We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fantastic 2nd visit”
other travelers have booked this property
South Bay Early Morning, Scarborough
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
South Bay Early Morning, Scarborough
South Bay, Scarborough Front Exterior
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Inquiry
Excellent
41 reviews
South Bay Early Morning, Scarborough
South Bay, Scarborough
Front Exterior
Lighthouse Cottage, Scarborough
View from Property
Lighthouse Cottage, Scarborough
Dog Friendly
Dining Area
Kitchen
Private Walled Sun Terrace
Sitting Room
Sitting Room with Sea Views
King Size Master Bedroom with Stunning Sea Views
Double Bedroom
Double Bedroom including a Single Bed with Stunning Sea Views
Bathroom
Public Market, Scarborough
Award Winning Eat Me Cafe, Scarborough
Vibrant Town Centre, Scarborough
Scarborough Harbour
South Bay and Gardens
South Bay Gardens, Scarborough
View from Castle Grounds, Scarborough
South Bay, Scarborough
Christmas 2017
Christmas at Lighthouse Cottage, Scarborough
Sunrise South Bay, Scarborough
South Bay, Scarborough
South Bay, Scarborough
South Bay, Scarborough
South Bay, Scarborough
Rock Pools, South Bay, Scarborough
Rock Pools, South Bay, Scarborough
Rock Pools, South Bay, Scarborough
Old Town, Scarborough
Old Town, Scarborough
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Inquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Rental Home -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Scarborough, Scarborough District, North Yorkshire, England

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 41 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Hellid
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Fantastic 2nd visit”
Reviewed September 10, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

This was our second visit to Lighthouse Cottage, and the house still ticked all the boxes. We travelled as a family of 4 adults and 2 older children, and there was ample space for all of us. Set over four floors, the back bedrooms get amazing views over the south bay. The cottage is clean and well equipped, with all the home comforts you'd expect. Great kitchen with washing machine, plenty of seating in the lounge, wifi, nice towels and bedding etc. Booking was easy, and the owners very helpful.
Ideally located set back from the south bay, the cottage is only a short walk from the amusements, eateries etc, but it's very peaceful (barring seagulls!)
We used the cottage as a base for visiting the North bay (peasholm park, skytrail and beach worth a visit), Filey, and Bridlington Leisure Centre on a wet day for swimming and climbing wall.
We had a fabulous stay and would definitely return and recommend Lighthouse Cottage, unless you have mobility issues with stairs.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Sep 23, 2017
Thanks for the review. We look forward to seeing you next time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dave C
Brinkworth, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“The perfect base for a holiday in Scarborough”
Reviewed August 15, 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We have just returned home after another week at Lighthouse Cottage and, as usual, it did not disappoint. It is a delightful, well kept property with a mix of quirky original character and modern convenience. It is ideal for up to 6 people and you have room to entertain visitors too in the downstairs rooms and private courtyard which is great as we have extended family who either live in Scarborough or visit at the same time. The location really is excellent with the Harbour and Castle on your doorstep and the South Bay, North Bay, and town all within walking distance.

We have been staying at Lighthouse Cottage since it became a holiday let when my wife's cousin owned it. We were a little apprehensive about new owners, but after 2 years can confirm we had no reason to be concerned.

It continues to be improved year on year and we are already booked for next year!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 16, 2017
Thanks for the review Dave. All the best.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
annehowar...
Leeds, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“The perfect place for a lovely family holiday!”
Reviewed August 6, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

The location is ideal, quiet, quaint, wonderful views of the bay, near the beach and a short walk into the town. The house is beautifully presented and has all the facilities you would need to cater for a family. We return year after year!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Aug 7, 2017
Hey Anne - Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a fab review
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chrisbens...
Chippenham, United Kingdom
1 review
“Amazing holiday”
Reviewed July 22, 2017 for a stay in July 2017

Fantastic accommodation - really spacious, private and clean. Three flights of stairs were all really steep not an issue for us but something to be aware of. Great holiday thank you

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jul 23, 2017
Chris - It was great having you and your family to stay in our property. Thank you for leaving it clean and tidy - Hope to see you again soon
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tricia675
Falkirk, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely quirky cottage”
Reviewed June 26, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Brilliant location near the harbour and castle. Cottage full of character and very relaxing . It was great waking up to the sea views. Street parking means you may not get right outside property , so be prepared for a walk and anyone with mobility issues will struggles with the stairs. Overall it was Great

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 27, 2017
Hey Tricia - Thank you for the review! Hope you come and stay again.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vic T
1 review
“A really attractive house in a great location for exploring Scarborough.”
Reviewed June 24, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

In a quiet street only a few minutes from the harbour and beaches and the castle is a short uphill walk away. There are lots of good cafes and restaurants close by for breakfast, lunch or dinner. A very comfortable cottage with great sea views from the rooms at the back.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 25, 2017
Vic - Thank you for leaving us a review. Come back soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hampshire...
Basingstoke, United Kingdom
1 review
“Great cottage, perfect location, amazing views”
Reviewed June 22, 2017 for a stay in June 2017

Great location in the old town within easy walking distance of the South harbour, castle and excellent eating places. Sea views from most rooms, all of which are well furnished. Two adjoining sitting rooms. Yes, there are quite a lot of stairs (it is on 4 floors), but we four over 70s had no problems!! Will definitely be back!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Management Response
Jun 24, 2017
Thanks for taking the time to leave us a review. We appreciate your feedback!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a vacation rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from inquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travelers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travelers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing