also the most reasonably priced!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank Jaqarm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Shaw House Newbury - well worth a visit”
Reviewed August 31, 2012

Beautiful Elizabthan Manor House near central Newbury, recently restored and now used as a Registry Office and/or business venue whilst retaining most of its original features. Was the site of a visit by Queen Elizabeth I during the 1590's. Very reasonable entry fees, good cafe and facilities.

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Caramel_Catz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sandown, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Lots of Memories”
Reviewed July 22, 2012

This was my secondary school in the 70's and I loved school so maybe I will be a bit biased! The restoration work has been done very sympathetically and the exhibitions are very informative and interesting. We have made several visits and particularly enjoyed the Christmas Fayre. In our calendar to attend again.
I am so pleased that this historic building has been saved and now has a new life and purpose!

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Lynne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oxford, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Friends wedding”
Reviewed May 4, 2012

Beautiful backdrop for a registry-office type wedding.

Helpful?
3 Thank KGCL2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Shaw House also viewed

 

Been to Shaw House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing