We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel and grounds, very warm room but would stay again”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
Ranked #4 of 17 Hotels in Newbury
Reviewed June 27, 2012

A nice hotel in a pretty spectacular setting in the middle of Newbury. Golf course looks nice although i didn't play. I was in a small summer house (Lakeview) which consists of 4 small terraced houses away from the main hotel. They have their own garden furniture and are very clean and a bit different from the norm. They are however very warm inside and the walls are paper thin. Thanks to the guy in room 8 for keeping me awake all night with your snoring!

Golf society was in the restaurant so hd to dine in the bar. Kind of to be expected for somwehere such as this and no hardship. Food and service was good though there isn't a huge menu selection.

On the whole, a nice place to stay and very different to the usual Holiday Inns and Hiltons.

Room Tip: Lakeview rooms are nice but open a window and pray for quiet from next door
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Mark B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (498)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

434 - 440 of 498 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2012

Stayed here for the third time in 3 years, the hotel staff are friendly, the golf course is well maintained! There are different rooms from modern outside and character inside. I have stayed in all types! Never had a bad nights sleep and never had a reason to complain! Look forward to a gold day next year!

  • Stayed: June 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BrettTolhurst
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 30, 2012

38 of us just stayed here on a golfing weekend and I can say that it is a beautiful place. Wonderful building and grounds with a huge lake. Myself and a couple of mates went for a walk each morning and its a great way to start a day.
Staff are very friendly.
Room was clean and functional, but hot, although the weather was VERY warm!
Golf course is great. Good greens, well kept, interesting and a challenge. There is 3 long walks between some holes but chatting with your friends this shouldn't be a worry.
£3.70 pint Carling
£3.75 Stowford Press
We had breakfast and evening meal included and although the food was good, the portions are what you may call tight! Some of us even had to get takeaway after dinner!
Beware though a piece of bread and butter is a £1

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank nathan k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nigel G, General Manager at Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club, responded to this reviewResponded June 6, 2012

Dear Nathan K,

Thank you for taking the time and trouble to post your review. My team are always encouraged to receive positive feedback. Similarly comments on how we can improve the customer experience are greatly received.

I was pleased that you had a great weekend and look forward to welcoming you back to play and stay at Donnington Grove in the near future.

Kind regards,

Nigel

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Stayed one night en-route to visit friends and think that this hotel has great potential. It's like a country manor set in glorious grounds, including a golf course. We stayed in one of the 'Summerhouses' and it was lovely. There was a kingsize bed in the bedroom, with flat screen tv, a huge modern bathroom with monsoon shower and two armchairs in a small reception area. We could gaze at the gorgeous view and if the weather had been better could've sat on the patio and had a bbq.

The hotel restaurant and bar was full of golfers and the evening meal was very good. It was also excellent value, especially for this area. Breakfast was very busy and a good choice. The main hotel has some beautiful function rooms and I understand there are big plans for refurbishments. MacDonald hotels have taken over and want to update certain areas. Now it's sort of 'shabby chic' with a wonderful atmosphere. The tapestries, paintings and hand painted wallpaper are superb.

Go now, while the prices are extremely competitive, because I'm sure this will be really special very soon. It would make the most terrific venue for weddings. The setting is delightful.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marina279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2012

well what can i say.....
just come back from donnington grove on a 2 night golf break for 38 of us.
FANTASTIC is how i would describe this venue,we stayed in summer house room 6 which was top notch,the food was great and the course was very hard but stunning.well done to all the staff who made our weekend.this was the tenth year for our society and in my view the best venue we have visited,above china fleet,the dorset,trethorne and worcester gc.looking at some of the reviews on here all i would say to anyone reading this is go look for yourself and you wont be dissapointed...

Room Tip: summer house rooms are quiet and stunning with great views lake views are near to summer house room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brett p
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2012

Hotel very nice, clean comfy rooms, food brilliant, golf course lovely, would recommend

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank golfing-buddies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

The hotel is a beautiful building set in glorious countryside complete with its own very challenging golf course. The room, one of the "cottages" that is separate from the main building, was excellent. The service in the hotel was very poor. I travelled as part of a 2-day golf break with a group of 12 golfers. On arrival, I had to wait an hour for a fried breakfast that was mediocre in its content and taste. I was even more disappointed by the quality of the dinner as the deep-fried brie was cold and the venison was bland. If this hotel can get the service and quality of food right then it's success will be assured, if it doesn't then......

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Paul K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newbury hotels
0.7 mi away
Donnington Valley Hotel, Golf & Spa
1.1 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
1,890 reviews
3.8 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
660 reviews
3.1 mi away
Regency Park Hotel
Regency Park Hotel
#6 of 17 in Newbury
814 reviews
2.7 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Newbury North
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club

Address: Grove Road, Newbury RG14 2LA, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Newbury
Price Range: $123 - $172 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club 3*
Number of rooms: 39
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
18Th Century manor House set in 500 acres of Berkshire's finest countryside. Offering rooms in the Manor House, Sunmer House and lodges. 18 Hole championship golf course, Clay shooting and Fly fishing by appointment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Donnington Grove And Country Club Hotel Newbury
Donnington Grove Hotel And Country Club Newbury, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing