We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful experience!”
Review of The Furze Bush Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Furze Bush Inn
Ranked #14 of 23 Newbury B&B and Inns
Reviewed March 17, 2013

We went down to the country to meet with old school chums I had not seen in 45 years.
Very warm welcome & reception from the staff.
We were booked into a wonderful large room, with an equally large bathroom - complete with modern shower and a claw foot bath tub!
We then went down had drinks with our friends, and then all trooped into dinner. The service was magnificent - and the food was inventive and delicious. Good value was well.
My wife then went and found some local ladies in the bar having a night out without their husbands and kids - and so that involved us staying up much later!!
Breakfast next morning was the "full English" and was the best we ate during our trip.
Go and visit this inn - you will not be disappointed!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank JBDWINE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (35)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

30 - 35 of 35 reviews

Reviewed September 13, 2012

Over the last 2 years, I have visited the Furze Bush on about 6 occasions. Each time the welcome - particularly from the landlord, has been less than welcome - unless he seemingly knows you. Easy requests such as a glas of ice are met with a curt response, the reason being that 'it's more glasses to clear away'. When a pub is half empty, i hardly think this is hardly a difficult task.

Food is average, roast was ok - over salty gravy and unattentive service. I wouldn't plan a visit back

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Service
Thank Lilly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012

We stayed a few weekends ago and I hesitate to write being in the same industry. Our welcome was warm and coffee in the lovely garden and sunshine was wonderful. From then on it was downhill. The bedroom was tiny for two although would have been adequate had the bathroom been clean, the carpet was okay but tired and crockery in the room non existent or dirty - none was produced later on request and we gave up! However the bed linen was absolutely spotless! I suspect that the Inn is tired and in great need of a facelift as in peeking into other rooms it appeared we had the short straw. We didn't eat in the evening so can't pass comment. Breakfast was slow, slow and slower. Choice was limited too as fresh fruit and yoghurt would have been nice. Cereal, toast, fruit juice - only orange - and the usual cooked in variation was available.
Although cheerful the staff didn't really seem to care too much spilling food and not cleaning up, breaking crockery and glass just didn't seem to matter - it does as these leave impressions. The bar was busy and cheerful but overall the pub seems to have little soul and is relatively characterless for somewhere that should be a goldmine. If it is then please update and clean up as we would actually, despite what I have written, like to return. I may be super critical being in the business but it is little things that count and cleanliness is a big thing in my book.
Come on management buck up as you have a great venue and it should shine!

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Neill81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 9, 2012

This country inn was set in a lovely garden with an old fashioned public bar and good large restaurant. Five of us ate there on two evenings in July and enjoyed it very much.
My husband and I stayed for two nights in a very comfortable room en suite.

Room Tip: There are ten to choose from, ours was on the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kathleen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2011

Modern room, simple basic, clean but not very exciting. Welcome was warm, dinner was fine but not especially good, restaurant empty. Breakfast satisfactory. Surprisingly characterless experience given how attractive the pub is.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zenana1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 20, 2009

The Furze Bush Inn is in a rural position in the countryside not far from Newbury. Our room was quite large and very comfortable with a large bathroom. Unfortunately the heating was not working on our arrival and it took two requests and 24 hrs. before the problem was solved. The bar was inviting and was always bustling and lively, with plenty of people and friendly bar staff. The restaurant was busy with local people, and there was a wide choice of food. We had one excellent meal and one less so. Breakfast was the usual full English, but the service in the mornings was very poor, some members of the group having to wait 30 mins after everyone else before they got their food. The restaurant staff were very good and helpful but the problem seemed to be in the kitchen. It could be a really good hotel but sadly the management was lacking.

  • Stayed: October 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank tepore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
furzebushinn, General Manager at The Furze Bush Inn, responded to this reviewResponded June 2, 2011

The heating was always working but you hadn't understood the controls. We have asked all our staff to ensure that our guests are shown how to use the controller.
We were not aware that your party all planned to have breakfast together as you had booked seperately. All our breakfast are cooked to order and take a little time to cook.
A normal full english breakfast will take less than ten minutes to cook, with cereal and juice available on arrival and freshly brewed tea or coffee served within a few minutes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Newbury hotels
3.7 mi away
Hare and Hounds Hotel
Hare and Hounds Hotel
#2 of 17 in Newbury
652 reviews
3.5 mi away
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
The Vineyard Hotel & Spa
#1 of 1 in Stockcross
1,851 reviews
4.1 mi away
Mercure Newbury Elcot Park Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.1 mi away
The Lodge
The Lodge
#8 of 17 in Newbury
42 reviews
2.6 mi away
Travelodge Newbury Tot Hill
4.2 mi away
Donnington Grove Hotel and Country Club
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Furze Bush Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Furze Bush Inn

Address: The Furze Bush Hatt Common | Hatt Common, Newbury RG20 0NQ, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Berkshire > Newbury
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 23 B&Bs / Inns in Newbury
Price Range: $116 - $132 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Furze Bush Inn lies in an area of outstanding natural beauty just four miles from Newbury Town Centre, with the inns various dining areas , whatever the weather there’s a perfect place to eat either inside in the restaurant or bars or alfresco on the outside restaurant terrace or in the gardens.The menus are a mix of modern international cooking and traditional English pub food featuring authentic far eastern dishes which are a specialty of the inn's head chef. Prices at the Furze Bush Inn are very reasonable and there are no obligatory service charges it’s possible to get a three course meal for well under £20 and difficult to spend more than £30 on food. Their carefully chosen wine list features many well known winemakers but the House Wines are excellent Chilean Reds and Whites which at just £12.95 are superb value for money. For the beer drinker they’ve always a wide choice of draught lagers, stout, ciders and of course well kept real ales. The Furze Bush Inn is open for lunches and dinners every day from noon til 2.30pm and from 6pm until 9.30pm, they serve food all day at weekends and on Bank Holidays. The Bars are open all day every day. If you’ve imbibed slightly more than you intended or just don’t fancy driving home, they may have a room available in their 3 starred hotel with all rooms air conditioned and en-suite. They serve a delicious full English breakfast which is included in the room rate. If you’ve never visited The Furze Bush Inn, i'ts quite easy to find, signposted off the A343 Andover road just outside Newbury. If you're travelling from further afield take the Highclere and Wash Common exit from the A34, turn left towards Newbury and you’ll see the signpost just after the humpback bridge. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
The Furze Bush Inn Newbury, England

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing