We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“New Year 2012”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Clarence Gardens Hotel
Ranked #41 of 184 Scarborough B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 12, 2013

We spent 4 nights at this Hotel over the New Year period, considering the time of year the price for our stay was excellent value for money. The staff are all very friendly and welcoming and cannot do enough to help with anything !!!! well done to Paul & Paula for hosting a fantastic New Years Eve for adults and kids alike we are definately coming back again for New Year this Year xxxxxxxxxxxxxxx

Room Tip: All rooms are adequate, however if you are located in the attic rooms there is no lift to this floor...
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (656)
There are newer reviews for Clarence Gardens Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

573 - 579 of 656 reviews

Reviewed January 6, 2013

We have just spent the last 3 days here, as our regular hotel of choice in Scarborough, Whilst not a luxury hotel, it certainly offers a degree of comfort, easy and relaxation that we rarely find elsewhere. Paul and Paula are so friendly that our children treat it like their home away from home. And the sea views are just fantastic.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pam B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 1, 2012

A great value stay, the room was lovely and cosy, clean and with amazing sea views. Would be hard to get a better sea view in Scarborough! Paul & Paula were very friendly & helpful, made us feel welcome from our arrival. Bar area was warm and with lovely furnishings. TV etc so nice for a drink before our meal out. About a 15 minute walk to town, so a good location.

  • Stayed: November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Kirsty R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2012

I stayed at this hotel in June 2011 for one night ahead of a family stay elsewhere in the town, booking it as a last minute break.

Though there as the only guest (minus a class of Year Six's and their teachers), all the staff at the hotel were very friendly and welcoming. Paul immediately offering me the option of booking a breakfast at the Hotel the following morning. The breakfast was excellent, with a good deal of choice.

I'd certainly stay here again.

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Thank MJ_Lowson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 30, 2012 via mobile

Just returned from 2 nights. Paula is very friendly & made us very welcome. Cara works very hard , from serving us our delicious freshly cooked breakfast with an assortments of continental choices. Cara also runs the bar in the evenings, we met some very nice people,guests at the hotel, entrance steps a little steep with no handrail,but lift to all floors once inside. Shower difficult to manage as disabled guest, beautiful room,clean,cosy,warm. Paula helpful by ordering taxis, directions anything etc. lady who does rooms was very friendly & helpful, basically we had a wonderful sea view break & will be going back again

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank markdownmicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 24, 2012

Everything about our stay was excellent. The room , the food, the friendliness. The proprietors are the most attentive and helpful we have experienced in a long time and we have travelled a lot up and down the UK.. The room was very good and the rates we received really made the visit feel like a very worthwhile exercise. We would certainly come again. The only thing we could wish for is the good weather. And we had that as well. ! A double first first for us and for Scarborough. !. Highly recommended.

Room Tip: Be precise in what you ask for - at the time of booking
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DPandML
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2012

Had a 1 night stay here. Staff was very friendly. It was cheap which is a big plus these days. Room was very clean and beautiful. Everything you needed in there. Breakfast was special very thing you wanted. And beautifully prepared. Will be staying there again. Highly recommended. Thank you for making us welcome at short notice x.

  • Stayed: November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank thejacjac
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Scarborough hotels
1.1 mi away
Ambassador Hotel
Ambassador Hotel
#22 of 26 in Scarborough
1,258 reviews
0.2 mi away
Miricia
Miricia
#35 of 184 in Scarborough
230 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kimberley Seafront Hotel
Kimberley Seafront Hotel
#19 of 184 in Scarborough
175 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Scarborough Travel and Holiday Lodge
0.7 mi away
The Lysander
The Lysander
#51 of 184 in Scarborough
171 reviews
0.0 mi away
The Helaina
The Helaina
#13 of 184 in Scarborough
494 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Clarence Gardens Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Clarence Gardens Hotel

Address: 4-5 Blenheim Terrace Queens Parade, Scarborough YO12 7HF, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Yorkshire > North Yorkshire > Scarborough District > Scarborough
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 184 B&Bs / Inns in Scarborough
Price Range: $55 - $89 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Clarence Gardens Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly refurbished in January 2016 with a £100,000 makeover, The Clarence Gardens Hotels boasts breathtaking sea views over Scarborough's famous and historic North Bay, you are only a short walk to all the major sights and sounds. The town centre is also on your doorstep with the South Bay beach only 5 minutes away. With facilities including a fully stocked licensed bar with panoramaic views of the North Bay, a large function room - perfect for all occasions and events, a games room with Nintendo Wii and flat screen television, the Clarence Gardens provides fantastic affordable accommodation in a superb location. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Expedia so you can book your Clarence Gardens Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing